UNDER 21S

Replying To Greensheen:  "Ye believe Division 1 is in Ashbourne Friday. Other two finals on in Dunganny same night. County board are farcical. What's wrong with Saturday or Sunday? Eleven months to run competitions off and then cram everything into one night. Fixtures committee take a bow."
They have been an embarrassment all year. The short notice at which they produce (poorly) fixtures all year, lack of understanding for players, management's, and supporters, not sticking to original fixture master plans and just making it up as they go along generally. When you read the Sunday independent at the weekend and the huge article regarding the previous chairperson, it gives you a clear understanding of the thinking of certain individuals involved.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 26/11/2019 13:23:55    2251541

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Think it is now back to Friday in Ashbourne. And can confirm, teams don't 100% know"
Well I can tell you that the management of both teams knew what was going on. The game was never going to be on Saturday, that was just 'Hoganstand whispers', it was always Friday night and the only delay in announcing it was that it was originally meant to be in Dunganny but they were talking with Ashbourne to see if they would reopen their pitch as it is currently closed for the winter, for the one game as it was more practical for everyone involved.
Saturday isn't an option as there is Keogh cup on and Sunday is the Meath raceday so there are no matches at all on that day. Players may not have known as management wouldn't tell them until it was definite which is fair enough.
While it is not ideal how all over the place things are for this competition, hopefully with the restructure next year it will give a bit more definite shape and structure to things, although there will always be problems when clubs first treams win championships and progress into Leinster.

Anyway back to the game itself, I think Ratoath will have to much for Dunboyne and will win this by 4 to 5 points.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 26/11/2019 13:41:36    2251549

Replying To ratlag:  "Well I can tell you that the management of both teams knew what was going on. The game was never going to be on Saturday, that was just 'Hoganstand whispers', it was always Friday night and the only delay in announcing it was that it was originally meant to be in Dunganny but they were talking with Ashbourne to see if they would reopen their pitch as it is currently closed for the winter, for the one game as it was more practical for everyone involved.
Saturday isn't an option as there is Keogh cup on and Sunday is the Meath raceday so there are no matches at all on that day. Players may not have known as management wouldn't tell them until it was definite which is fair enough.
While it is not ideal how all over the place things are for this competition, hopefully with the restructure next year it will give a bit more definite shape and structure to things, although there will always be problems when clubs first treams win championships and progress into Leinster.

Anyway back to the game itself, I think Ratoath will have to much for Dunboyne and will win this by 4 to 5 points."
I think ratoath will win also. Dont see dunboyne being that strong , ratoaths full forward line are very big and strong and can cause serious damage when let [play dont see the dunboyne full back line having any answers for them.

Meath15 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 26/11/2019 14:31:00    2251558

Replying To Meath15:  "I think ratoath will win also. Dont see dunboyne being that strong , ratoaths full forward line are very big and strong and can cause serious damage when let [play dont see the dunboyne full back line having any answers for them."
With Sean Ryan in their Full back line I would certainly give them a chance! I think it will be a hard won game - midfield will be critical - Dunboyne will probably go with Donnelly and Murphy while Ratoath will go with the 2 McGowans - should be a good match up!
Dunboyne came from behind last year to win reasonably comfortably in the end - but I think the Ratoath lads have a little more about them this year - should be a cracker - no matter when it is on and where it takes place! haha!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 26/11/2019 15:22:00    2251569

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "With Sean Ryan in their Full back line I would certainly give them a chance! I think it will be a hard won game - midfield will be critical - Dunboyne will probably go with Donnelly and Murphy while Ratoath will go with the 2 McGowans - should be a good match up!
Dunboyne came from behind last year to win reasonably comfortably in the end - but I think the Ratoath lads have a little more about them this year - should be a cracker - no matter when it is on and where it takes place! haha!"
I agree sean ryan is a top defender but he can only mark one player and ratoath have 6 really good forwards
So for me it depends on the other dunboyne backs not ryan

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 26/11/2019 19:08:01    2251636

Replying To Upforyourball:  "Ratoath WILL win the U21, and rightly, are favorites.
Majority of last years runners up squad available, and most have a championship medal in the back pocket already this year.
Don't expect anyone to get within 6or8 points of us.
It's called, an embarrassment of riches!"
Easier than even I, expected.
Just wondering when and where do we collect
Club of the Year.
I think we will be winning the U21 for the next 2/3 years at least.
Total domination at this level for the foreseeable future.
The future is Blue and gold !!!
Someone let Andy know, the future of Meath football depends on it !!!

Upforyourball (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 30/11/2019 00:01:47    2252170

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "I agree sean ryan is a top defender but he can only mark one player and ratoath have 6 really good forwards
So for me it depends on the other dunboyne backs not ryan"
Good call - you got that spot on! Ratoath were dominant all over the pitch - backs were impressive - Wyer and Butler in particular
McGowans were on top in the middle and the keeper found them regularly with long kickouts!
Forwards were top class - a seriously impressive out fit - the older ahern was unstoppable when he got the ball - the younger one worked like a Trojan - Flynn is a real find - Rogers had some great moments too but the other 3 lads were really good too! And the subs that came on didn't weaken the team at all!
Really impressive all round team

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 30/11/2019 01:23:39    2252174

Well done to the lads on yet another title. What a fantastic year for the club!

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 30/11/2019 08:29:31    2252177

Ratoath last night were as good as I've seen an under 21 team. Dunboyne were reigning champs, and had 10 of last years starting team. Albeit missing Liam Byrne but it wouldn't have mattered. The momentum and the confidence of the senior and junior B along with an all round better team just showed

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 30/11/2019 10:50:14    2252188

Really impressive win by ratoath, they were better man for man then dunboyne on the night
The experience of the junior B and the senior squad really stood to ratoath and a well deserved win
No need to single out any players in particular as it was a full team effort that got this over the line
And yet again a class act in honouring Ronan (pep) Cahill in their speech a great friend to all involved
Rath to Abu

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 30/11/2019 12:05:24    2252200

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Really impressive win by ratoath, they were better man for man then dunboyne on the night
The experience of the junior B and the senior squad really stood to ratoath and a well deserved win
No need to single out any players in particular as it was a full team effort that got this over the line
And yet again a class act in honouring Ronan (pep) Cahill in their speech a great friend to all involved
Rath to Abu"
Well done Ratoath. As good an under 21 side as I've seen in Meath. A good game and nice to see good free flowing football this time of year.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 01/12/2019 08:31:00    2252423

Replying To Jackpot:  "Well done Ratoath. As good an under 21 side as I've seen in Meath. A good game and nice to see good free flowing football this time of year."
Everyone talking about the A final and rightly so but I was at dunganny and saw carnaross who have some fine footballers. They will be a big competitor in the junior championship next year

greengiant2001 (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 01/12/2019 17:36:15    2252506

Rumour has it the division 2 final between trim and bracks is being played in Clonard on Saturday ? Joke if it is, plenty of clubs that have facilities ( clubhouse ) that deserve it more....

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 01/12/2019 19:59:58    2252534

Replying To Meathgaalad:  "Rumour has it the division 2 final between trim and bracks is being played in Clonard on Saturday ? Joke if it is, plenty of clubs that have facilities ( clubhouse ) that deserve it more...."
Yes but the pitch is immaculate. Not many pitches like that around the country this time of year. Players would rather a good pitch than fancy dressing rooms

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 02/12/2019 13:02:50    2252672

Anyone at the trim bracks game? Can somebody explain to me as to why a div 2 game is 13 a side?

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 09/12/2019 16:27:34    2253972

Replying To Meathgaalad:  "Anyone at the trim bracks game? Can somebody explain to me as to why a div 2 game is 13 a side?"
We probably could have played 15 a side, but only have 17 of a panel, Trim on the other hand had around 40 of a panel but you would expect that from a town team, we were disappointed as we were a little off form in the scoring department,in fairness to trim they took their chances when they came, was a brilliant contest and a very disciplined game which was a credit to both teams, as regards the pitch i would say its well up there with navan and trim, a credit to clonard, never mind facilities, Rome wasn't built in a day, great club people down there and they will have a top class all round ground in no time,also doing very well at underage,clonard are a template for any small club to follow.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 09/12/2019 19:18:24    2254001