Walsh leads Crokes to three-in-a-row

December 04, 2023

Kilmacud Crokes Shane Walsh kicks the ball into an empty net ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Shane Walsh scored 1-8 in a man of the match performance as All-Ireland champions Kilmacud Crokes completed an historic three-in-a-row of Leinster Club SFC titles at Croke Park.

However, they were greatly flattered by the 1-14 to 0-10 scoreline against a Naas team who dominated much of the second half, but couldn’t make it count on the scoreboard. Crokes trailed by just two points with a minute of normal time remaining, but they finished with a flourish as late points from Walsh and Rory O’Carroll were followed by a brilliant individual goal from the former after Naas were caught on the break and goalkeeper Luke Mullins was in the opposing half.

The Kildare champions led by 0-5 to 0-4 before three unanswered points helped the Stillorgan outfit to a 0-9 to 0-7 half-time advantage.

When Naas midfielder Paul McDermott pointed in the 50th minute, it was down to the minimum, but Walsh’s fifth free gave Crokes some breathing space before they pulled away in the closing stages to claim a record-equalling seventh provincial crown.

Most Read Stories