Dublin v Monaghan

In the USFC Monaghan were averaging about 14 to 15 scores per game. Over all games about 1/2 of their scores came from play.

From play....

V Donegal 5 scores
V Armagh 5 scores
V Armagh (R) 12 scores incl a good 1-3 from McManus
V Tyrone 6 scores
V Kildare 9 scores after 90mins

.... so averaging about 7.5 scores from play per game with McManus contributing heavily.

The tactics are simple for Jim, stop McManus and don't foul anyone :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 05/08/2014 20:09:15    1632110

Christ Bluedub don't sit on the fence. Tell us how you really feel.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 05/08/2014 20:17:21    1632115

bluedubstar

1632098 legendzxix

Monaghan cost me by not winning in normal time. Dublin Region to march on to the semi-finals.

You my not so funny Kerry friend can you give it a rest with this Dublin region sh*t. It's condescending and sneery. Yis all had a melt down with cooper get insulted by mchugh, I find this insulting so give it a rest. It's all fun and games when Kerry is winning everything isn't it?

I wouldnt get worked up Bluesdubtar take it as a compliment. A Donegal friend was telling me how a lot of Kerry boys were all fun and games and great craic before Donegal game 2012 game all yerra yerra stuff. When game was over and they were beat it was a different story. Once they are winning everyone is great and lots of backslapping. When they lose ,well, its never their fault all other events have conspired to their loss ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/08/2014 20:18:51    1632116

Looks like us Dubs will have to be extra loud this Saturday! !! No better crowd yeowwwww!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2014 20:35:34    1632138

Ah posters lets all be friends these are great occasions let's enjoy it cause it will all be over before you know it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2014 20:38:57    1632143

Monaghan danger men

Monaghan scorers

Conor McManus...............1-21 (0-15 frees, 0-1 sideline)

Rory Beggan...................0-11 (0-9 frees, 0-2 '45s')

Paul Finlay.....................0-11 (0-7 frees)

Chris McGuinness.........2-5

Kieran Hughes..................0-5

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 05/08/2014 20:52:36    1632155

First 10 mins will be crucial. The way that Monaghan is set up it's very hard to play if you are behind. Granted we came back against Kildare, but Dublin are a different animal. If we have to come out of our blanket defence for long periods and play an attacking game, they are capable of killing a game in 5 mins.

It will also be interesting to watch how we defend Cluxtons kickouts. Against Donegal the last 2 years we completely retreat and almost allow the opposing team to bring it up the field and we engage them around our own 50 yard line. The space between out 45 and 65 lines will be where the battle is won or lost on Saturday.

All in all, I think we can really put it up to ye and are capable of winning. We will need a lot of pieces to fall into place and it a tough ask, still a punchers chance has caught good teams before so hears to hope!

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 05/08/2014 20:59:21    1632162

Joxer

The tactics are simple for Jim, stop McManus and don't foul anyone :)

Exactly what Donegal did.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/08/2014 21:36:06    1632190

heya guys it will be a close game and tight and see dublin will win, but does anyone know if its on rte 1 or rte 2 , , or is it on sky some of us cant afford the value of all sky sports 3,

niamhy94 (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 05/08/2014 21:39:33    1632193

Ye well muckross at least dublin will let us play ball and not put 3 to 4 men on one man you will have your hands full with armagh and i dont think the ref will be as giving with yis Saturday

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 05/08/2014 21:43:14    1632198

prideof85County: 
Monaghan
Ye well muckross at least dublin will let us play ball and not put 3 to 4 men on one man you will have your hands full with armagh and i dont think the ref will be as giving with yis Saturday
Jesus the man was just rightly saying what was done to defeat ye inthe Ulster final. Some people are just looking to be offended.
Ye play enough men back yerselves, and ye practically copied the Donegal template. Only problem is we have more class. No offense, just fact.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 05/08/2014 22:00:37    1632216

05/08/2014 22:00:37
fire_in_belly

----
Jayzus, two Ulster posters arguing over which team plays a heavier blanket defence and neither of these posters members of the Dublin media anti-Ulster conspiracy group. Let's hope Ulsterman doesn't read this. He'll be devastated.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 06/08/2014 08:11:35    1632218

prideof85
County: Monaghan

Good man pride, 4 rattles in one sentence, a record on HS.

You were one of the fellas warbling away here about what Monaghan were going to do to Donegal & now you are reduced to crying that "at least Dublin will let us play ball". You sound like a seven year old!!!

For the record, Dublin will not let ye play ball, they will press Monaghan high up the field & will give McManus as much attention as Donegal did. Monaghan's tak is to find players, Beggan apart, who can take the scoring pressure off you star player.

McManus is a great forward but he can't do it all on his own.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/08/2014 08:27:01    1632220

AthCliath

bluedubstar

1632098 legendzxix

Monaghan cost me by not winning in normal time. Dublin Region to march on to the semi-finals.

You my not so funny Kerry friend can you give it a rest with this Dublin region sh*t. It's condescending and sneery. Yis all had a melt down with cooper get insulted by mchugh, I find this insulting so give it a rest. It's all fun and games when Kerry is winning everything isn't it?

I wouldnt get worked up Bluesdubtar take it as a compliment. A Donegal friend was telling me how a lot of Kerry boys were all fun and games and great craic before Donegal game 2012 game all yerra yerra stuff. When game was over and they were beat it was a different story. Once they are winning everyone is great and lots of backslapping. When they lose ,well, its never their fault all other events have conspired to their loss ;)

This reference to the 'Dublin Regiob' is most definitely 'sneering' and from a poster who likes to play the honest broker here. Legend seems to be trying to make some kind of point but seems reluctant to explain it to us. Is he saying that the Dublin catchment area extends beyond her county boundaries?? If so, then Kerry qualifies sas a region too. I was driving through Abbeyfeale, which is in Limerick, yet the majority of the flags on view were Green and Gold.I believe that many border areas in Limerick are the same YOU drive through many areas in Cork that border Kerry and you will find lots of Kerry flags. If he is referring to the fact that some Dublin players live outside Dublin well that's easily countered by the fact that that is true of many county players. Remember back in the 70s and 80s when Micheal OMuirceartaigh had to run training sessions for 6-7 Kerry players who were based in Dublin?? So please legend, stop this rubbish. We are Dublin County and we are proud of it. Stop trying to imply that Dublin are enjoyimg some kind of socio-geographic advantage. I always thought Kerry men were the most gracious of sportspeople but that has changed since TYrone beat them in two All-Ireland finals and the Dubs defeated them in 2011 one 2013.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2010 - 06/08/2014 08:47:33    1632224

Home advantage to give Dublin the extra edge, plus Monaghans lack of big game experience to go against them. Would just love to be proven wrong but can only see a Dublin win, by 5 points.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/08/2014 09:39:49    1632240

hurlingdub

Give Dublin a "taste of the Ulster championship" :-)

Get over yourself. Ulster teams have beaten Dublin 5 times in 120 years of championship. Dublin have more All Irelands than all Ulster teams together.

Monaghan will be sent home with their tails between their legs.

'hurlingdub' I admit that Monaghan may very well lose the upcoming fixture but your dismissive attitude to the ulster championship is ridiculous to say the least. True the dubs have won sam more times than the entire province of Ulster but look at the more recent history of the football championship….Dublin have won 3 all Ireland titles in 25 years, the exact same amount as Tyrone. Tyrone are a much smaller county in terms of GAA clubs and have a significantly lower population, remember quite a few residents in Tyrone do not affiliate themselves with the GAA and thus take no part in it. Ulster have won sam more times than the any other province in the last 25 years. It is far and away the most competitive and strongest province in the all-Ireland series at the moment. As for the statement that the dubs have fallen to ulster teams five times in 120 years….. I suspected this was incorrect and I am right. The dubs have played ulster opposition eleven times in the last 25 years, winning a mere four times that equates to a success rate of approx. 36%......We all listened to this hype before in 2012 and when you played the first really tough opposition, Mayo, you took a deserved beating.
I for one will take up the kind odds from the bookies on our lads even if it is a bet with the heart. The fact is, Monaghan are not afraid of any team. The bookies wrote us off in ulster final in 2013 with similar odds and we all know what happened there. If the dubs manage to make it past us, and Donegal or Armagh they will have truly deserved another crack at sam but there is a lot of ball to play between now and Sept 21st. The truth is, Dublin haven't played a top side in the championship yet. I think we will be the first real test. If they run up a big score against us on Saturday then I will eat my words…..but I think I may go hungry ;)

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 06/08/2014 09:50:01    1632248

Dublin havn't played a top side in the championship yet!
------------------------------------------------------------------

In the last 3 years:

Kerry x 2
Cork
Mayo
Donegal
Tyrone

How much more 'top' do you want!!!

We may not have met a 'top team' this year lad, but I dont think we have done too bad over the last 3 years when we met them do you???

Think before you post lad!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/08/2014 10:05:09    1632256

06/08/2014 08:27:01
MuckrossHead

For the record, Dublin will not let ye play ball, they will press Monaghan high up the field & will give McManus as much attention as Donegal did. Monaghan's tak is to find players, Beggan apart, who can take the scoring pressure off you star player.

McManus is a great forward but he can't do it all on his own.

When McManus was double marked at the weekend and tied up from play McGuinness stepped up. If Kieran Hughes stayed in the full-forward line he can get a few points(though he's dropped deeper lately). Finlay is usually good for 2-3 pts(though I'm not sure if he'll start this one). If McCarron was given more of a run he certainly can contribute. Despite the talk of Beggan being the only one to take pressure off McManus, it was only really in the drawn Armagh game where this was true when he had an exceptional kicking performance, every other game it was like any other player kicking one or two points.

Obviously McManus is our star forward and will always be closely watched, but it's not true to say if he is closed out then we're goosed. It's a bit misleading to say that it was solely the marking job on McManus in the Ulster final that beat us, and also a bit unfair on the Donegal defence. It wasn't just a job on McManus, it was a shutdown on the whole attack including the runners from deep. Obviously we didn't help ourselves with the way we set up and how we kept kicking it long, but Donegal had us sussed. He was also closely watched in last years Ulster final and didn't score from play but others found space. Kildare double-marked him but others, found more space to score(even if that did take a bit of time. And McManus did still have a good game against Kildare even if he didn't score from play, set up alot as well. True, if he's marked well and none of our other forwards perform we could be in trouble, but it's not just as simple as saying mark him and we've no threat. I do think he'll get more space against Dublin than against Donegal, simply because Donegal have a much tighter defence.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 06/08/2014 10:11:00    1632260

Good point about what Monaghan will do regarding the kick outs. If they contest them then they will be playing high up the field and if Dublin win them you may forget about your blanket defence! If on the other hand Monaghan drop back they will be inviting Dublin onto them and would require a huge rate of turnovers to score anything like will be needed. It shall be intriguing.

People are comparing it to Donegal v Dublin in 2011. First of all they forget who won that game, and with 14 men.

Secondly, Dublin were themselves set up very defensively in 2011 and were not putting many forward even when Doengal had 14 behind the ball and were inviting Dublin onto them. Any team that does that now may as well not bother turning up.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/08/2014 10:29:35    1632269

05/08/2014 20:17:21
Cleatus

Christ Bluedub don't sit on the fence. Tell us how you really feel.

I thought I just did? Whats it to you anyway? This is between me and the Kerryman. And I'm still waiting on his reply.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 06/08/2014 10:35:31    1632271