Connacht SFL: Galway prevail on penalties; Leitrim no match for the Rossies

January 12, 2020

Patrick Kelly of Galway and Mayo's Brian Walsh

Padraic Joyce’s tenure as Galway senior football manager got off to an eventful start in Castlebar today.

The Tribesmen secured a place in this year’s Connacht SFL decider thanks to a 3-2 penalty shoot-out win over arch rivals Mayo.

Penalties was required to separate the two teams after they had finished tied on 1-17 apiece in normal time.

New captain Shane Walsh, Damien Comer and Tom Flynn converted their spot-kicks while Fergal Boland, Gary Boylan and Brian Walsh were off target for James Horan’s side.

The win came at a cost, however, as Joyce is sweating over the fitness of Johnny Heaney and Fiontain O Curraoin after both players were forced to leave the action due to injury.

From a Mayo point of view, a 24th minute point by the fit-again Tom Parsons generated one of the biggest cheers of the day.

That helped the home side lead by 0-9 to 0-8 at the change of ends.

A Kevin McLoughlin goal put them in the driving seat entering the home straight but, boosted by Adrian Varley’s injury-time goal, the visitors staged a late comeback which culminated in a Liam Costello equalising point in the 15th minute of added-on time.

The team in maroon and white will now meet Roscommon in the decider next weekend.

Anthony Cunningham’s side coasted to a 7-16 to 0-7 semi-final victory over the Leitrim at Pairc Sean MacDiarmada.

Fintan Cregg (2), Enda Smith (2), Andrew Glennon (2) and Noel Gatey all raised green flags for the primrose and blues.

They led by 4-7 to 0-1 at the halfway stage.

Galway - C Gleeson; C Murray, G O’Donnell, J Heaney; E Brannigan, J Daly, C McDaid; P Conroy (0-1), F O Curraoin; P Kelly, T Flynn, M Boyle (0-1); M Daly (0-2), A Varley (1-3), S Walsh (0-9, 6f). Subs: J Duane for J Heaney, M Barrett for F O Curraoin, C McDaid (BC), L Costello (0-1) for P Kelly, D Comer for M Daly, S Kelly for E Brannigan.

Mayo - R Hennelly; J Stretton, J McCormack, B Harrison; P O’Hora, M Plunkett, P Durcan; T Parsons (0-1), M Murray; B Walsh (0-3), C Loftus (0-2f), J Flynn (0-2); K McLoughlin (1-2), B Reape (0-5), D O’Connor. Subs: F Boland (0-2) for C Loftus, C Boyle for J Stretton, G Boylan for D O’Connor, L Irwin for B Reape, D Kenny for J McCormack.

Referee - P Guckian.


Roscommon - C Lavin; M Richardson, C Daly (0-1), A Dowd; P Scott, N Daly, J Casey; L Mollahan, S Killoran (0-2); D Ruane (0-2), E Smith (2-2), F Cregg (2-2); A Glennon (2-0), C Lennon, N Gately (1-2). Subs: T O’Rourke for S Killoran, C Cox (0-5, 3f) for A Glennon, C Cregg for N Gately, D Murray for C Daly, N Kilroy for F Cregg.

Leitrim - D McKiernan; C Reynolds, P Maguire, A Flynn; D Bruen (0-1), J Gilheaney, C Farrell; D Wrynn (0-1), S Flanagan; C Duffy, C Dolan (0-1), R O’Rourke; D Rooney, A Hoare (0-1), N Brady. Subs: F McTague for C Farrell, M Diffley for C Duffy, K Gaffey for D McKiernan, O McCaffrey (0-1) for D Bruen, O McLoughlin (0-2f) for R O’Rourke.

Referee - L Devenney.

Most Read Stories