Leinster SHC: Model beat Carlow pulling away

June 08, 2019

Wexford's Shaun Murphy looks to claim possession ahead of Carlow's John Michael Nolan

As expected, Wexford proved too strong for Carlow in Round Four of Leinster’s round-robin series at sun-kissed Wexford Park, 2-28 to 0-19.

It’s the Model County’s first victory of the summer, following successive draws with Dublin and Galway, and it puts Davy Fitzgerald’s men in a strong position heading into their final group outing against Kilkenny next weekend.

The Barrowsiders, to their credit, who finish with the wooden spoon and are relegated to the Joe McDonagh Cup, battled gamely in front of 6,500 spectators and were just two points adrift at the short whistle, 1-10 to 0-11, Rory O’Connor netting in the fifth minute after Conor McDonald and Lee Chin (free) had slotted the first two points

The hosts moved seven clear, 1-7 to 0-3, but breeze-backed Carlow finished the first half strongly, with the unerring Marty Kavanagh (0-13) pointing the way, Eoin Nolan, Chris Nolan, Sean Whelan and John Michael Nolan also on target.

Leee Chin’s brace and a Cathal Dunbar point gave the hosts a positive start to the second half and they never looked back, McDonald, O’Connor, Dunbar and Chin adding points with ease, McDonald executing a fantastic catch and finish to the net 17 minutes from the end.

Wexford’s Shaun Murphy was sent off late on for a second yellow-card offence, as were Carlow pair Richard Coady and Kavanagh, the winners finishing with a flurry of points from Chin, Joe O’Connor, Diarmuid O’Keeffe and David Dunne.

Wexford - M Fanning; D Reck, L Ryan, S Donohoe; S Murphy, M O'Hanlon, P Foley (0-2); R O'Connor (1-1), D O'Keeffe (0-2); L Og McGovern, L Chin (0-11, 8f, 1'65), K Foley; C Dunbar (0-3), C McDonald (1-4), P Morris (0-2). Subs: A Nolan for P Morris, D Dunne (0-1) for R O'Connor, S Casey (0-1) for L Og McGovern, S Reck for S Donohoe, J O'Connor (0-1) for C Dunbar.

Carlow - B Tracey; K McDonald, P Doyle, M Doyle; E Nolan (0-1), D English, R Coady; J Kavanagh, S Whelan (0-1); J M Nolan (0-1), M Kavanagh (0-13, 9f, 1‘65), E Byrne (0-1); J Doyle, T Joyce, C Nolan (0-2). Subs: J Nolan for T Joyce, S Murphy for E Byrne, G Coady for M Doyle, D Byrne for J M Nolan.

Referee - C Cunning.

Most Read Stories