Dublin v Monaghan

If you stick about 2 grand on a Dublin win you would get £100 or so back, I would recommend this

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 04/08/2014 17:52:24    1631368

There is going to be some hits on Saturday. Philly McMahon will have sore toes on Sunday :)

MonsFreshPrince (Monaghan) - Posts: 83 - 04/08/2014 18:18:11    1631382

Fabio

I don't remember man utd dominating the champions league

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/08/2014 18:34:33    1631394

I was responding to poster who claimed that Dublin players are getting paid.

I make no apologies for defending my county.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 04/08/2014 20:19:37    1631466

I have no problems with you defending your county. I do have a problem with your sneering.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 04/08/2014 20:56:35    1631511

Interesting that none f you mentioned Bernard Brogan or Diarmaid Connolly as players Dublin would miss most if they were unable to play. MDMcA seems to be one you would not like to see missing.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 04/08/2014 20:58:25    1631512

Simple Greengrass. We have free scoring forwards in abundance. Dynamic midfielders are harder to come by and we don't have much cover there at the moment. Bastick, McCarthy or Flynn would be candidates all would cause other problems though if starting in midfield.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 04/08/2014 21:16:33    1631536

I would never sneer at anyone Greengrass.

Apologies if it seemed that way. I have played hurling against Knockbridge from your own part and respect all counties.

I had a few on and was reacting to silly post about Dubs being "semi pro".

Sorry if I offended you.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 04/08/2014 21:47:56    1631566

Will the Dublin team even turn up on Saturday?? I heard there's an envelope being opened on the southside that they are attending.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 04/08/2014 21:48:47    1631567

hurlingdub

Ignorance deserves to be sneered at...

Fair play.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/08/2014 21:51:34    1631568

Not even going to rise to it Adler :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 04/08/2014 21:58:21    1631572

I'm gonna give my 2 cents.

Monaghan at 9-1 is bet if the year in my opinion. Yes the Dubs are favourites. But who have they bet that Monaghan couldn't beat??

When is the last time they played against a blanket?? 2011 and they should have lost if Donegal were a little cuter.

Reminds me of last year before Ulster Final, I'd say we were at similar odds.

Dubs make no mistake, Kildare game is no reflection of how good this Monaghan team are. A dirty day like that always suits the weaker team, on a dry day we would have been out of sight.

Also I'd say that psychologically Monaghan players would have had one eye on a Dublin game all along, this is the match up that they will relish more than any.

Not bravado or anything, yes Dubs are clear favourites, but it's not the foregone conclusion that everyone is making it out to be, and a Monaghan win would not surprise me in the slightest.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1074 - 05/08/2014 10:35:55    1631623

No disrespect to Monaghan but they have no chance of winning this. The reason is that the team must be completely physically wrecked after playing over 90 minutes in those conditions on Saturday night. they will need about 2 days to recover fully from that which puts the first proper training session out to Tuesday at least.

The match itself is on Saturday so that only gives them at most 2/3 nights on the trot to come up with a plan to beat the Dubs. This is not long enough to build solutions for playing a team the calibre of Dublin especially in Croke Park.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 05/08/2014 10:49:04    1631637

Don't post on here much these days. Too many wind up merchants who are more obsessed with insulting each other than discussing the game. For my two cents worth, I think we will beat Monaghan. I think it will be a close enough game until the last quarter when Dublin's stronger bench will be the main factor. The way to beat the blanket defence is to use pace , power and have players who can kick long range points. Added to the long range free skill of Stephen Cluxton and Dean Rock, Monaghan would be foolish to foul anywhere within their range. Although, Rory Beggan and Paul Finlay are equally as good for Monaghan. Dublin for me should win by six. The drive home for me, a considerable part of it through the drumlin county bearable!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 05/08/2014 10:54:45    1631639

Supermon, what sort of 'blanket defence' lets Kildare, who only score goals during solar eclipses!, so many chances? Dublin would have had you beaten up a stick, even in that weather.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/08/2014 10:57:25    1631640

Good game for Dublin, a trial run against the 'blanket defense'. People talk about the intensity needed in the blanked defense but if you have a team running at you hard all day this requires instensity as well.

Dublin's game to lose but think Galvin has the lads heads screwed on and game will not be taken lightly.

Dublin by 5 to 6 points.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/08/2014 11:06:24    1631648

supermon
County: Monaghan

I'm gonna give my 2 cents.

Monaghan at 9-1 is bet if the year in my opinion. Yes the Dubs are favourites. But who have they bet that Monaghan couldn't beat??

When is the last time they played against a blanket?? 2011 and they should have lost if Donegal were a little cuter.

Reminds me of last year before Ulster Final, I'd say we were at similar odds.

Dubs make no mistake, Kildare game is no reflection of how good this Monaghan team are. A dirty day like that always suits the weaker team, on a dry day we would have been out of sight.

Also I'd say that psychologically Monaghan players would have had one eye on a Dublin game all along, this is the match up that they will relish more than any.

Not bravado or anything, yes Dubs are clear favourites, but it's not the foregone conclusion that everyone is making it out to be, and a Monaghan win would not surprise me in the slightest.

Supermon, I'm not sure the 9/1 odds on you beating Dublin is bet of the year, but imo the bet of the year is Monaghan in the handicap, they plus 9 pts at even money, I expect yous will give Dublin there fill of it but just may come up a little short and thats why the 9pt head start looks really attractive to me...........

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 05/08/2014 11:12:09    1631655

I think Dublin will cover the handicap.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/08/2014 11:18:22    1631662

MaigheoAbu

No disrespect to Monaghan but they have no chance of winning this. The reason is that the team must be completely physically wrecked after playing over 90 minutes in those conditions on Saturday night. they will need about 2 days to recover fully from that which puts the first proper training session out to Tuesday at least.

The match itself is on Saturday so that only gives them at most 2/3 nights on the trot to come up with a plan to beat the Dubs. This is not long enough to build solutions for playing a team the calibre of Dublin especially in Croke Park.

Proper training sessions this stage of the year?? Wouldn't imagine any team dublin included would be doing intense proper training this week. This week was always going to be about recovery.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1074 - 05/08/2014 11:25:06    1631665

Listen lads, keep talking. You are only giving these Monaghan lads material to stick on the dressing room wall as they say.

Hell hath no fury like a Monaghan team scorned.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1074 - 05/08/2014 11:29:37    1631667