Offaly SHC final: O'Connor completes Rynagh's comeback

October 20, 2019

St Rynagh's star Sean Dolan. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

St Rynagh’s 0-16

Birr 1-12

St Rynagh's scored nine of the last 10 points to edge out Birr in a pulsating Offaly SHC final at Bord na Mona O'Connor Park.

The Banagher men trailed for much of the game and looked a beaten docket when Birr, who were seeking their first Sean Robbins Cup in 11 years, led by double-scores, 1-11 to 0-7, 12 minutes into the second half. But with substitutes Stephen Quirke and Diarmuid Horan shooting 0-6 between them, St Rynagh's came storming back to level before Joe O'Connor's injury-time point gave them a first title since 2016 and 18th in all.

Barry Whelahan's charges couldn't have asked for a better start with Eoin Cahill's goal helping them to a 1-3 to 0-0 lead inside five minutes. With Cahill in fine scoring form, Birr went on to lead by 1-7 to 0-4 at the break and tightened their grip on proceedings after the restart before St Rynagh's staged a remarkable recovery to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

St Rynagh's - C Clancy; S Wynne, C Hernon, D Shortt; M Maloney, B Conneely, P Quirke; G Kelly (0-1), J O’Connor (0-1); C Flannery, R Hughes (0-1), G Conneely; A Treacy (0-3, 2f), S Dolan (0-3), A Kenny (0-1f). Subs: S Quirke (0-4) for C Flannery, D Horan (0-2) for G Conneely, L O’Connor for A Kenny, G Conneely for G Kelly, C Flannery for D Horan.

Birr - B Mullins; J Irwin, D Watkin, O Murphy; B Watkins, P Cleary, S Ryan; B Murphy (0-1), S Lonergan; C Taylor (0-1), D Hayden, C Mulrooney (0-3); M Watkins (0-1), E Cahill (1-5, 0-3f), B Harding. Subs: P Mullins (0-1) for B Harding, M Verney for D Hayden, D Queegan for P Mullins, E Pilkington for B Watkins, T Bolger for S Lonergan.

Referee: K Dooley.

Most Read Stories