All-Ireland MFC semi-final: Corbett shines as Cork sink Mayo

August 10, 2019

Cork's Michael O'Neill in full flight against Mayo. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Cork 4-12

Mayo 1-13

Captain Conor Corbett bagged 2-3 as Cork defeated Mayo at Croke Park to qualify for their first All-Ireland MFC final since 2010.

Patrick Campbell and Daniel Linehan also netted as the Rebels cut loose in the final quarter. Having captured the All-Ireland U20 title seven days ago, Cork are now just 60 minutes away from a famous underage double. They will aim to end a 19-year wait for Tom Markham Cup honours when they face the winners of tomorrow's second semi-final between six-in-a-row chasing Kerry and Galway in the decider on September 1.

Cork led by 1-7 to 0-7 at half-time, but Mayo reduced the gap to two before the winners pulled away in the final quarter with goals from Linehan and two from Corbett. Corbett's second major came in injury-time after Niall Feeney had lobbed a consolation goal to the net for Mayo moments earlier.

Mayo hit five goals in an impressive quarter-final win over Dublin, but they were put on the backfoot by Campbell's goal in the seventh minute after Jack Cahalane had pounced on a poor kickout. Cahalane passed up on another goal chance two minutes later before Hugh Murphy blasted over with a goal at his mercy in the 14th minute. 

Patrick Campbell celebrates after scoring Cork's opening goal. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Further points from Murphy and Corbett had the Rebels perched on a 1-7 to 0-4 lead after 25 minutes, but Mayo grabbed the last three scores of the half, including two from the excellent Paddy Heneghan, to trail by a goal at the interval.

The Westerners reduced the deficit to two points on the restart before Linehan powered through for a cracking Cork goal in the 46th minute. The Munster runners-up never looked back after that as Corbett raised two more green flags in the 50th and 65th minutes, either side of Feeney's late effort for Mayo.

Cork - C O'Leary; J O'Shea, D Linehan (1-0), N Lordan; K Scannell, D Peet, D Cashman; J Lawton, E Nash; H Murphy (0-2), C Corbett (2-3), A Walsh Murphy; M O'Neill (0-2, 1f), P Campbell (1-2), J Cahalane (0-1). Subs: S Andrews for J O'Shea, R O'Donovan (0-2) for M O'Neill, K O'Driscoll for P Campbell, L Murphy for A Walsh Murphy, S Aherne for H Murphy, A O'Hare for J Cahalane.

Mayo - L Jennings; O Tunney, O McHale (0-1), A Morrison; S Dempsey (0-1), R Keane, E Gilraine; E Henry (0-3f), M Tighe; A Cosgrove, P Heneghan (0-4), D Thornton; C Mylett (0-1f), F Irwin (0-2), P Walsh. Subs: R Morrin for C Mylett, J Grady (0-1f) for S Dempsey, R Walsh for A Cosgrove, R Hughes for O Tunney, C Boland for E Gilraine, N Feeney (1-0) for P Walsh.

Referee - N Cullen.

Most Read Stories