Dublin v Monaghan

hurlingdub

1631566 I would never sneer at anyone Greengrass.

Apologies if it seemed that way. I have played hurling against Knockbridge from your own part and respect all counties.

I had a few on and was reacting to silly post about Dubs being "semi pro".

Sorry if I offended you.

Fair play to you hurlingdub. No problems. What had you playing against Knockbridge ? They are favourites to win the championship this year. They haven't won it since 2011.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 05/08/2014 15:49:10    1631914

Semi-pro is about right. Ads for this and that, complimentary Laguna to training, lifestyle coaches. Couple that with 100% championship home advantage, I dunno why the Dubs haven't got more all Ireland's.

Bring the dubs up to Clones is what I say.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1074 - 05/08/2014 16:06:30    1631933

Aye JP - that would be some craic!! My fear though is that we could get beat well as the dubs step it up a gear towards the end of the first half. Thought we looked leggy on Saturday vs Kildare. If we hang in for as long as possible then who knows!
Think you guys have a great chance against Donegal though think you really need Ciaran McKeever for this one!

I reckon Monaghan will be well in it at half time. It will be the 2nd half were the game will be won and lost, though there is no doubt you lads will be the stiffest competition they have played yet. You never know a bit compliancy in the Dublin camp could leave the door open. Though the Monaghan players will have to believe they can win. Ciaran McKeever would be great to have, as would Caolan Rafferty, though their replacements in Aidan Forker and Aaron Kernan aren't too bad either. Feck it sure I'll see in Croke Park on the 31st of August, you have to believe.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 05/08/2014 16:40:47    1631960

Monaghan traveled to Croke park to play Kerry with no one given them a chance and the ended up giving them a great game and if truth be told were worthy of winning it but the lack of composure cost them. But for a mistake by a young Darren Hughes Monaghan would have put out the current holders and future winners. This Monaghan team if they can keep themselves in it are different a lot of winners on it now. Winning an ulster final last year will stand to them massively. I wouldnt write them of just yet.

aonsceal (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 05/08/2014 16:55:58    1631974

mickmon42
County: Monaghan

Well lads one thing I will say about the game is the atmosphere should be brilliant all the teams playing bring big crowds and hopefully Monaghan will have a few fellow ulster men and women to give them a few cheers..

Mickmon, you can be guaranteed you will have 100% support from Donegal & Armagh folk who will stay on to support you.

We may have our differences in Ulster but when in Croke Park & against the blue clad wonders it will be all hands to the pumps!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/08/2014 16:56:26    1631975

Happy to hear that MuckrossHead, as an awful lot of Armagh supporters were cheering for Kildare on Saturday night, so I for one shall be cheering Donegal.

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 05/08/2014 17:03:16    1631981

in fairness last year Dublin didn't have to play any ulster teams, I think if Dublin win the all Ireland this year it will be much more hard earned with having to play monaghan and if they win then Armagh/Donegal, I think both will be great games and will really test dublins style of play especially with the ulster teams being stronger this year than they were last year. id love to see monaghan win but don't think it will happen, but Dublin v Donegal would be a great semi final.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 05/08/2014 17:34:41    1632006

McManus could tear the Dublin defence apart. I don't think the Dubs have a back to mark him. You'd put McManus in Connolly club final form or Bernard Brogan 2010 form and the Dubs certainly aren't getting that kind of test from any of their forwards in training.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 05/08/2014 17:53:07    1632016

Monaghan cost me by not winning in normal time. Dublin Region to march on to the semi-finals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9009 - 05/08/2014 18:00:23    1632022

By the sounds of it we will have 3 Counties sets of supporters in the one stadium cheering on Monaghan, Someone could make a packet outside selling cheap Monaghan jerseys to the Donegal and Armagh fans to change into after their game is over. To get ready to be in awe of the Champs as they run out.

The Dubs against the big bad nordies yeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaa.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/08/2014 18:05:38    1632029

AthCliath; we need all the help we can get.

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 05/08/2014 18:12:26    1632034

Greengrass, Knockbridge used to play in Boland Cup here. Not sure if they still do. Also used to play in Dublin tournaments. Had some handy hurlers.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/08/2014 18:28:16    1632040

Still remember Conor's goal in 2011, if we can come as close as that I will be happy but I am feeling confident about this game,
We have beat the All Ireland champions before so why not do it again,
Looking forward to the match ups and also Beggan vs Cluxton !

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 05/08/2014 18:37:06    1632044

supermon
County: Monaghan

Semi-pro is about right. Ads for this and that, complimentary Laguna to training, lifestyle coaches. Couple that with 100% championship home advantage, I dunno why the Dubs haven't got more all Ireland's.

Bring the dubs up to Clones is what I say.

-----
The game is still played with 15 on each side, a round ball and with teams changing around at half time is it? Just checking as you seem to have all of the other excuses covered. If you're good enough, you're good enough, end of. The Dubs would have no problem taking over Clones on a fine Sat afternoon. Maybe the MCB should get their a€@e in gear and look after their players more and get some decent sponsors on board. The fact that the Dubs have not got more AI titles is testament to the fact that these 'advantages' don't add up to diddly.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 05/08/2014 18:48:39    1632050

ormer_Poster

McManus could tear the Dublin defence apart. I don't think the Dubs have a back to mark him. You'd put McManus in Connolly club final form or Bernard Brogan 2010 form and the Dubs certainly aren't getting that kind of test from any of their forwards in training.

Monaghan have scored 1-9 from play in the championship there forwards are hardly setting the world on fire

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 05/08/2014 19:09:02    1632061

D5dub

ormer_Poster

Monaghan have scored 1-9 from play in the championship there forwards are hardly setting the world on fire

How is that so when we have scored 5 goals so far in the championship and another point is if the Monaghan forwards werent fouled so much the subsequent frees would have went over the bar from play.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 370 - 05/08/2014 19:19:22    1632068

How is that so when we have scored 5 goals so far in the championship and another point is if the Monaghan forwards werent fouled so much the subsequent frees would have went over the bar from play.

D5dub I have no idea where you got that from. Out of a total 5-69 scored altogether in our 5 games, 5-31 of that was from play. Look at the match reports if you don't believe me

SomeLad (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 05/08/2014 19:32:27    1632081

05/08/2014 19:09:02
D5dub

Where on earth did you come up with that number? We scored 2-7 from play in the Kildare match alone!

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 05/08/2014 19:35:49    1632084

We are doing well and have got right far for a team that have scored 1-9 from play -.-

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 05/08/2014 19:37:32    1632087

legendzxix

Monaghan cost me by not winning in normal time. Dublin Region to march on to the semi-finals.

You my not so funny Kerry friend can you give it a rest with this Dublin region sh*t. It's condescending and sneery. Yis all had a melt down with cooper get insulted by mchugh, I find this insulting so give it a rest. It's all fun and games when Kerry is winning everything isn't it?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 05/08/2014 19:59:31    1632098