Sligo SFC final: Gaughan stars as Tour make it four

October 20, 2019

Tourlestrane's Liam Gaughan in action for Sligo. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Tourlestrane 2-17

Coolera-Strandhill 0-9

Liam Gaughan scored 2-4 as Tourlestrane coasted to their fourth consecutive Sligo SFC title at Coolera-Strandhill's expense this afternoon.

Gaughan's first goal came in the 14th minute and the reigning champions dominated proceedings thereafter to maintain their firm grip on the Owen B Hunt Cup.

Leading by 1-8 to 0-6 half-time, Tourlestrane extended their advantage to nine by the third quarter with points from Oisin Kennedy, Gaughan and Cathal Henry.

Sligo captain Niall Murphy opened Coolera-Strandhill's second half account from a free and they had a much needed goal disallowed soon after.

With the game over as a contest, Tour' pilfered 1-3 in the final minutes while Gaughan's second major helped put a gloss on a comfortable 14-point success.

They now advance to the Connacht club SFC quarter-finals where they face Roscommon representatives Padraig Pearses in two weeks' time.

Tourlestrane - A Broe; C Surlis, JF Carr, B Walsh; O Kennedy (0-1), A McIntyre, K O’Hara; S Henry, C Henry (0-4, 3f); K Gavaghan, J Kelly (0-3), J Leonard (0-2); G Gaughan (0-1), L Gaughan (2-4), A Dunne (0-1). Subs: P Harte for S Henry, C Marren (0-1) for A Dunne, N Gaughan for K O’Hara, B Egan for C Henry, R Kennedy for G Gaughan.

Coolera-Strandhill - K Harte; E Mitchell, G Cawley, M Comerford; S Murphy, C McDonagh, A Higgins; B Doyle, K Banks; C Parke, K Cawley, A O’Boyle; B O’Mahony (0-2), K O’Neill, N Murphy (0-7, 1f). Sub: D McGee for A O’Boyle.

Referee - C Conway.

Most Read Stories