Friday's club championship round-up

July 24, 2020

A view of individual water bottles during the Limerick SHC clash between Kilmallock and Na Piarsaigh at the LIT Gaelic Grounds. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

There was plenty of club championship action around the country this evening with counties getting their senior competitions underway.

In the Cork SFC, Nemo Rangers and St Finbarr's started the new campaign with victories over Valley Rovers and Ballincollig, respectively.

Two sides littered with Kerry players, Dr Crokes proved too good for last year's intermediate champions Templenoe in the Kerry club SFC.

Ferbane opened their Offaly SFC title defence with a four-point win while a last gasp Eoin Carroll point gave Cappincur victory by the minimum.

Na Piarsaigh succumbed to a surprise 1-17 to 2-16 defeat to a Graeme Mulcahy-led Kilmallock in the Limerick SHC at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Michael O'Loughlin struck late to deliver a win for Clonlara, Aidan McCarthy's scoring exploits also propelled Inagh-Kilnamona to the last twelve of the Clare SHC.

Ballygunner's bid for a seventh straight Waterford SHC title began in comfortable fashion against Tallow.

Wexford SHC title holders St Martin's made it two wins from as many outings, Conor McDonald's Naomh Eanna tasted victory too.

An eight point haul from Galway star Jason Flynn was key to Tommy Larkins edging Loughrea in Athenry.

Finally, 2019 Leinster SHC finalists St Mullin's had way too much firepower for Naomh Eoin in the Carlow SHC.

We bring you all the results from Friday's senior club football and hurling championship games...

Cork SFC round 1
Nemo Rangers 3-8 Valley Rovers 1-9
St Finbarr's 1-13 Ballincollig 0-10

Kerry club SFC round 1
Dr Crokes 1-18 Templenoe 0-10

Offaly SFC round 1
Ferbane 1-12 Edenderry 1-8
Cappincur 0-12 Tullamore 1-8

Carlow SHC round 1
St Mullin's 2-17 Naomh Eoin 1-11

Clare SHC round 1
Inagh-Kilnamona 2-17 Clooney-Quin 0-14
Clonlara 0-19 Newmarket-on-Fergus 1-14

Galway SHC round 1
Tommy Larkins 1-16 Loughrea 0-15

Limerick SHC round 1
Kilmallock 2-16 Na Piarsaigh 1-17

Waterford SHC round 1
Ballygunner 2-22 Tallow 0-9

Wexford SHC round 2
Naomh Eanna 2-11 Rapparees 0-16
St Martin's 0-23 Cloughbawn 0-15

Most Read Stories