Cavan Hurling

Replying To thetruthforonce:  "Well done Cavan. Great result. They are called permit players and every county allowed have used them at one stage or another its not breaking any rules. It's used to strengthen teams, make the games a better standard and to develop the game in the county. It so happens the ones Cavan use are in scoring positions. Cavan conceded less goals than any other team in the competition and no permit players in the goals or the six backs. But I suppose that's a good news story and people making arguments on here don't like using facts. When Fermanagh won the Lory Meagher a few years a go they had permit players in the team. The Full back was Eoin Morrisey who was Cavan Hurling Development officer at the time and a number of others. Warwickshire and Leitrim both in the final now have permit players. Crawley who scored 20 points against Cavan for Lancashire is a permit player. John I'm afraid a number of times you have being caught out on this discussion. Your better off giving up at this stage your doing yourself no favours at all. People using these others teams as arguments to down play Cavan's win are not giving the full facts about the other teams they hold in high esteem. Great first year back. I hope for the best in the future to both the hurling and football Cavan teams."
Is what u are saying that the fermanagh team had outside players playing on saturday? Which they had none. Eoin Morrisey was living in fermanagh with Mark Curry. That why he was playing for Fermanagh. The team that won the lory meagher in 2015 had one permit player in Eoin Morrisey. U had five outsiders playing on saturday as fermanagh had none and missing few key players.

law01 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 28 - 23/05/2017 22:41:46    1990045

Replying To law01:  "Is what u are saying that the fermanagh team had outside players playing on saturday? Which they had none. Eoin Morrisey was living in fermanagh with Mark Curry. That why he was playing for Fermanagh. The team that won the lory meagher in 2015 had one permit player in Eoin Morrisey. U had five outsiders playing on saturday as fermanagh had none and missing few key players."
No I never said they did use any Saturday. If you read back my post I didn't say that any where. I did say they used a permit player in the past which you confirmed in your second post. But if you read back your first post you said Fermanagh only use Fermanagh players. But this isn't quite true as you pointed out Fermanagh didn't do that in 2015. Not to worry easy mistake. There shouldn't be a need for people to find fault in a good result or campaign for a team over the season for the first time back in a number of years. I believe this discussion has run it course in regards the hurling team returning. Like many discussions here. People will start trying to find fault in any way possible to be negative about a situation. I don't have time for that. So this will be my last post. Best Wishes All.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 24/05/2017 09:36:10    1990118

Law01 Eoin Morrissey was living in Cavan town when he played with Fermanagh. That is a fact. He may have given another address for the paperwork but he was living in Cavan

theborderfox (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 30/05/2017 14:51:31    1992236

Cork V Waterford not a classic but how could one knock it for entertainment another great day for hurling as it should be. A few decisions questionable but overall things balance out.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/06/2017 18:21:20    2001263

Replying To seanorinn:  "Cork V Waterford not a classic but how could one knock it for entertainment another great day for hurling as it should be. A few decisions questionable but overall things balance out."
Time a full stop was put on hurling in this county a mockery is being made of the game. People talking the talk but I can tell you they certainly are falling very short of walking the walk. Woodford unable to field a team so back to the same old same old. Are the CCB even justified even allowing the final to be played at all if yes it should not even be considered as a curtain raiser before any game in the county grounds. I know I will not be liked for saying this but I know deep down they know I am speaking the truth. The few that are shouting for senior hurling need to hide their heads in the sand and stop bullying their way forward into what ? more embarrassment. Prove to the Cavan supporter you mean business and the first way to show this is by having the B***s to say we are not getting it right and we need to reorganise and talk to the clubs and see if you can work together to promote what is my favorite game by a long shot HURLING.

Tom Reilly in fairness to him along with a few of us had the right idea get rid of senior hurling in this county and build from scratch like they are trying to do in East Cavan and build up some quality underage teams to bring them forward into a higher level of play and to have respect for our wonderful game that we call hurling.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 15/09/2017 20:44:34    2046328

Replying To seanorinn:  "Time a full stop was put on hurling in this county a mockery is being made of the game. People talking the talk but I can tell you they certainly are falling very short of walking the walk. Woodford unable to field a team so back to the same old same old. Are the CCB even justified even allowing the final to be played at all if yes it should not even be considered as a curtain raiser before any game in the county grounds. I know I will not be liked for saying this but I know deep down they know I am speaking the truth. The few that are shouting for senior hurling need to hide their heads in the sand and stop bullying their way forward into what ? more embarrassment. Prove to the Cavan supporter you mean business and the first way to show this is by having the B***s to say we are not getting it right and we need to reorganise and talk to the clubs and see if you can work together to promote what is my favorite game by a long shot HURLING.

Tom Reilly in fairness to him along with a few of us had the right idea get rid of senior hurling in this county and build from scratch like they are trying to do in East Cavan and build up some quality underage teams to bring them forward into a higher level of play and to have respect for our wonderful game that we call hurling."
Are you having a conversation with yourself about this Sean?

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 15/09/2017 23:32:23    2046362

Well done to Mullahoran St. Josephs yesterday, massive win against Cootehill. Great day for a game of hurling and Mullahoran beat them around the place. Scoreline of 4-19 to 0-5 and could have been more. They're on to Ulster next week against Naomh Columcille in Ballyconnell. Will be very hard, but a good few of the team have played and beat them before in an Ulster semi in the late 2000's.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 25/09/2017 13:48:41    2050313

I see there is a big push and an unveiling of an underage hurling club in North Meath, taking in the football clubs of st.micheals (carlanstown), Kilmainhamwood, Nobber and Moynalty. It will be very interesting to see how this goes. looks like Meaths recent success in winnning christy ring and putting in good perfermonaces this year beating kerry and should have bet westmeath is drawing children from non hurling areas to hurling.

it is a bit strange how close cavan is to very strong hurling areas but dont seem to have much tradition or intrest bar mullahoran. is this because mullahoran is close to westmeath ? castlepollard would be a huge hurling village, football would be a secondary game there. most of north westmeath hurling comes first. even as far as kells in meath hurling is played to intermediate level, kilskyre/moylagh are a strong intermediate team now in meath and have players from oldcastle playing which is also very close to cavan. once you get to athboy and from there to dublin in a south east direction, every village and town you pass through you will see young lads carrying hurls and pucking around. i think this is probarbly the tradition and hurling culture you need for hurling to thrive. the hurling region in meath is from athboyin west over to ratoath in east of meath be interesting to see how this north meath club goes

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 688 - 26/09/2017 09:57:40    2050555

Replying To seanorinn:  "Time a full stop was put on hurling in this county a mockery is being made of the game. People talking the talk but I can tell you they certainly are falling very short of walking the walk. Woodford unable to field a team so back to the same old same old. Are the CCB even justified even allowing the final to be played at all if yes it should not even be considered as a curtain raiser before any game in the county grounds. I know I will not be liked for saying this but I know deep down they know I am speaking the truth. The few that are shouting for senior hurling need to hide their heads in the sand and stop bullying their way forward into what ? more embarrassment. Prove to the Cavan supporter you mean business and the first way to show this is by having the B***s to say we are not getting it right and we need to reorganise and talk to the clubs and see if you can work together to promote what is my favorite game by a long shot HURLING.

Tom Reilly in fairness to him along with a few of us had the right idea get rid of senior hurling in this county and build from scratch like they are trying to do in East Cavan and build up some quality underage teams to bring them forward into a higher level of play and to have respect for our wonderful game that we call hurling."
sure why dont you offer up some advice Sean, seeing as you know so much about everything. Never mind the hurling in Cavan, Tom Reilly couldn't even sort out the football mess when he was Chairman.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 26/09/2017 10:54:27    2050580

Replying To cavanblueman:  "sure why dont you offer up some advice Sean, seeing as you know so much about everything. Never mind the hurling in Cavan, Tom Reilly couldn't even sort out the football mess when he was Chairman."
sure why dont you offer up some advice Sean, seeing as you know so much about everything. Never mind the hurling in Cavan, Tom Reilly couldn't even sort out the football mess when he was Chairman.
cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts:181 - 26/09/2017 10:54:27 2050580
Tom Reilly did more for than many will give him credit for that he deserves I can tell you.
While you have the three amigo's running the hurling you will never succeed my advise is get rid of hurling in Cavan and any county that are making no inroads with it plain and simple. I don't claim to know much about anything but thanks for saying that I do I am trilled.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/09/2017 14:02:49    2050659

Great win for Mullahoran against Naomh Colum Cille of Tyrone in Ulster JHC last Sunday. After the huge final win it shows Mullahoran are going well, and probbaly with hindsight this result is not unexpected. They're on to face Na Magha from Derry in the semi final in Monaghan at 2.30 on Sunday. Should be a cracking game. Mullahoran have beaten them in the past but it will be very tough. All the best lads. Cavan hurling is definitely looking up!

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 05/10/2017 10:57:56    2053227

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Great win for Mullahoran against Naomh Colum Cille of Tyrone in Ulster JHC last Sunday. After the huge final win it shows Mullahoran are going well, and probbaly with hindsight this result is not unexpected. They're on to face Na Magha from Derry in the semi final in Monaghan at 2.30 on Sunday. Should be a cracking game. Mullahoran have beaten them in the past but it will be very tough. All the best lads. Cavan hurling is definitely looking up!"
A senior club playing junior it's a joke a minuet.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/10/2017 12:32:09    2053264

Replying To seanorinn:  "A senior club playing junior it's a joke a minuet."
Go do one, will you? If you have nothing better to say, don't say anything. Are you expecting Mullahoran to be in the Ulster SHC, competing with Slaughtneil, Dunloy and those. Cop yourself on. The Cavan SHC is at junior level in Ulster. Deal with it. It was great to get a win, considering it was a long time since a Cavan club won in Ulster.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 05/10/2017 17:27:34    2053399

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Go do one, will you? If you have nothing better to say, don't say anything. Are you expecting Mullahoran to be in the Ulster SHC, competing with Slaughtneil, Dunloy and those. Cop yourself on. The Cavan SHC is at junior level in Ulster. Deal with it. It was great to get a win, considering it was a long time since a Cavan club won in Ulster."
Well said, its an open forum. Fair play to Mullahoran. Sean, Great contribution. Say nothing if you've nothing valuable to say.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 06/10/2017 14:58:25    2053600

Replying To cavan97:  "Well said, its an open forum. Fair play to Mullahoran. Sean, Great contribution. Say nothing if you've nothing valuable to say."
Well said, its an open forum. Fair play to Mullahoran. Sean, Great contribution. Say nothing if you've nothing valuable to say.
cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts:357 - 06/10/2017 14:58:25 2053600

I will not rub salt into your wounds but yesterday's serious result to another junior team in Ulster speaks volumes for the game in this county. Time to go back to the drawing board very soon.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 09/10/2017 09:56:44    2054011

Replying To seanorinn:  "Well said, its an open forum. Fair play to Mullahoran. Sean, Great contribution. Say nothing if you've nothing valuable to say.
cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts:357 - 06/10/2017 14:58:25 2053600

I will not rub salt into your wounds but yesterday's serious result to another junior team in Ulster speaks volumes for the game in this county. Time to go back to the drawing board very soon."
You're some boyo, aren't ya? Not a peep out of you for ages, and there you are waiting in the long grass with a snide comment when we lose. Couple of things you might want to take on board first. That was an unreal Derry club team we played the other day. They shouldn't be at that level, they've reached a number of Ulster finals recently and have been unlucky to lose them. They should be at intermediate level. They have a massive catchment area in Derry, their own facilities and everything. Some of their hurlers are on a different level.

You're also doing a massive disservice to what Mullahoran have achieved. Put in a lot of work this year, won the Cavan final at a canter and had a great win in the Quarter final. Three massive games in 14 days was a big ask. Cavan County Board are a joke to hurling at the moment, They organised a grand total of 1 game (the final) in the county this year (they didn't bother with a league). And they organised it the week before Ulster, with little time to prepare before and after. Look at it the other way, in spite of all that, it shows even more how good the Ulster quarter final result was. The Cavan senior hurlers finished up in mid May and from that time, no hurling was organised for the clubs, even though it is a summer sport and the lads were flying after a spring county training and on the back of a great result against Fermanagh. They couldn't give a toss...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 10/10/2017 10:45:59    2054328

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You're some boyo, aren't ya? Not a peep out of you for ages, and there you are waiting in the long grass with a snide comment when we lose. Couple of things you might want to take on board first. That was an unreal Derry club team we played the other day. They shouldn't be at that level, they've reached a number of Ulster finals recently and have been unlucky to lose them. They should be at intermediate level. They have a massive catchment area in Derry, their own facilities and everything. Some of their hurlers are on a different level.

You're also doing a massive disservice to what Mullahoran have achieved. Put in a lot of work this year, won the Cavan final at a canter and had a great win in the Quarter final. Three massive games in 14 days was a big ask. Cavan County Board are a joke to hurling at the moment, They organised a grand total of 1 game (the final) in the county this year (they didn't bother with a league). And they organised it the week before Ulster, with little time to prepare before and after. Look at it the other way, in spite of all that, it shows even more how good the Ulster quarter final result was. The Cavan senior hurlers finished up in mid May and from that time, no hurling was organised for the clubs, even though it is a summer sport and the lads were flying after a spring county training and on the back of a great result against Fermanagh. They couldn't give a toss..."

You are a joke a league with who ?? You claim to be a senior team and a junior team hammer you hang up your sticks for god sake and tell those that are trying to get the game going to start from scratch. Achievements sure you had no one to play over the last twenty odd years I suppose all those medals look good on your CV.
I have not been hiding at all there was nothing to post about what ever it is you play.
The 1/4 final win you played a junior team if you are juniors say so and maybe one might start to respect you for what you are and maybe things might progress forward then.
You know who I am and you also know I prefer hurling to Football but what is played here who would want to see it.
As you well know I have not been about since the 4th of September and I am recovering from major surgery.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 10/10/2017 12:44:54    2054375

There shouldnt even be a thread for Cavan Hurling,,,waste of time and money

daddyknowsbest (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 10/10/2017 14:46:35    2054431

Replying To daddyknowsbest:  "There shouldnt even be a thread for Cavan Hurling,,,waste of time and money"
Cavan Hurlers won 3 Cups (2 National League Titles and an Ulster Championship in the last 30 years). Cavan Footballers have won 1 Cup (Ulster Championship) in the last 30 years. Argument over.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 12/10/2017 09:34:55    2054814

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Cavan Hurlers won 3 Cups (2 National League Titles and an Ulster Championship in the last 30 years). Cavan Footballers have won 1 Cup (Ulster Championship) in the last 30 years. Argument over."
Are you serious?? There does be 10,000 plus on Ulster Championship Day i doubt you get 100 at hurling level if we had a team that even competed.
A team win the senior club championship and enter the junior club championship that says it all.
Argument over

daddyknowsbest (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 12/10/2017 11:03:30    2054823