Time To Get Shane Walsh Playing.

Replying To Dunsh03:  "If he could play for only one of the two teams who would we prefer him to play for at this present moment? I said in previous posts that u20 is the place for him although he is a serious talent and I do believe he is good enough to play senior. But a senior debut in such a big game after a year out due to the leaving cert I just think it's a very big ask for a young lad and Meath have enough players to get past Clare in my opinion anyway. Then again I feel the u20 forward line is very talented too. I wouldn't judge them after one very nervy first round game. He'd be a great addition to either team but u20s is where I'd have him, let the lad develop and gain more confidence and then make the step up. I know he probably didn't decide this himself, Andy I assume wanted him."
From what I heard it was decided by Barry Callaghan who wouldn't take him on the panel. If Shane said I want to play 20's I'd be shocked that he's on the seniors

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 05/07/2019 23:25:51    2206074

Replying To Dunsh03:  "If he could play for only one of the two teams who would we prefer him to play for at this present moment? I said in previous posts that u20 is the place for him although he is a serious talent and I do believe he is good enough to play senior. But a senior debut in such a big game after a year out due to the leaving cert I just think it's a very big ask for a young lad and Meath have enough players to get past Clare in my opinion anyway. Then again I feel the u20 forward line is very talented too. I wouldn't judge them after one very nervy first round game. He'd be a great addition to either team but u20s is where I'd have him, let the lad develop and gain more confidence and then make the step up. I know he probably didn't decide this himself, Andy I assume wanted him."
Calm down everyone!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 06/07/2019 00:37:32    2206090

Shane is in the 26 man panel for 2moro

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 06/07/2019 07:14:57    2206107

Replying To royal1967:  "Shane is in the 26 man panel for 2moro"
I think we could see young Walsh play some part tomorrow. Any news on kane it would be great to have Niall kane , Shane Walsh and Ruari O Coilean on the bench..They all could make a big impact on the bench. For me I know it would be asking allot of young Walsh to start but my half back line would be Donal keoghan Padraig Harnan Niall kane and the full forward line would be Thomas Reilly Michael Newman Shane Walsh with young Conlon , G Reilly Toibin O Coliean and Dardis as impact subs. But it probably wud be allot to ask Kane to start after being out for so long. But he could make a big impact from the bench. I think the team that starts will be different to team named with 4 changes to Dublin game.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 06/07/2019 09:35:53    2206146

Very composed when he came on taking an excellent free with his first kick. Looking forward to seeing more of this young player. Andy McEntee needs to continue to have an open mind when introducing players into the squad. We need continued improvement.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 07/07/2019 22:10:41    2207467

Replying To royal1967:  "Shane is in the 26 man panel for 2moro"
Great to have a bit of inside info on the forum/

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 07/07/2019 23:10:33    2207507

Replying To winatallcost:  "Very composed when he came on taking an excellent free with his first kick. Looking forward to seeing more of this young player. Andy McEntee needs to continue to have an open mind when introducing players into the squad. We need continued improvement."
I like him as a footballer but he has only played 15 or so minutes intercounty football. Lets wait and see him develop before getting too excited. Shane Walsh is only 18 after all.

Same with young James Conlon, (just 21).

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 08/07/2019 00:05:20    2207529

Replying To Triple H:  "Fair play to the lads for grinding out the result tonight. We have a very young team that could do well over the next two years. But Offaly out played us for long spells. We have no real leaders. Don't know the exact story behind the non involvement of Shane Walsh. We can ill afford to be without players of his ability. Time to get the Na Fianna youngster aboard."
Good call, he was immense yesterday.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 22/07/2019 15:06:41    2214760

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "Good call, he was immense yesterday."
He is what we r crying out for since Geraghty retired. A modern target man. We have always had a target man eg O Rourke in 80s , Reilly Dowd in 90s and Geraghty in 00s. We had to turn Stephen Bray and Michael Newman into target men even though they were more finishers, natural inside forwards. Newman has done well but he is not a natural target man. Young Walsh has power and pace and is a very intelligent footballer. The way he he layed off the ball yesterday was effective and very good. He can only get better. He played for Meath at 18 , u have to be exceptional 18 year old to play inter county seniors for Meath. Players who played for Meath seniors at 18 were Colm O Rourke, Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty and Joe Sheridan . Im not say Walsh is a good as them. We dont know how good he will be . But to play in championship game v one top teams in this decade and play well a few weeks after doing his leaving cert is pretty outstanding. He is the best club full forward in the county and he is still not 20.

Himself Conlon , Campion and Devine. Are a new breed of Meath forwards. They are confident and talented. They won underage leinster titles and beat kildare and Dublin at underage. These are things allot of forwards we have had come through in last 10 years lacked or failed to do. They are the first forwards to come through under the new Strenght and conditioning and new underage set ups. And they are the first of a wave of exciting young forward talent in Meath between age 16 and 20 eg Matthew Costello, Luke Mitchell , Jordan Morris, Aaron Lynch , Eoghan Frayne , Niall Finnerty and many more.

But Walsh is one of the standout talents and a player we are crying out for. For me the last full forward I saw as good at his age was Joe Sheridan and I think young walsh is better because he has a pace that Sheridan lacked. I dont mean to put pressure on him. U have to give him.time. But I think he can be up there with Dan Flynn or Galways Comer in that he is modern target man. Much better then Paddy O Rourke. Paddy O Rourke doesnt have the agility to play inter county full forward. He is a good club full forward. U need atleticism and pace now to be target man full forward. Walsh has this in abundance, O Rourke doesnt.

Next spring I would play a full forward line throughout the league of Donal lenihan Michael Newman and Shane Walsh. And the issues we saw this year in the full forward line will be less of a problem. Newman and lenihan will be 28 next year at the peak of their powers. Lenihan is the best inside forward in Meath , drove Dunboyne to senior title and was our best forward in 2017 and 2018. Newman is a proven inter county forward. And young Walsh is an exciting young talent. Young Conlon of course is an option but I think he needs more time to develop. Walsh is ready now. When.we play those 3 guys up front together we will see a much improvememt in the forwards. And they are all freetakers. So what happened v Dublin wouldnt happen as u wud have a choice of 3 freetakers.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/07/2019 19:05:52    2214907

Replying To Furlong1949:  "He is what we r crying out for since Geraghty retired. A modern target man. We have always had a target man eg O Rourke in 80s , Reilly Dowd in 90s and Geraghty in 00s. We had to turn Stephen Bray and Michael Newman into target men even though they were more finishers, natural inside forwards. Newman has done well but he is not a natural target man. Young Walsh has power and pace and is a very intelligent footballer. The way he he layed off the ball yesterday was effective and very good. He can only get better. He played for Meath at 18 , u have to be exceptional 18 year old to play inter county seniors for Meath. Players who played for Meath seniors at 18 were Colm O Rourke, Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty and Joe Sheridan . Im not say Walsh is a good as them. We dont know how good he will be . But to play in championship game v one top teams in this decade and play well a few weeks after doing his leaving cert is pretty outstanding. He is the best club full forward in the county and he is still not 20.

Himself Conlon , Campion and Devine. Are a new breed of Meath forwards. They are confident and talented. They won underage leinster titles and beat kildare and Dublin at underage. These are things allot of forwards we have had come through in last 10 years lacked or failed to do. They are the first forwards to come through under the new Strenght and conditioning and new underage set ups. And they are the first of a wave of exciting young forward talent in Meath between age 16 and 20 eg Matthew Costello, Luke Mitchell , Jordan Morris, Aaron Lynch , Eoghan Frayne , Niall Finnerty and many more.

But Walsh is one of the standout talents and a player we are crying out for. For me the last full forward I saw as good at his age was Joe Sheridan and I think young walsh is better because he has a pace that Sheridan lacked. I dont mean to put pressure on him. U have to give him.time. But I think he can be up there with Dan Flynn or Galways Comer in that he is modern target man. Much better then Paddy O Rourke. Paddy O Rourke doesnt have the agility to play inter county full forward. He is a good club full forward. U need atleticism and pace now to be target man full forward. Walsh has this in abundance, O Rourke doesnt.

Next spring I would play a full forward line throughout the league of Donal lenihan Michael Newman and Shane Walsh. And the issues we saw this year in the full forward line will be less of a problem. Newman and lenihan will be 28 next year at the peak of their powers. Lenihan is the best inside forward in Meath , drove Dunboyne to senior title and was our best forward in 2017 and 2018. Newman is a proven inter county forward. And young Walsh is an exciting young talent. Young Conlon of course is an option but I think he needs more time to develop. Walsh is ready now. When.we play those 3 guys up front together we will see a much improvememt in the forwards. And they are all freetakers. So what happened v Dublin wouldnt happen as u wud have a choice of 3 freetakers."
Walsh had a better game than Newman in my eyes. But yes my pick would be Newman, Walsh and Lenihan for next year. Conlon and Darsis off the bench two different types of threats in the full forward line. Ruairi O'Coillean will be a nice addition to the teams half forward line again.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 25/07/2019 14:45:54    2216317

I think Walsh is an extremely positive addition to the Meath team. The progress he has made in a few short games is staggering. If he continues to devolop his ball winning ability and positional play, he can be a top player spearheading the attack. Really impressed with his attitude and willingness to track back. The league will bring this man on alot and barring injury could be one of our main men next year. Our team as a who need to improve their ball delivery from out the field.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 05/08/2019 19:51:27    2221297

Yeah Shane has impressed me since making his debut against Clare. I would have been thinking before that he hasn't had enough training/time with the senior panel to make a difference but he has proved me wrong.

His strength and pace have added a lot to our full forward line and would definitely be my first choice for full forward in the O'Byrne Cup/League next year to develop him. I am sure with a full pre season and hopefully Nally doing a little bit of coaching with him it will bring him on even further.

Is anyone that has seen him with Na Fianna regularly know is he good enough at free kicks to solve our problem in that area?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 05/08/2019 20:13:53    2221306