Fitzgibbon Cup round-up

January 12, 2020

UCC's Shane Conway wins possession against DCU. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

Despite a 15-point haul from Cian Darcy, UL suffered a first ever Fitzgibbon Cup defeat at the hands of DCU today.

Full-forward James Burke was on target with 0-13 as the home side secured a deserved 0-21 to 0-18 win.

Meanwhile, a return of 0-7 (two from play) from Kerry sharpshooter Shane Conway was vital as holders UCC finished with two points to spare over NUI Galway in Dangan.

Evan Niland raised 12 white flags for the hosts but his team finished on the wrong end of the 0-19 to 0-17 scoreline.

IT Carlow also created a bit of history with a first ever win over UCD in the competition.

They prevailed on a scoreline of 3-20 to 2-16 thanks to goals from Chris Nolan, Cathal Dunbar and Liam Blanchfield while Waterford IT edged out Limerick IT by 1-23 to 1-14.

The Jamie Wall managed Mary I were too strong for TU Dublin City – 1-19 to 1-10.

An injury-time Andrew Gaffney free was the difference as Maynooth edged out Trinity by 0-16 to 0-15.

Fitzgibbon Cup results:

IT Carlow 3-20 UCD 2-16

Waterford IT 1-23 Limerick IT 1-14

Maynooth 0-16 Trinity 0-15

UCC 0-19 NUIG 0-17

Mary I 1-19 TU Dublin City 1-10

DCU 0-21 UL 0-18

DCU - O Foley; L Gannon, P Smyth, J Curran; B Ryan (0-2), C Burke, D Gray; D Reck (0-1), C Firman (0-1); F Whitely (0-2), R O’Connor (0-1), J Donnelly (0-1); C Hearne, J Burke, D Burke (0-13, 11f). Subs: C Prendiville for C Hearne, J Ryan for D Reck, J Roberts for C Firman, D O’Brien for D Burke.

UL - B Hogan; C O’Callaghan, M Carey, E Gunning; P Campion, B O’Mara, R Lynch; B McGrath, J Shelly; R Hayes (0-1), K Hayes (0-2), P O’Loughlin; R Considine, C Darcy (0-15, 10f), B Power. Subs: K McDermott for B McGrath, S Neville for B Power, K McDonald for R Lynch, J Kenny for R Considine, O Flannery for R Hayes.

Referee - J Owens.


UCC - S Hurley; D Lowney, E Murphy, D Griffin (0-2); M Coleman (0-1), P O’Loughlin (0-2f), N O’Leary; A Casey (0-1), B Hennessy (0-1); R O’Flynn (0-1), S Conway (0-7, 4f, 1pen), C Boylan (0-1); M O’Halloran (0-2), S Kingston, D Fitzgibbon. Subs: M Kehoe (0-1) for R O’Flynn, R Connolly for B Hennessy, P Cadell for A Casey.

NUI Galway - S Manogue; C Killeen, J Fitzpatrick, K Hussey; A Greaney, P Hoban (0-1), D Loftus; S Loftus, I Fox (0-2); C Lawless, J Fleming, B Concannon; S Fletcher, E Niland (0-12, 11f, 1'65), C Elwood. Subs: M Lynch (0-1) for C Lawless, L Forde for C Elwood, M Gill for A Greaney, S Kennedy (0-1) for S Fletcher.

Referee - J Murphy.


IT Carlow - E Rowland (0-5f); S Reck, S Downey, F Hayes; N Brassil (0-1), J Cleere, P Delaney; M Harney (0-1), L Scanlon (0-1); E Gaughan, C Dunbar (1-4), R Leahy (0-2); S Bergin, L Blanchfield (1-2), C Nolan (1-3, 0-2f). Subs: T Nolan for E Gaughan, D Wall for J Cleere, S Casey for S Reck, R Higgins (0-1) for S Bergin.

UCD - C O’Donoghue; C O’Donovan, I O’Shea, E Carroll; N Heffernan, H Lawlor, M Cody; E Egan, M Purcell (0-1); D O Floinn, R Purcell (0-1), R Hayes (0-11, 9f); L McDwyer, C McGuckin (2-0), P Crummey (0-3). Subs: C Scallan for N Heffernan, E Foley for D O Floinn, F O Ceallaigh for R Purcell, S Carey for L McDwyer, D Ryan for E Egan.

Referee - J Keenan.


Waterford IT - B Nolan; T Hayes, K Hassett, S Smyth; C Lyons (0-1), M De Paor, S Ryan; M Whelan, A Gleeson (0-5, 1f); T Barron (0-2), J Prendergast (0-2), R Flynn (0-1); E Meaney (1-0), C Kirwin, S Condon (0-12, 10f). Subs: M Mahoney for M Whelan, C Flood for S Ryan, F Cleary for A Gleeson, K Hanney for R Flynn, D Claffey for E Meaney.

Limerick IT - E Collins; B Fanning, D Moran, F Lordan; C McCarthy, C Whelan, P Delaney; R Byrnes, M Moloney; B Seymour (1-11, 0-9f, 0-1'65), K Howard (0-1), B McDonagh (0-2); D O’Meara, D O’Connell, R Bonnar. Subs: R Doody for R Bonnar, E Fitzpatrick for M Moloney, I Murray for P Delaney, R Mulrooney for D O’Meara, E Fitzgerald for B Fanning.

Referee - F Horgan.


Maynooth - S Buggy; D Kehoe, C Byrne, D Comerford; J Cullen, E Molloy, C Moloney; R Buckley, E Ahearn; C Stakelum (0-2), C Browne (0-1), A Gaffney (0-11f); C Drennan (0-1), S Clerkin (0-1), J Buggy. Subs: L Hogan for E Ahearn, J Dwyer for J Buggy, F Hynes for C Drennan.

Trinity - J Banks; M Conroy, L Corcoran, P Skelly; J Kenny, D Ryan, D Phelan; A Kavanagh (0-2), J Walsh; J O’Neill, C O’Sullivan (0-2), C McCarthy; A O Riain, D Butler, T Aherne (0-10f). Subs: D Duggan (0-1) for C McCarthy, E O’Callaghan for A O Riain.

Referee - D Hughes.

Most Read Stories