Hegarty is Hurler of the Year

February 20, 2021

Limerick's Gearoid Hegarty. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Limerick wing forward Gearóid Hegarty was announced Hurler of the Year for 2020 at this evening's All-Stars awards ceremony.

One of nine All-Stars from the All-Ireland champions, the St Patrick's clubman played a starring role in his county's march to Liam MacCarthy glory back in December.

Hegarty was sensational in producing a 'man of the match' performance in the All-Ireland final against Waterford, scoring seven points from play.

The 26-year-old was joined on the shortlist by Clare’s Tony Kelly and Waterford’s Stephen Bennett.

Antrim captain Conor McCann claimed the Joe McDonagh Cup Hurler of the Year award after leading the Saffrons to the All-Ireland title for the first time.

Kildare's Paul Divilly and Donegal's Danny Cullen were recognised for their exploits in the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cups with Player of the Year awards.

Meanwhile, Lory Meagher Cup Player of the Year went to Louth forward Andrew Mackin.

Most Read Stories