Costello and Prenty on new Fixture Review Group committee

June 09, 2019

John Costello.
©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

Dublin CEO John Costello and Connacht Council secretary John Prenty are included in the GAA's new Fixture Calendar Review Task Force.

Newly-installed Cork CEO Kevin O'Donovan will also sit on the committee which is chaired by Eddie O'Sullivan. The GPA and CPA are represented too by Ronan Sheehan and Michael Higgins respectively.

The committee, which has been established by GAA president John Horan, has been tasked with having a report with recommendations ready for November, which will drive a discussion ahead of the potential for rule changes to be voted on at Congress 2020.

According to a GAA statement, the committee had been asked to consider significant issues affecting the GAA fixtures calendar, including the scheduling and structure of inter-county competitions and the time available for clubs.

The full list of committee members is: 

Eddie O’Sullivan (Chair) Member of An Coiste Bainistíochta, former club chair St Sylvester’s GAA, Dublin

Micheal Martin (Wexford) Chair GAA National Fixtures Analysts Committee

Kevin O’Donovan (Cork), CEO Cork GAA

Stephen Barker (Derry), Ulster GAA CCC

John Costello (Dublin), CEO Dublin GAA

John Prenty (Mayo), Secretary Connacht Council GAA

Michael Higgins (Galway) CPA Representative

Ronan Sheehan (Down) GPA Representative

Michael Hyland (Galway) Chair GAA Higher Education Committee

Seamus Woods (Down) Chair GAA Post Primary Schools’ Committee

Conor O’Donoghue (Meath) County Minor team manager

Most Read Stories