Away all day - well in casualty for 20 hours - not a good experience. Anyway note all the great threads today and I don't mean clothes. Jeeze whats going on here - I know its close season and inter county teams aren't allowed train - but you are allowed post on GAA matters as far as I'm aware!! Sandwiches, girls, tae, hotdogs, salad!!!! JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 02/12/2008 22:34:58 155411 Link 0 |
My favourite has to be feed the world live aid. brilliant Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/12/2008 22:42:58 155419 Link 0 |
I like the havertys version of "Hold the candle steady molly while i split the chikens lip" so poignant as you say yourself dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/12/2008 22:45:29 155422 Link 0 |
Jaysus Jayo what happened that you were in casualty that long - hope all is ok!!!!!!!1 bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 02/12/2008 22:51:58 155427 Link 0 |
well in casualty for 20 hours Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/12/2008 22:58:21 155433 Link 0 |
2 great songs you mentioned there alright Jayo! Would definitely put the 2 of them in my top 3 fav Christmas songs of all time along with Silver Bells by Jim Reeves and that Johnny Mathis one - can't remember the name! Also have a grá for Las Vegas in the Hills of Donegal! Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 02/12/2008 23:03:12 155441 Link 0 |
Fairytale has to be no. 1 alright, classic christmas tune but maybe a bit overplayed if that's possible?! All the usual festive tunes are great though, it really adds to the season, the aul christmas album always makes an appearance around this time! mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 02/12/2008 23:06:48 155445 Link 0 |
Jayo, "in casualty for 20 hours". Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/12/2008 23:23:11 155471 Link 0 |
Thanks Boc & Htaem - but even if I had split ends I'd be there that long! Had a bit of a scare but at 94 you're gonna get them aren't ya??? But will use the opportunity coming up to the mad season to remind you younger lads go easy, take it but take it handy. And if God forbid you end up in one of our warzones (A&Es) remember you are surrounded by angels ... and a few devils visiting! Alls well enough here and the undertaker has been told to cancel the 'Told Yis I Was Sick' inscription for the time being! JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 02/12/2008 23:24:46 155472 Link 0 |
There has only been one good Christmas song. So that is my favourite. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 03/12/2008 01:34:57 155501 Link 0 |
Always loved 'fairytale of New York' as well lads. For some reason I always associate 'pipes of peace' by Paul McCartney as being a christmas song as well. Think it had something to do with the legendary football match played between the German & British troops on no mans land on christmas day 1914. dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 03/12/2008 09:45:32 155573 Link 0 |
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 03/12/2008 10:14:51 155606 Link 0 |
Jayo did you go on the rampage....again..I suppose it is in the silly season. northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 03/12/2008 10:43:30 155629 Link 0 |
Hope your not too badly shaken Jayo, never a good time for something like that but this time of year is worse than others. black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 03/12/2008 11:35:23 155685 Link 0 |
Bit of trivia there for you boys and girls holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 03/12/2008 12:27:14 155750 Link 0 |
The minister for eating chips (Harney) has a lot to answer for. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 03/12/2008 12:27:18 155751 Link 0 |
Put more turf on the fire Mary Ann, Peggy Dell dueting with Rory Gallagher dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/12/2008 14:27:44 155851 Link 0 |
holymoly Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 03/12/2008 15:06:02 155893 Link 0 |
Dod ye also knoa that Matt Dillion is the arresting Cop in the video for Fairytale!!?! Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 03/12/2008 15:09:32 155895 Link 0 |
Good idea Bald Eagle, it would be sure to reach no. 1 in Ireland anyway! I wonder would it be too late to get it up and running in time for Christmas now though, maybe another Christmas tune could be covered. I reckon the famous Jim would be ideal for Shane McGowan's part in "Fairytale of New York". mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 03/12/2008 15:16:45 155909 Link 0 |