Limerick make history with record breaking haul of 12 All-Stars

December 09, 2021

Limerick captain Declan Hannon celebrates with the Liam MacCarthy Cup. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

All-Ireland champions Limerick dominate the PwC All-Stars for hurling 2021 with a record-breaking haul of 12 awards.

It is the first time in the 50-year history of the prestigious scheme that a county has reached double figures in the final 15.

Last year, Limerick secured nine PwC All-Stars, a tally that saw them equal the feat achieved by the great Kilkenny hurling teams of 1983, 2000 and 2008 and the iconic football teams from Kerry 1981 and Dublin in 1977 and 2020.

But this distinguished dozen sets the all-conquering Treaty men as officially a class apart.

In goal, Kilkenny’s Eoin Murphy secures a 189th ever award for the Cats since the All-Stars started in 1971 and his third award in his career.

Waterford’s stylish defender Conor Prunty is recognised with a place at full back and the Banner County dynamo Tony Kelly is selected at top of the right for a third career award.

Otherwise, it is a swathe of Limerick green that is headlined by Seán Finn collecting a fourth all-time PwC All-Star at corner back to move him into the ranks as one of the most decorated defenders of modern times.

In attack, Cian Lynch is named at centre forward having previously been a recipient in 2018 and 2020

The teams was chosen by a panel of Gaelic Games correspondents from across, print, radio, TV and digital media, chaired by Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy.

In light of the on-going pandemic and its restrictions, a decision was taken not to proceed with the traditional presentation banquet. However, the event will still be showcased live by RTE 1 television in a special programme this Friday at 7pm.

The PwC All-Stars for Football 2021 will be announced live on the night of the awards which also see the naming of the PwC GAA/GPA Players of the Year in hurling and football as well as the Young Players of the Year in both codes. 

PwC All-Stars Hurling 2021 (Previous winning years in brackets)

1 Eoin Murphy (Glenmore, Kilkenny) (2016, ’18)

2 Seán Finn (Bruff, Limerick) (2018, ’19, ’20)

3 Conor Prunty (Abbeyside, Waterford)

4 Barry Nash (South Liberties, Limerick)

4 Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2020)

6 Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick) (2018)

7 Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry, Limerick) (2020)

8 Will O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

9 Darragh O’Donovan (Doon, Limerick)

10 Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick) (2020)

11 Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2018, 2020)

12 Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick) (2020)

13 Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare) (2013, ’20)

14 Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Limerick) 

15 Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

Most Read Stories