Cork 1966 All-Ireland winner passes away

May 17, 2020

Cork All Ireland SHC winners 1966. Front l-r: Gerry O'Sullivan, Colm Sheehan, Paddy Barry, Charlie McCarthy, Gerald McCarthy, Seanie Barry, Finbarr O'Neill, Ger O'Leary. Back l-r: Jack Barrett, Denis Murphy, Tom O'Donoghue, John O'Halloran, Tony Connolly, Peter Doolan, Mick Watters, Justin McCarthy, Paddy Fitzgerald, Donal Sheehan, John Bennett, Jim Barry.

The death has occured of former Cork All-Ireland winner Tom O'Donoghue.

A proud Sarsfields clubman, Tom was a key member of the Cork team which defeated Kilkenny in the 1966 All-Ireland SHC final at Croke Park. He played a starring role at full back as the Rebels shocked the Cats to end a twelve-year wait for the Liam MacCarthy Cup. Tom went on to win two Railway Cup medals with Munster in 1968 and '69 as well as a National League title in the latter year.

Sarsfields GAA took to Facebook to pay tribute to their club legend who passed away last Friday.

Most Read Stories