What can we do to improve Cavan Senior Football

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Maybe I'm interpreting posts differently than you but I don't see many people advocating the forcing of amalgamations and folding of clubs. If you have the numbers to compete at underage then great, stay on your own. If you can't field a team then join up with a neighbour in a similar situation.
Adult competitions to stay as they are but introduce an extra county championship. Again if you are good enough to stand alone in this competition great, but you first have to prove it on the football field. The rest of the teams to be made up of weaker clubs so every adult player in the county gets a chance to prove himself at senior level. I don't see why you would be so dead against this. If your team can't prove themselves to be a top senior club for the county championship then they would need to amalgamate with someone but players not interested don't need to participate."
I'm not dead against it at all. I've said above if clubs that are struggling like Maghera or Corlough then they should amalgamate if that's what they want. It'll be better for their players and obviously the club they join. The only downside will be that fringe players and lads that helped out to make the numbers usually fall off and become absent from GAA, that's my own experience from playing with amalgamated teams, don't shoot me.
Someone else said killygarry, drumalee and cavan gaels should merge and another said if we don't we will fold. I'm disputing that as nonsense. The gaels wouldn't want either of us too.
I agree that the likes of Geroid, givney and Jason McLaughlin etc should have the chance to play at a higher level. It should be attempted but I'm already skeptical as the county board continue to get flustered over fixtures, adding another championship would be real cat among the pigeons stuff.
My last post on this topic

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 05/08/2017 19:29:00    2029396

Replying To JamsieMac:  "I'm not dead against it at all. I've said above if clubs that are struggling like Maghera or Corlough then they should amalgamate if that's what they want. It'll be better for their players and obviously the club they join. The only downside will be that fringe players and lads that helped out to make the numbers usually fall off and become absent from GAA, that's my own experience from playing with amalgamated teams, don't shoot me.
Someone else said killygarry, drumalee and cavan gaels should merge and another said if we don't we will fold. I'm disputing that as nonsense. The gaels wouldn't want either of us too.
I agree that the likes of Geroid, givney and Jason McLaughlin etc should have the chance to play at a higher level. It should be attempted but I'm already skeptical as the county board continue to get flustered over fixtures, adding another championship would be real cat among the pigeons stuff.
My last post on this topic"
100% agree with you that amalgamations can push out fringe players and cause drop off. I don't think Reserve football is promoted enough. I would definitely not agree that clubs like Killygarry (congrats on another good result BTW) need to amalgamate to survive. I'm just talking about a premier competition of a higher standard. Yes, fixtures could be a problem but I actually think we don't have enough games for club players. Maybe restructure the leagues, an extra division, less games to allow for more Championship games. Unavailability of county players to clubs needs to be looked at too. Maybe one solution is to run 4 extra local leagues/championships while inter county season is on, say Cavan North, South, East and West championships. No grading teams, games played regardless of county players availability- just honest to goodness local derbies.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 06/08/2017 09:12:14    2029604

Replying To Hardtimes:  "100% agree with you that amalgamations can push out fringe players and cause drop off. I don't think Reserve football is promoted enough. I would definitely not agree that clubs like Killygarry (congrats on another good result BTW) need to amalgamate to survive. I'm just talking about a premier competition of a higher standard. Yes, fixtures could be a problem but I actually think we don't have enough games for club players. Maybe restructure the leagues, an extra division, less games to allow for more Championship games. Unavailability of county players to clubs needs to be looked at too. Maybe one solution is to run 4 extra local leagues/championships while inter county season is on, say Cavan North, South, East and West championships. No grading teams, games played regardless of county players availability- just honest to goodness local derbies."
Maybe one solution is to run 4 extra local leagues/championships
hartimes

Mr Hardtimes ...... Tomsmith here from Cavan Town

What you are saying is we need Divisional Teams in Cavan

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 10/08/2017 22:48:02    2032179

Replying To tomsmith:  "Maybe one solution is to run 4 extra local leagues/championships
hartimes

Mr Hardtimes ...... Tomsmith here from Cavan Town

What you are saying is we need Divisional Teams in Cavan"
No Tom, no glorified trials. Say Southern Championship would be e.g Ballinagh, Lacken, Crosserlough, Mountungent, Ballymachugh, Denn, Mullahoran etc all compete in a local competition.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 11/08/2017 10:05:36    2032251

Replying To Hardtimes:  "No Tom, no glorified trials. Say Southern Championship would be e.g Ballinagh, Lacken, Crosserlough, Mountungent, Ballymachugh, Denn, Mullahoran etc all compete in a local competition."
The only way is bring in x amount of players that want to be with the county let them play full positive challenge games no messing only the best survive no politics involved the best only way. One can call these challenge games a waste of time but if you know your inter-county career depends on your performances you will give it your all.
Forget about development squads and what players have come through the system, pick them on their ability to play to play as a team player to be player aware and also know how to use their head intelligently. This is the best way forward for then you have players on the panel that have proved themselves as the best available then and only then start developing them into a strong team by the system there is here in the county. Strength and conditioning physical training getting fit and then football. I don't see any point in footballs being introduced until the team are physically fit. Nothing as bad as players standing on the sideline while others burst themselves training only for the player standing on the side line makes a miraculous recovery and becomes first selected in the starting 15 when competitions start. I bet you Micky Heart will not allow it so why should Cavan. Incase you might think I am contradicting myself about the football not being introduced until they are fit but allowing games first. Games first are solely to pick a panel of 30 genuine players the rest is the development of the player physically and mentally.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/08/2017 10:40:43    2032265

Replying To Hardtimes:  "No Tom, no glorified trials. Say Southern Championship would be e.g Ballinagh, Lacken, Crosserlough, Mountungent, Ballymachugh, Denn, Mullahoran etc all compete in a local competition."
I actually like this idea. This is the Kerry model. People cite amalgamations as the Kerry model but the club championship is seen as secondary to regional champioship by most clubs in Kerry.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 11/08/2017 10:57:18    2032276

Sean I was just talking about a club competition between league and championships while inter county championship is in full swing. Something for the ordinary fans and players.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 11/08/2017 11:17:01    2032282

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Sean I was just talking about a club competition between league and championships while inter county championship is in full swing. Something for the ordinary fans and players."
Sean I was just talking about a club competition between league and championships while inter county championship is in full swing. Something for the ordinary fans and players.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts:625 - 11/08/2017 11:17:01 20
Yes a good idea and it would keep them interested as well for sometimes players go months without a game. Why not make out a plan of action present it to your club to bring up at the AGM and see the reaction towards it. Not much point talking here really but it's a fair idea for sure.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/08/2017 12:22:51    2032326

Replying To seanorinn:  "Sean I was just talking about a club competition between league and championships while inter county championship is in full swing. Something for the ordinary fans and players.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts:625 - 11/08/2017 11:17:01 20
Yes a good idea and it would keep them interested as well for sometimes players go months without a game. Why not make out a plan of action present it to your club to bring up at the AGM and see the reaction towards it. Not much point talking here really but it's a fair idea for sure."
Seanorinn Tomsmith here

For my world I cannot understand youse going on about competition between Championship and League. Set up Divisional teams select the best say 4/5 players from 5 clubs. Let men that want to play for Cavan excel and let the party fellows party. let t6he County Champions play alone and select 4/5 Divisional teams selected on a regional basis in Cavan.
You could run off several games over a few weekend when competition ends in October.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 12/08/2017 22:19:20    2032663

Replying To tomsmith:  "Seanorinn Tomsmith here

For my world I cannot understand youse going on about competition between Championship and League. Set up Divisional teams select the best say 4/5 players from 5 clubs. Let men that want to play for Cavan excel and let the party fellows party. let t6he County Champions play alone and select 4/5 Divisional teams selected on a regional basis in Cavan.
You could run off several games over a few weekend when competition ends in October."
Seanorinn Tomsmith here

You could run off several games over a few weekend when competition ends in October.
tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2964 - 12/08/2017 22:19:20 2032663

read my post Mr Smith I have said those that only want to play in one of my posts no point in bringing in those that don't, one thing we don't need is player power

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 12/08/2017 22:47:41    2032670

For my world I cannot understand youse going on about competition between Championship and League. Set up Divisional teams select the best say 4/5 players from 5 clubs. Let men that want to play for Cavan excel and let the party fellows party. let the County Champions play alone and select 4/5 Divisional teams selected on a regional basis in Cavan.

read my post Mr Smith I have said those that only want to play in one of my posts no point in bringing in those that don't, one thing we don't need is player power
seanorinn (Cavan) - Posts:3620 - 12/08/2017 22:47:41

Hi Tom
In relation to the line above, not everyone wants to or can commit the time to play for cavan.
it's nothing to do with partying.
Some have what's called "commitments"! Work and family. In my case the latter will always take priority over a past time because if you wake up, smell the coffee, and get a realistic perspective , what we are taking about here is a past time !

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 14/08/2017 11:45:27    2033152

Replying To StirringIt:  "For my world I cannot understand youse going on about competition between Championship and League. Set up Divisional teams select the best say 4/5 players from 5 clubs. Let men that want to play for Cavan excel and let the party fellows party. let the County Champions play alone and select 4/5 Divisional teams selected on a regional basis in Cavan.

Hi Tom
In relation to the line above, not everyone wants to or can commit the time to play for cavan.
Some have what's called "commitments"! Work and family. In my case the latter will always take priority over a past time because if you wake up, smell the coffee, and get a realistic perspective , what we are taking about here is a past time !"
Stirring it

Tomsmith here from Cavan Town the home of Cavan Gaels

You say people may not commit to Cavan because of other commitments ect. Well I say we do not want you if you can not commit we need people that give 100% all year round not as you may infer Sunshine footballers who turn out for Cavan on the big day. So smell the coffee and get fellows to give 100% and let the party men Party. We do not need party players who turn out for the crack

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 15/08/2017 22:42:13    2033934

Replying To tomsmith:  "
Replying To StirringIt:  "For my world I cannot understand youse going on about competition between Championship and League. Set up Divisional teams select the best say 4/5 players from 5 clubs. Let men that want to play for Cavan excel and let the party fellows party. let the County Champions play alone and select 4/5 Divisional teams selected on a regional basis in Cavan.

Hi Tom
Some have what's called "commitments"! Work and family. In my case the latter will always take priority over a past time because if you wake up, smell the coffee, and get a realistic perspective , what we are taking about here is a past time !"
Stirring it

You say people may not commit to Cavan because of other commitments ect. Well I say we do not want you if you can not commit we need people that give 100% all year round not as you may infer Sunshine footballers who turn out for Cavan on the big day. So smell the coffee and get fellows to give 100% and let the party men Party. We do not need party players who turn out for the crack"
I agree Tom, but your comment suggests that people who cannot commit, or won't to Cavan are partying.
I am merely pointing out that there are other reasons why people cannot or don't want to commit to playing county football such work, family etc.
It's not an obligation to play county football !!!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 16/08/2017 11:54:04    2034118

Replying To StirringIt:  "
Replying To tomsmith:  "[quote=StirringIt:  "For my world I cannot understand youse going on about competition between Championship and League. Set up Divisional teams select the best say 4/5 players from 5 clubs. Let men that want to play for Cavan excel and let the party fellows party. let the County Champions play alone and select 4/5 Divisional teams selected on a regional basis in Cavan.

Hi Tom
Stirring it

You say people may not commit to Cavan because of other commitments ect. Well I say we do not want you if you can not commit we need people that give 100% all year round not as you may infer Sunshine footballers who turn out for Cavan on the big day. So smell the coffee and get fellows to give 100% and let the party men Party. We do not need party players who turn out for the crack"
I agree Tom, but your comment suggests that people who cannot commit, or won't to Cavan are partying.
I am merely pointing out that there are other reasons why people cannot or don't want to commit to playing county football such work, family etc.
It's not an obligation to play county football !!!"]I agree Tom, but your comment suggests that people who cannot commit, or won't to Cavan are partying.
It's not an obligation to play county football !!!

StirringIt (Cavan)

Tomsmith here
Terrible comment , its not an obligation to play for Cavan. Well I can tell you that the fellows who went over to Polo grounds in 1947 an beat Kerry in an All Ireland would not listen to you. One of those fellows played with poultice on a boil on his leg to get Cavan that all Ireland.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 17/08/2017 19:42:36    2034867

The first thing that needs to be looked at is the underage structure within the county. Lets face it, its a farce numbers wise and not enough is being done to get children playing GAA. You only need to look at the number of teams amalgamating at underage level and this will slowly but surely creep up towards senior level and probably within the next ten years or so clubs will fold.

mystic meg (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 18/08/2017 19:45:56    2035233

Replying To mystic meg:  "The first thing that needs to be looked at is the underage structure within the county. Lets face it, its a farce numbers wise and not enough is being done to get children playing GAA. You only need to look at the number of teams amalgamating at underage level and this will slowly but surely creep up towards senior level and probably within the next ten years or so clubs will fold."
The underage structure is a farce?
We're very competative at minor and u16 level and u21 level
What specifically would you do differently
As far as I'm aware there are loads of kids playing has
What is your information to the contrary
I've seen amalgamated teams with 20 subs in Breffni park

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 19/08/2017 01:06:34    2035289

POtnorwindow.

I have to say you are away of the mark.

I feel that at underage you should have no amalagations at all.
If you take the Gaels Killygarry , Drumalee, the Bridge, Lavey, Ballinagh and Kingcourt , virginan all of these should never be allowed to amalgamate a underage team. Get the young fellows out to play football and more emphasis at underage on participation .
Amalgamated teams are a deterrent to improvement of GAA at underage , while Divisional teams would be the opposite and a great source of talent spotting for our manager

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 20/08/2017 11:14:14    2035473

Replying To potnorwindow:  "The underage structure is a farce?
We're very competative at minor and u16 level and u21 level
What specifically would you do differently
As far as I'm aware there are loads of kids playing has
What is your information to the contrary
I've seen amalgamated teams with 20 subs in Breffni park"
These are amalgamated teams, Not single club teams. One piece of information I have is that St Felims national School in Cavan Town who used to dominate primary schools football in cavan can no longer field a team in Cumann Na Mbunscoil due to lack of interest in young students. This is a measure of the problem cavan football is facing at underage level. In MY opinion amalgamation is NOT the way to go but there will soon be no other alternative unless something drastic changes.

mystic meg (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 20/08/2017 17:33:10    2035621

i've highlighted this problem about 2 years ago.
Minor league consisted of 3 teams which were amalgamations. There were only a few subs on each team to be fair as they seemed to be amalgamated out of necessity.
9 clubs with a total of 60 players between them or 7 per club doing rough maths.
There are other options out there such as soccer, basketball, rugby, athletics, golf etc where they don't have idiots roaring at them from the side line.
How many coaches at under age " actually" did a coaching course on how to encourage children, teach them skills and motivate them. Take rugby for example, they step the rules according to age group. At u10 they have uncontested 3 person scrums and line outs. No conversions etc. Bit by bit they introduce the rules, the skills and everyone gets a game. Most underage games are challenge matches so they can mix and match players.
They encourage safety with padded vests and gum shields are compulsory, not a half baked implementation like our sport.
We seem to do everything in a half baked way and young people are moving on. And to be honest, who can blame them.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/08/2017 11:09:47    2035890

Maybe we should fix the club scene first and the county will be in a healthier place.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/almost-twothirds-of-club-players-considered-quitting-over-fixtures-schedule-36052486.html

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/08/2017 12:08:26    2035943