Just watching the RTE documentary 'Croke Park lives', taking a behind the scenes look at All Ireland final day. Mon1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 153 - 02/08/2010 19:38:36 733350 Link 0 |
great documentary. I think thats a bit unfair though! Plenty of young ones! abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 02/08/2010 19:55:22 733378 Link 0 |
Not well run as they where on about crowds building up after games in st jones road and keeping supporters in 2 differents lines to walk up or down it but nobody bothers to controll it and a accident waiting to happen. On the second issue all those gardai and stewards but nobody only one guard to protect a ref ... not very pro to me terrible run . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/08/2010 19:58:10 733387 Link 0 |
great documentary. very interesting to see all that goes on behind the scenes. the crowd build up on jones rd. is a serious problem as someone who was caught up in it at last years final. the helicopter is a great tool for the gardai also but there is little one can do when 80000 people are leaving at once. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 02/08/2010 20:08:44 733403 Link 0 |
Good show. The chef was a bit of a grumpus though! Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 02/08/2010 20:49:07 733461 Link 0 |
Great documentary. A lot of work goes on behind the scenes on All Ireland Final Day. Just hope that they can get the response for the senior presentation to take place on the pitch. The fireworks display for the minors was excellent. It can happen remember 1999 both hurling and football presentation took place on the pitch. Jack L (None) - Posts: 3213 - 02/08/2010 20:49:49 733463 Link 0 |
Yeah, just saw for the second time. The first time I saw it (last summer) I was laughing when the fans got on the pitch, now (thanks largely to the Louth fans) I'm performed a complete U-turn and hope there's no repeat of that Plan B BS. Organise it right! With regards to the thread topic, sure what do yeh expect, its the GAA, I'd say its the same for most County Boards too. Agree with you btw, more youth is needed... throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 02/08/2010 21:06:25 733494 Link 0 |
Did you not see young mr alan milton,top man in gaa communications...a gentleman too! exileddub (Offaly) - Posts: 19 - 02/08/2010 21:31:47 733542 Link 0 |
Overated bunch and they could not controll a premiership match id guess . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/08/2010 21:41:19 733568 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat Gaelicmeath (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 02/08/2010 21:50:14 733583 Link 0 |
thats an interesting point.. how do they keep fans of the pitch for euro cups , fa cups . world cups and so on.. theres no fenchs at any of these ,, drogheda20 (Louth) - Posts: 405 - 02/08/2010 21:54:02 733588 Link 0 |
Gaelicmeath they get paid 80 euro for working on match days as i have worked there and evening games at 120 euro hardly for nothing to be fair ... Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/08/2010 21:56:47 733593 Link 0 |
Saw it before, was a good documentary to see what goes on behind the seasons while some of us were busy trying to get a ticket and thankfully got one and more needed! legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9798 - 03/08/2010 08:10:55 733616 Link 0 |
I work there on match days and I don't get paid, infact it costs me 5 euro in diesel and 3.80 euro on the toll to do it voluntarily. The GAA provide lunch and everyone is happy. Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 03/08/2010 08:48:03 733634 Link 0 |
Very enjoyable. Brolly, the chef was a bit of a pain alright! Surprised that chap he kept onto didn't clock him one :-) It was good insight into all that goes on behind the scenes to make a visit to Croke Park such an enjoyable experience - assuming your team wins of course! Hadn't been on Hill for years before Saturday and couldn't get over how well organised the Gardai and stewarding and ticket scanning was compared to the madness of before when you had mad crush in front of the stiles and all sorts of yokes bringing in bags of drink. Stopped going in 90s because of the imbeciles who used to frequent but they seemed thin on the ground on Saturday and there were quite a few people from other counties there as well. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/08/2010 09:02:23 733644 Link 0 |
you are right and wrong dell, there are a section of paid stewards (frontline security) but i think it is accurate to say that the large majority of stewards in croke park are unpaid volunteers, who often give up their two day weekends to the stadium, so to critise them is absolutely ridiculous. irishstew (Sligo) - Posts: 172 - 03/08/2010 09:18:46 733654 Link 0 |
ahg dell will you ever give it a rest will ye with all the clap trap u keep coming out with day after day you anit the god of gaa and cert dont know everything like u think u know delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 03/08/2010 11:36:00 733804 Link 0 |
02/08/2010 21:56:47 Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 03/08/2010 11:43:14 733812 Link 0 |
lads you know in that documentary when mary mcaleese is coming out of the tunnel .. the band are playing a rebel song .. any idea what its called ? waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 10/09/2010 18:41:39 771176 Link 0 |
Is there a site to watch it again I heard it was a cracker documentary Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 10/09/2010 20:53:02 771295 Link 0 |