Galway hold off 14-man Tyrone in Salthill

May 20, 2023

Galway's Shane Walsh and Michael McKernan of Tyrone ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Galway held off 14-man Tyrone at a rain-soaked Salthill this evening to claim an opening win the All-Ireland senior football championship round robin stage.

It finished 0-16 to 0-13 in favour at Pearse Stadium, where Shane Walsh led the way for the hosts with six points after his early substitution in the Connacht SFC final last time out.

Paul Conroy, Peter Cooke and Cillian McDaid all chipped in with two points apiece also to help get this one over the line for Padraic Joyce’s charges.

Tyrone were forced to play for 50 minutes with 14 men following the dismissal of wing forward Frank Burns on a straight card for a heavy challenge on Jack Glynn and they’d go in at the break trailing 0-7 to 0-3.

The Red Hands would go down to 13 at one point when ‘keeper Niall Morgan was black-carded by referee David Gough, forcing Peter Harte to go between the posts, but the visitors were never out of contention in this one still.

Darren McCurry, who finished with 0-7, Conor Meyler and Harte all shot points that had them within three with 10 minutes to go and, while they’d get the deficit down to three, Walsh’s last score would seal the win in stoppage time for the Tribesmen.

Most Read Stories