Blessington club notes

August 09, 2021

Good evening everyone. It’s great to see so much activity around the grounds. Thank you for your cooperation in our car park by using the one way system and the reverse in policy, this adds to the smooth running of everything and also creates a safe environment. Also just to reiterate that we have a strict NO DOG policy with is clearly marked on our entrance gate and also just inside the gate. We appreciate that our members are adhering to this but it would seem that some visiting teams are not.

Junior A match that was due to be played on Friday 6th against Aughrim was rescheduled and will now take place on Tuesday 10th August @7.30pm. The best of luck to team and management.

Junior C

Goals win matches and we picked up four , full forward Adam Murphy with two , one a penalty , Cormac Roe and Alan Ellis with one each .We were always in control and led 3.2 to 0.3 at halve time and won 4.8 to 0.4 in Donard on Thursday evening last in Div 5 league .

Liam Phibbs , Stephen Byrne , Bradley Foster , Killian Bailey , Daniel Keogh , Barry O’Donovan , Cormac Roe ( 1.0) , Kyle Geraghty ( 0.1) , Thomas Fisher J (0.3) , Claude Tournou , Alan Ellis (1.0) , Peter O’Connell , Robert Richardson (0.1f) ,Adam Murphy ( 2.2 ,1f) , David Breen ; Replacements : Ciaran Mescal , Geoffrey Elliott , Thomas Fisher ( 0.1 )

Minors Notes:

Training Monday 7:30 and Wed 7:30pm

A busy weekend of matches coming up with a Match Friday 13th At Home V Bray at 7pm and away V Rathnew at 7pm on Monday 16th.

Another improved performance for the lads on Tuesday 3rd away V AGB. The game was tight throughout Blessington went into an early lead but AGB quickly recovered, at half time it was 1:05 to 2:05 to AGB, Blessington had a good 3rd quarter and narrowed the gap but in the end goals win games and AGB won on a score line of 3:09 to 2:09. In the first 2 rounds of championship lads have been very competitive and on both occasions have lost by a single score each time it could have gone either way. Lads have improved with each game played this year so far and if it continues should get the results. With a number of lads not available due to Holidays and injuries we want to thank the U15 players and managers for continuing to support the team thanks to Jack Byrne, Tony Carroll, Ben Carroll and Aaron Keogh. Next up are Bray at home and Rathnew away. Thanks to Róisín Ellis for doing Physio and David Richardson for doing umpire for the match.

U15 boys

Div 01 away to Bray Wednesday Aug 11th

Div 03 away to Eire og Friday Aug 13th

Speedy recovery to Injured players from our squad Leon Templin, Jonathan Wilson,

John Macken, Max Kehoe.

Ladies Football

Great win away to Baltinglass tonight for our Senior Ladies.

Massive thank you to All in Fitness Brew 21 Karcher and Mitchell Macadam for our New Jerseys and kit which we finally got to don tonight

Once again we were a second half team and never got going against the wind in the first!! Savage second half much better work rate and composure all over the pitch. For long periods we kept the ball in their half turning over some amount of kickouts and that’s exactly the work that created so many of our super scores backs upped it in the second half too winning crucial ball in front of goal and some excellent balls taken off the line and in the box from POTM *Emma Sarg* excellent stuff.

Blesso 8-18 Balto 1-15,Kim, Meabh , Emma Sarg Emma R,Erin ,Shauna,Amy 0-2,Emily, Leila,Jess 1-2,Niamh 0-4,Aisling 1-1,Sadhbh 2-4,Rois 3-1,Sara, Laura 1-2,Anna 0-2,Clara

Pep ,Aoife ,Anna C

Next up Tinahely away Friday 20th.

First win tonight for our Junior Ladies and what a win it was.

Outstanding performance at home and one we knew was just waiting to burst out! Couldn’t be prouder of how u all played with so much determination and heart there tonight. The BEST team performance we’ve seen this year.

Can’t say enough good about everything ye done tonight fair play girls.

So many players playing consistently too which is fantastic to see but POTM Becky was phenomenal, and those runs up field.

Super stuff girls.

Result:

Blesso 4-9 Clan Na Gael 1-5

Anna,Orlaith Ní. Alana, Becky,Pep 0-1, Orlaith B,Lisa, Aoife, Roisin, Izzy, Sharon 0-4,Aoibho

Sadhbh, Kate 1-4,Clara 3-0, Leah, Ava JD, Hope, Asia, Niamh K, Cathy, Sophie,Meabh

Our Girls U16 Blue team kicked off their championship in style tonight with a big win at home vs St Pats.

So impressive in all positions again tonight with the highlight being first to every ball and using it well each time finding & supporting each other. Fantastic shooting too in particular from POTM *Sadhbh* who made it look so easy to score 3-9 in a championship game. Joining her with POTM was *Aoibho* who has been so consistent this year she makes her job look effortless just brilliant.

Result:

Blesso 8-18 St Pats 0-3

Anna,Ava JD,Orlaith, Roisin,Aoife,Erin, Aoibho, Emily 0-3,Leila 0-,Aisling 4-3,Sadhbh 3-9,

Clara 0-2Ava O’D,Robyn 1-0 ,Paige, Asia, Sophie, Niamh

Super stuff girls.

Next up Carnew away next Tuesday 10th.

Well done to our u14s team who won the Div 1 League at home this evening. This amazing bunch have played brilliantly all League led by captain Robyn Brennan who accepted the league trophy

The under 14 girls made the trip to Wexford on Saturday for a challenge game with Baile Dubh Tire. Two very strong teams and the girls will come away having learned so much. It certainly was the challenge they needed. We send a big thank you to the players and managers for their super welcome to us and the hospitality afterwards. Match aside we headed off to curracloe Beach for a dip in the sea and the craic was 90. Thanks to Nessa and Trevor, super organised as always and we had the best day ever. The chips always do taste better by the seaside. Fair play to all the girls they were brilliant and are a credit to Blesso GAA. Roll on the championship now.

An absolutely brilliant win for the u12 girls white team against Clon na Gael. Every player played outstanding and they were so tired they couldn't even cheer when they won. There was some outstanding football played. Special mentions to Erin, Abby, Hannah, Lily and madison but player of the match goes to Holly Cassidy who was everywhere today. Holly was captain today and played like it. Well done girls.

Scorers were

Megan Mulhall 1-2, Madison Robbins 0-3, Erin Long 0-1, Isobelle Heeren 0-1

The u12 girls blue team played a very big physical St. Pats this morning. Even though Pats were bigger it didn't stop our girls getting stuck in. Well done girls POTM Sophia O Riordan she was everywhere, attacking and helping out the backs. Special mention to Elizabeth, Layla, Freya and Lauren who all lead by example.

Hurling News

Western Gaels under 11 s after a really hard fought win against Barndarrig , when the pressure came on we dug deep and won by a point, up & down the pitch , it was a proper hurling match. POTM goes to Fionn Whelan & lorelie well done & well deserved to ye both, UP THE GAELS.

The Healthy Club Team news. Following on with the success of the disability inclusion camp that was held in Russborough, which was run by Wicklow Sports & recreation partnership, another 2 day camp will run on 18th & 19th August , 40Euro. This camp caters for children and young teens with an intellectual disability or autistic spectrum. Over 50% of this is funded by Healthy Wicklow and the HCT are delighted to be involved again with Lisa Jackson, Michelle Richardson and Mallaidh Behan acting as volunteers for CARA sports inclusion.

Places are limited, contact [email protected] 0404 20129

Blessington GAA lotto takes place tonight Tuesday 10th August. This week’s jackpot is €3000, can everyone drop back tickets to Hennessy’s Next Door before 8.30pm this evening. You can also play online for €2 a line. https://clubforce.com/clubs/gaa-blessington-gaa-club-wicklow/

Thank you to everyone for your continuing support.

Club logo facemasks and snoods are available to buy now by contacting Lisa or Michelle.

Remember you can keep up to date with all our news across all social media platforms. If

you have anything that you would like included in future notes of posted on social media

contact

[email protected]

Ailis Mac Siacas (Lisa Jackson) 086 376 7534

Alainnabh Mathuna (Alana McMahon) 087 676 9142

Most Read Stories