Team news: Kilkenny to spearhead youthful Dublin line-up in Tullamore

January 08, 2022

Dublin's Ciaran Kilkenny. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Five-time All-Star Ciaran Kilkenny will spearhead an inexperienced Dublin team in Tullamore this afternoon as they face John Maughan's Offaly in their O'Byrne Cup opener.

Dessie Farrell's side are set to begin with five players who featured in last August's All-Ireland semi-final extra-time defeat to Mayo, the others being Tom Lahiff, Sean Bugler, Colm Basquel and Aaron Byrne who were substitutes that day five months ago.

Throw-in at Bord na Mona O'Connor is at 2pm.

Dublin (O'Byrne Cup v Offaly) - David O'Hanlon; Lee Gannon, Shane Clayton, Darragh Conlon; Tom Lahiff, Adam Rafter, Sean Bugler; Peadar O'Cofaigh Byrne, Kevin Callaghan; Killian McGinnis, Ciaran Kilkenny, Alex Wright; Lorcan O'Dell, Colm Basquel, Aaron Byrne.

Subs: Michael Shiel, Shane Carthy, James Doran, Warren Egan, James Holland, David Lacey, Cameron McCormack, Ross McGarry, Eoin Murchan, Niall Scully.


Most Read Stories