Hey folks. While attending the game on Sunday, the Sky box was in overtime recording the Sunday Game. Since then, it's flat out replaying the game practically every evening. While watching it last night, I put pen to paper on how I summed up the great year us from Tipperary had. Any corrections are appreciated. ( PS. I intentionally leave out any players names, except managers, because all of the players that played deserve an A+)
There is a great hurling team, Which the others see only in dreams, On that day in September, Sure we all do remember, The Premier became the cream
The first game in May was late, When we all piled down the M8, The ball bounced wrong, And we got stung, The Qualifiers were now the new gate,
Now Wexford and Offaly were not text, Both teams were each complex, But Tipp were improving, And Croker was looming, That a date with Galway was next,
Now this game deserves its own poem, For it was top quality, all on its own, The comeback was class, They bit Galway in the a##, And the tribes went home all alone
Next came the boys of Waterford, In 08, we fell at their sword, But with their Munster crown, Our spirits they could not drown, Onto the final we soared.
But first let's mention 09, A tragedy, we cannot decline, The boys were robbed, But nor they sobbed, On the comeback, they showed they'd spine.
So now, came our year When Kilkenny Had a sneer, But the first half went well, A victory we could smell, In the second, the boys hit top gear.
And in the second, they did us proud, All around, Kilkenny were ploughed. Brian Cody was in bits, From Liam Sheedy's Blitz, A Win To us he had vowed.
So here's to the glorious men, That lifted Liam in 0-10, Sure if ye lift it in 11, We'll hit seventh heaven, But at least we won it in 0-10!
(Also, the third last verse is aimed at one older Kilkenny gentleman who laughed at me at half time when I told him we can do it. The other dozens of KK people I encountered were extremely humble and all-round bang on! ).
premierfan (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 10/09/2010 13:59:42
Nice post .. well done Premier fan .. deserved champions
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 10/09/2010 14:12:41
Here's a poem thats sums up the hurling glory for Tipp...Kilkenny please note!
There is a great hurling team, Which the others see only in dreams, On that day in September, Sure we all do remember, The Premier became the cream
The first game in May was late, When we all piled down the M8, The ball bounced wrong, And we got stung, The Qualifiers were now the new gate,
Now Wexford and Offaly were not text, Both teams were each complex, But Tipp were improving, And Croker was looming, That a date with Galway was next,
Now this game deserves its own poem, For it was top quality, all on its own, The comeback was class, They bit Galway in the a##, And the tribes went home all alone
Next came the boys of Waterford, In 08, we fell at their sword, But with their Munster crown, Our spirits they could not drown, Onto the final we soared.
But first let's mention 09, A tragedy, we cannot decline, The boys were robbed, But nor they sobbed, On the comeback, they showed they'd spine.
So now, came our year When Kilkenny Had a sneer, But the first half went well, A victory we could smell, In the second, the boys hit top gear.
And in the second, they did us proud, All around, Kilkenny were ploughed. Brian Cody was in bits, From Liam Sheedy's Blitz, A Win To us he had vowed.
So here's to the glorious men, That lifted Liam in 0-10, Sure if ye lift it in 11, We'll hit seventh heaven, But at least we won it in 0-10!
Cavan_gael (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 10/09/2010 14:18:38
they played some fantastic hurling this year it was beautiful to watch i can't see any retirements because we've a young squad, oldest probably being cummins at 35 but he may give another 2 or 3 years hope the management stay on they've being fantastic although if they decide to call it a day so be it they owe tipp people nothing
moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 10/09/2010 16:19:34
they played some fantastic hurling this year it was beautiful to watch i can't see any retirements because we've a young squad, oldest probably being cummins at 35 but he may give another 2 or 3 years hope the management stay on they've being fantastic although if they decide to call it a day so be it they owe tipp people nothing moddy91 , 10/09/2010 at 16:19
everyone is staying on Moddy 91 Sheedy says this is just the start of it 45,000 expexted in Thurles to witness another all mireland tomorrow night wer back where we belong at the top we just need to get the roll of honour sorted again
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 10/09/2010 16:24:03
how many all stars will we get?
cummins curran cahill maher fanning b. maher s.mcgrath lar mcgrath kelly 10!
any opinions??
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 10/09/2010 16:34:53
It might be raining thurlesblue..... was that the reason you missed the home comming to thurles (fair weather supporter litrally)
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2010 16:47:06
Nice post there premierfan
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2010 16:48:41
I'd argue that it is crucial to keep Brendan Cummins on. Without him a lot of Tipp's gameplan could come unstuck, I think he is probably the best keeper I've ever seen play the game.
Now I've seen videos of Skehan, I've seen Cunningham of Cork first hand in big championship games and the only goalkeeper I've ever seen as close to Cummins is Limerick's Tommy Quaid (RIP). Tommy didn't play as many championship games down through the years as the likes of Cunningham as Cork got further than us in the championship, but in my opinion Quaid is the nearest thing to Cummins who is my number 1 of all time.
I know people would mention Fitzhenry and Cusack too, but for me Fitxhenry was a great reactionary keeper, stopping bullets coming at him, but other areas of his game left him down. Cusack is a great distributor, probably the most accurate in that discipline, but for me Cummins is the best all round goalkeeper the game has ever seen. Keep him on & ye will profit.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6628 - 10/09/2010 16:48:47
premierfan County: Tipperary Posts: 103
770819 Hey folks. While attending the game on Sunday, the Sky box was in overtime recording the Sunday Game. Since then, it's flat out replaying the game practically every evening. While watching it last night, I put pen to paper on how I summed up the great year us from Tipperary had. Any corrections are appreciated. ( PS. I intentionally leave out any players names, except managers, because all of the players that played deserve an A+)
goodman premier fan!
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 10/09/2010 16:54:29
Hats off to Tipp, fully deserving of your All Ireland!!
wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 10/09/2010 16:54:56
We would like to thank all the lads that we picked up at the crossroads playing skittles for that hard training session against Kilkenny, we may need ye again next year!
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 10/09/2010 16:55:42
A Prayer for Tipp our father who art in semple,
sheedy be thy name,
thy liam will come,
goals will come aswell from lar,eoin and seamie,
give us this day to stop a 5-in-a-row
and forgive us our square ball,
as we block those who trespass against us,
but deliver us from the cats
for tipperary is the kingdom
the blue and gold forever and ever amen!
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 10/09/2010 17:07:29
thurles: i hope you're right its funny how people like to slag tipp over the lack of all ireland success in the last few decades but we're still much close to cork and kilkenny than we are to limerick,dublin etc if tipp can win a few more this decade we could nearly catch up to cork
moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 10/09/2010 17:07:45
I know people would mention Fitzhenry and Cusack too, but for me Fitxhenry was a great reactionary keeper, stopping bullets coming at him, but other areas of his game left him down. Cusack is a great distributor, probably the most accurate in that discipline, but for me Cummins is the best all round goalkeeper the game has ever seen. Keep him on & ye will profit. slayer , 10/09/2010 at 16:48
Cummins said he is definitely staying on Slayer!
Durack was good keeper too
thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 10/09/2010 17:16:45
moddy91:
A small minority of other counties slag off tipp don't generalise that makes you as bad as them then!!
Also are you happy with 5 all-irelands in 40 years?? the people that say that have a point tipp need to up their game and take over the no. 1 spot again which with the young lads we can get closer.... the future is looking bright for tipp hurling.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/09/2010 17:24:09
hag: i didn't generalise anybody i just said that people like to slag off the record i wasn't referring anybody or any county in particular and by the way it is a poor record but its better than winning no all irelands isn't it?
moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 10/09/2010 18:19:47
i hope you're right its funny how people like to slag tipp over the lack of all ireland success in the last few decades but we're still much close to cork and kilkenny than we are to limerick,dublin etc if tipp can win a few more this decade we could nearly catch up to cork
Moddy, ye are 6 behind Cork so it needs more than 'a few more'.
But I think we all recognise Tipp's contribution to hurling on here? I think that Tipp are a great county and Thurles is a great place to go. Hopefully we get to play ye there next year and Thurlesblues can reveal himself*
(*this means show us your face, not other body parts thurlesblues)
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6628 - 10/09/2010 18:22:15
by the way it is a poor record but its better than winning no all irelands isn't it?
FACT. I'm surprised nobody else has picked up on this, but Tipp are the ONLY Munster county not to have ousted a manager or have players refuse to play.
Cork - well documented strikes. Clare - Ousted Mike Mac at the end of 2009 Limerick - players would not play under McCarthy Waterford - Ousted McCarthy in 2008 after 3 Munsters & a NHL.
Tipp - players were not happy with Babs, they never refused to wear the shirt, took being dropped and got the change of manager & got their reward. Credit where credit is due.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6628 - 10/09/2010 18:24:56
To all genuine Tipp supporters, congratulations and well deserved, outstanding performance. The challenge is now to put back to back AI's. Thurlesblues, how will I recognise you in Semple tomorrow, where is the best WiFi, will you computer or i-fone work if it's raining. Another U21 title is far from the priority for Galway (and highly unlikely) but by God this would be sweat if we were to win (although this time to shove it up the CCCC rather than Tipp)
onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 10/09/2010 18:33:08