Division 2 2018

Replying To meath1977:  "down and cork are not great themselves and them games are in navan we can still win the last three games which would leave us on 9 points"
Its in our own hands and as you say Cork,Louth and Down have their own troubles.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2133 - 25/02/2018 16:00:38    2080016

Replying To seadog54:  "Its in our own hands and as you say Cork,Louth and Down have their own troubles."
We have a good chance in every match left, as long as we don't continue to play with the same constraints. Everyone concerned has still to prove we are up to the level including Andy. No point in continuing to do the same thing and expecting a different outcome. Radical action honesty and courage needed now. ALL excuses are now redundant . We have no right to success just because we are Meath. Because we are Meath we take the challenge head on .

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1203 - 25/02/2018 16:41:12    2080048

Replying To nobull456:  "We have a good chance in every match left, as long as we don't continue to play with the same constraints. Everyone concerned has still to prove we are up to the level including Andy. No point in continuing to do the same thing and expecting a different outcome. Radical action honesty and courage needed now. ALL excuses are now redundant . We have no right to success just because we are Meath. Because we are Meath we take the challenge head on ."
Andy has NEVER given a excuse. That is a fact, actually he states clearly that he never looks for excuse, which is very refreshing considering what happened before.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2018 17:18:26    2080083

Replying To Royalio11:  "With promotion gone, I fear we may be heading for Division 3.

Cannot see us getting anything from Down or Cork.

We may need to beat Louth to save ourselves.

A shocking state of affairs to be in"
Same as two years ago. We should be use to it by now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2018 17:19:44    2080086

Replying To royaldunne:  "Andy has NEVER given a excuse. That is a fact, actually he states clearly that he never looks for excuse, which is very refreshing considering what happened before."
AGREED ...TO HIS CREDIT. BUT WE WILL STILL HEAR PLENTY OF EXCUSES FROM OTHERS.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1203 - 25/02/2018 17:39:45    2080104

One man who came into conversation a lot in the company I was in last night was the now notorious P'OR. The amount of people I heard saying he would have caught this, he would have caught that and Quinlivan wouldn't have got that goal if he was there, the same people who were looking for his head on a block last year were now baying for his return!!!! With thinking like that I just shook my head and realised y'know what we are where we are for a reason and it's all self inflicted. Lack of work on underage, disposing of some managers unfairly, employing some bad choices of managers, having this feeling that we should be up around the top table all the time, not embracing change in our club structures.........if supporters are looking for people to blame then, as I've said before, look to our clubs, look to our decision makers, look to those we send as county board reps, it's only in recent years that we have an administration approaching professionalism in both its approach and performance (after a serious lull period) what with infrastructural developments, financial prudence and improved position, and development of our underage structures. We have a long way to catch up lads but we will get there I'm sure, and something else I think is this, when you have a senior team that's trying (and they are trying of that there's no doubt) and when you try and build a bit of momentum I can't imagine it does very good when you hear one of your recently departed colleagues insinuate that your more or less wasting your time, that your going nowhere, that your life is being made a misery by putting your shoulder to the county wheel !!!!! The timing of that "interview" was cat and showed little respect to those who are sacrificing much for Meath football and I have no doubt that what was said has gotten into the heads of some of the players, they deserve better and the more I thought about it the more I think that the notorious PO'R could have timed his little outburst a bit better in my opinion

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/02/2018 20:21:47    2080202

Replying To Richieq:  "One man who came into conversation a lot in the company I was in last night was the now notorious P'OR. The amount of people I heard saying he would have caught this, he would have caught that and Quinlivan wouldn't have got that goal if he was there, the same people who were looking for his head on a block last year were now baying for his return!!!! With thinking like that I just shook my head and realised y'know what we are where we are for a reason and it's all self inflicted. Lack of work on underage, disposing of some managers unfairly, employing some bad choices of managers, having this feeling that we should be up around the top table all the time, not embracing change in our club structures.........if supporters are looking for people to blame then, as I've said before, look to our clubs, look to our decision makers, look to those we send as county board reps, it's only in recent years that we have an administration approaching professionalism in both its approach and performance (after a serious lull period) what with infrastructural developments, financial prudence and improved position, and development of our underage structures. We have a long way to catch up lads but we will get there I'm sure, and something else I think is this, when you have a senior team that's trying (and they are trying of that there's no doubt) and when you try and build a bit of momentum I can't imagine it does very good when you hear one of your recently departed colleagues insinuate that your more or less wasting your time, that your going nowhere, that your life is being made a misery by putting your shoulder to the county wheel !!!!! The timing of that "interview" was cat and showed little respect to those who are sacrificing much for Meath football and I have no doubt that what was said has gotten into the heads of some of the players, they deserve better and the more I thought about it the more I think that the notorious PO'R could have timed his little outburst a bit better in my opinion"
Post of the year my friend. If I could put up a applauding gif I would. Well said, well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2018 21:11:25    2080234

We'll alot said in that post is very true and very right,, but ya can't really say po'r is wrong either if he has an opinion he is entitled to say it at anytime (a lot of retired player at club level have this opinion too) if he got in players heads well then they shouldn't be on the panel, if u agree wit paddy then walk away from it, its very hard for that current Meath bunch dey are doing brilliant to stay in div 2 and yet no one is happy with that,, thinking that after trips to Cavan and tipp that this is terrible an wondering what happened, nothing happened these are just two much better teams than us particularly when there at home and that's that, for me its quite simple at the moment if u don't know where u are u can't get to where your going and we certainly don't know ,,

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 26/02/2018 06:40:41    2080316

Ever since the defeat to Kildare we have adopted a 13 man behind the ball defensive tactic and since changing our style we are suffering. Other teams are going the opposite and being more offensive so tactics need to change or we are really going no where. Defensive football in division 2 will get us no where.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 26/02/2018 09:41:10    2080338

I think the cavan postponement really affected ye, tipp had a very good performance but disastrous result against roscommon, were out a week later and put in our worst display for years in clare but we had a weekend off then to gather ourselves, refresh and get back at it, meath came off a terrible result and performance in cavan from the sounds of things and were straight back on the road again the weekend after.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 26/02/2018 10:08:59    2080354

Replying To pretender:  "Ever since the defeat to Kildare we have adopted a 13 man behind the ball defensive tactic and since changing our style we are suffering. Other teams are going the opposite and being more offensive so tactics need to change or we are really going no where. Defensive football in division 2 will get us no where."
13 men behind the ball doing nothing by the looks of it......i wouldnt mind if the 13 men behind the ball resulted in low concession of scores but sure we've conceded 4- 27 in two games.....and still not scoring feck all.....very confusing what all these lads are actually doing....are they just running around in circles in the middle third or something

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 26/02/2018 10:57:53    2080384

Replying To southmeathgael:  "13 men behind the ball doing nothing by the looks of it......i wouldnt mind if the 13 men behind the ball resulted in low concession of scores but sure we've conceded 4- 27 in two games.....and still not scoring feck all.....very confusing what all these lads are actually doing....are they just running around in circles in the middle third or something"
It's strange though, because against Clare I seen a lot of good stuff in our game, but all that eroded away in the last two games. That was Clare's only defeat too

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 26/02/2018 11:08:26    2080396

Looking at the way things stand after the weekend, we will have to win 2 out of the last 3 games to stay up. lads are no doubt very flat after the last 2 weekends, I dont believe in kicking fellas when they are down, I dont think that anyone of them gave anything less than 100% but it is going to be a massive struggle. From being in Semple on Saturday night, I thought that Tipperary had much better footballers than we had, simple as that, they have put huge efforts on their underage structures over the past 10 to 15 years and we quite simply are paying for the lost decade in player development

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 26/02/2018 14:35:13    2080532

Replying To longroadback:  "Looking at the way things stand after the weekend, we will have to win 2 out of the last 3 games to stay up. lads are no doubt very flat after the last 2 weekends, I dont believe in kicking fellas when they are down, I dont think that anyone of them gave anything less than 100% but it is going to be a massive struggle. From being in Semple on Saturday night, I thought that Tipperary had much better footballers than we had, simple as that, they have put huge efforts on their underage structures over the past 10 to 15 years and we quite simply are paying for the lost decade in player development"
There is an element of truth there for sure

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 26/02/2018 15:57:03    2080588

The 3 games left are very winnable. Cork are blowing hot and cold at the moment, win away and lose at home. Down will be kicking themselves after last weekend and it looks like Louth are the whipping boys at the moment. I think Down play Cavan this weekend, so it'd be great if they could get a win there and our lads can somehow find it in themselves to beat Cork. I believe Louth have to travel to Tipp so wouldn't hold out much hope for them but everyone is dropping points in the most unexpected places, so here's hopin' the wee county can get the show on the road. Rossies have to go to Clare, which is anyone's guess how that'll turn out. Lots to play for in this division, promotion is a long shot and I don't believe we're near good enough, but so long as it's a possibility I'll keep hopin'.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 26/02/2018 16:04:31    2080595

Funny thing is that if we were to win our next two games (which are very winnable), we could still be in with a shot of promotion going in to the last weekend - teams above us will be taking points off each other over the next two rounds. Cavan will probably top the division. After that, any one of 6 teams could nab second.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 26/02/2018 16:06:26    2080601

Replying To pretender:  "Ever since the defeat to Kildare we have adopted a 13 man behind the ball defensive tactic and since changing our style we are suffering. Other teams are going the opposite and being more offensive so tactics need to change or we are really going no where. Defensive football in division 2 will get us no where."
Going by what happened at the weekend you'd never think we had 13 behind the ball. Carved open way too simply by a hugely dangerous trio of forwards. I'm not sure the lads know exactly what they are supposed to be doing.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 26/02/2018 16:41:11    2080626

Clare beating Cork in Piarc Ui Rinn last night relegates Louth.

Take what you want from other results but it just goes to show how truly awful we have been to get only a win and a draw from this league campaign.

We hammered Clare in Navan and were beaten well by a Cork team who lost to that same Clare team. It's beggars belief but clearly shows the toxic atmosphere in the Meath camp.

Yes we 'should' beat Louth, but given some of the dire performances we have put in I would not bet against us losing.

If we do somehow win our remaining games and finish on a maximum of 7 points and save ourselves from relegation the question marks remain moving into summer. Would this team beat Longford?

The league over the last number of years can no longer be taken as "only the league". It represents a very clear indication of where teams rank.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 18/03/2018 13:12:55    2085270

Replying To ClonardGael:  "Going by what happened at the weekend you'd never think we had 13 behind the ball. Carved open way too simply by a hugely dangerous trio of forwards. I'm not sure the lads know exactly what they are supposed to be doing."
Don't know what game you were at but Meath did not play 13 behind the ball v cork. They were open as hell at the back and had 4 and 5 up all the time.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 19/03/2018 22:06:14    2086041