Dublin SFC final: 'Boden keep it to script for fourth success

November 03, 2019

Thomas Davis' Oisin Kelly with St. Enda's Michael Darragh MaCauley

Ballyboden St Enda’s 0-15

Thomas Davis 0-9

Ballyboden St Enda’s captured their fourth Dublin senior football championship title after seeing off Thomas Davis this evening at Parnell Park.

Ryan Basquel struck a decisive 0-6 for the winners as they earned their first county final success in the capital in four years, ending their counterparts’ dream run in this competition in the process.

All-Ireland champions in 2016, Ballyboden were heavy favourites coming into this decider and never looked in trouble as Basquel notched four points in the first-half to help them towards a commanding 0-7 to 0-2 lead at the break.

An Eoin Kirby free was backed up by Shane McGrath’s superb point from distance to trim the deficit down to four in the early stages of the restart before Colm Basquel found Ross McGarry for a point at the other end.

David Keogh made it a three-point game again with 20 minutes left prior to the favourites finding their groove again, with McGarry and Colm Basquel (free) putting it at double scores (0-10 to 0-5).

Kirby and Ryan Basquel traded frees prior to the latter booming one over with his left boot which looked to have Ballyboden’s name on the cup.

Playing in their first final since 1991, Thomas Davis never looked like throwing in the towel at any stage but were left with a mountain to climb once McGarry and top-scorer Basquel strung together back-to-back points with five minutes left on the clock.

Two Kirby frees sandwiched Colm Basquel’s third of the evening ahead of Alan Flood and Eanna O’Toole cancelling each other out in injury-time, leaving six in it at the finish as the coveted silverware headed back to the St Enda’s club.

Ballyboden St Enda's - D Gogan; B Dwan, S Clayton, C Flaherty; D Nelson, R McDaid, A Waters; M D Macauley, D O'Mahony (0-1); S Gibbons, C Basquel (0-3, 2f), D O'Reilly; W Egan, R Basquel (0-6, 3f), R McGarry (0-4). Subs: A Flood (0-1) for S Gibbons, T Hayes for W Egan, B Bobbett for M D Macauley, K Kennedy for R McDaid, K Kennedy for B Dwan, J Holland for D Nelson, C Keaney for D O'Reilly.

Thomas Davis - R Crilly; A Shorten, P Quinn, Brian Kirby; A Fallon, C Murphy, S Kennedy; Brendan Kirby, O Kelly; R Deegan (0-1f), E Kirby (0-4f), D Keogh (0-2); S McGrath (0-1), C Farrelly, E Lambert. Subs: E O'Toole (0-1) for O Kelly, S Reilly for E Lambert, E Lambert for Brian Kirby, M Nolan for S McGrath.

Referee - J Higgins.

Most Read Stories