I don't believe there is ever such a thing as a soft provincial title in any province. There might be excellent teams that make looking winning their province easy, but to win any province you have to be a very good side. Last year, Monaghan were a very good side.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/08/2014 11:52:08
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 7679
1636146 Seanfinn
Last year was the easiest Ulster title any side has won for a long time.
There are rarely soft Ulster titles but they happen.
You keep saying that yous beat Tyrone and Armagh this year, that has nothing to do with your soft and easy Ulster title last year, because (I'm amazed I actually have to explain this to you!) it was a different year!
This year Monaghan didn't get a soft run and they didn't win the Ulster title. This year's would not have been a soft or easy title for them but they weren't good enough to win a tough Ulster title.
Attacking a posters county like yourself and Hardcore have resorted to rather than debating the point is poor form.
Monaghan 2013 were the poorest Ulster Champions in a long time imo.
Where did i attack Dublin? Point that one out, because i missed that too.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 13/08/2014 11:58:30
MesAmis Attacking a posters county like yourself and Hardcore have resorted to rather than debating the point is poor form.
Funny enough mesamis, it appears to be fair game when the shoe is on the other foot.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 12:03:16
seanfinn County: Monaghan Posts: 43
1635909 Hardcore….Fair play. Although, I think we are wasting our time trying to educate this person though. I can sort of see how coming from Dublin and winning a number of soft titles for the last few years gives them this distorted view
Above.
Agreement with Hardcore too. Read through his post, very little in it defending Monaghan just having a go at the big bad Dubs.
No need for it. This debate we're having is about Monaghan's easy and soft Ulster title last year, that (Again I'm surprised how that I must tell you this) has nothing to do with Dublin....at all yet the two of yous bring Dublin up rather that defending Monaghan's soft and easy title. Why?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 13/08/2014 12:07:11
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 11692
???
The point I'm making is about Monaghan, very hard to make the point without talking about, you know, Monaghan......good lad.
Bringing Dublin or Mayo or any other poster's county into a discussion about Monaghan is poor form and lazy.
Try and keep up.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 13/08/2014 12:09:50
So anyway Ulsterman...
Ulster footballers aye...
Pfffh
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2014 13:23:33
MesAmis....Selective reading by you again. I can't believe I have to explain your hypothesis back to you! If Monaghan won a soft title in 2013, so did Donegal in 2014. You have failed to produce a single coherent debate on that in several posts at this stage, which leaves me to conclude you just want to belittle our team and its success. Especially after this cynical and snide remark 'But you're forgetting that to these lads the Ulster Championship is the biggest and toughest in the whole wide world!' To think you have the impudence to accuse me of a lazy posting and poor form. As for me, I posted a 'fair play' to hardcore. Doesn't make me an attacker of Dublin. As you seem to require things spelled out to you….Fair play to hardcore for his good oul rant at your postings. In fact, didn't you say exactly that yourself? Maybe you forgot that post too? I didn't give a full endorsement of every single line item. You can read my thoughts on Dublin in my previous posts. That's where I stand on it. I will add that Dublin are a fine team, the best I have ever seen play at a live game in fact. We were running on empty last weekend. At our finest we would still be hard pressed to keep it a tight game for 70 mins. There is just too much Dublin can throw at other teams at the moment.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 13/08/2014 13:45:02
seanfinn County: Monaghan Posts: 44
1636319 MesAmis....Selective reading by you again. I can't believe I have to explain your hypothesis back to you! If Monaghan won a soft title in 2013, so did Donegal in 2014. You have failed to produce a single coherent debate on that in several posts at this stage, which leaves me to conclude you just want to belittle our team and its success. Especially after this cynical and snide remark 'But you're forgetting that to these lads the Ulster Championship is the biggest and toughest in the whole wide world!' To think you have the impudence to accuse me of a lazy posting and poor form.
As for me, I posted a 'fair play' to hardcore. Doesn't make me an attacker of Dublin. As you seem to require things spelled out to you….Fair play to hardcore for his good oul rant at your postings. In fact, didn't you say exactly that yourself? Maybe you forgot that post too? I didn't give a full endorsement of every single line item. You can read my thoughts on Dublin in my previous posts. That's where I stand on it. I will add that Dublin are a fine team, the best I have ever seen play at a live game in fact. We were running on empty last weekend. At our finest we would still be hard pressed to keep it a tight game for 70 mins. There is just too much Dublin can throw at other teams at the moment.
Poor lad.
Donegal have been, and are, the superior team in Ulster for the last 4 years bud.
I'm not trying to belittle Monaghan's achievement at all. You seem determined tobe offended by my benign enough observation.
Your basing your opinion that Monaghan's Ulster title was not soft on the ridiculous assertion that "there's nothing soft about Ulster titles" or some such guff. There was in 2013.
The stars aligned for Monaghan in 2013. It'll be a long time until that happens again for anyone Ulster that they'll have as easy a chance to win an Ulster title.
Monaghan did what they had to do and did it well but let's not pretend that it was the hardest won Ulster title ever.
It is a simple observation, I don't why it has gotten to you so much.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 13/08/2014 14:07:46
Mes
Because it meant a lot to them.
I agree with your observation
But the lad is leading with the heart rather than the head
That's probably why you're getting that response
Monaghan were poor in the AI series in 2013 and Donegal were diabolical
2013 wan NOT a vintage Ulster year. In fact it was easily the worst for many a year.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2014 14:17:43
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 7685
Poor lad.
Donegal have been, and are, the superior team in Ulster for the last 4 years bud.
I'm not trying to belittle Monaghan's achievement at all. You seem determined tobe offended by my benign enough observation.
Your basing your opinion that Monaghan's Ulster title was not soft on the ridiculous assertion that "there's nothing soft about Ulster titles" or some such guff. There was in 2013.
The stars aligned for Monaghan in 2013. It'll be a long time until that happens again for anyone Ulster that they'll have as easy a chance to win an Ulster title.
Monaghan did what they had to do and did it well but let's not pretend that it was the hardest won Ulster title ever.
It is a simple observation, I don't why it has gotten to you so much.
MesAmis that is typical keyboard warrior guff. Have you ever been involved in winning an Ulster title. Have you any idea how hard they are to win. Hardcore is right. There is nothing soft about winning an Ulster title. Your observation is that of an individual who has no appreciation of what he is speaking about.Come back to us when you have won a senior provincial title of any description.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 13/08/2014 14:22:25
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 7685
Monaghan 2013 title was soft?
Were you at any of the games? I was at all 3 Monaghan games in Ulster in 2013 and only the Antrim game could be described as in any way easy. Margin against Donegal was big because they were battered into submission.
I'm actually embarrassed by the standard of postings from most of my fellow county men. Guys with 1000s of posting but most of them are the just single line insults to other posters or vain boasting as if the success of Dublin reflects on them in some way other. How about some real insight or analysis?
rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 13/08/2014 14:33:34
You are priceless MesAmis, you really are. I never ONCE claimed we won the hardest ulster title nor the softest ulster title. Just the ulster title. Our achievement last year stands with every other previous winners on an equal footing, just like it does with Donegal's this year. Once again you refuse to respond on this year's title. You argument is based on us beating Cavan and Antrim to get to a final and ergo soft title. So when Donegal beat Derry and Antrim to get to a final it's not?? We had to play the reigning champions and defeated them with ease. This year vice versa. Sure, you could say Donegal were sluggish and hungover from the All Ireland but in that case Monaghan were sluggish and hungover from the ulster title before. Where is the ridiculous assertion? You don't respond on this because you know I am correct and your house of cards falls asunder then.
It was an ulster title like every other. Hotly contested from the start and hard won.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 13/08/2014 14:44:51
Jimbo , MesAmis have either of you ever been involved in winning an adult provincial title of any description ?
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 13/08/2014 14:56:28
This thread is about Dublin v Monaghan. Not about anything else. Stick to the topic at hand or your post will be deleted. By all means set up a new thread to discuss other topics but this is solely about the match from now on as it should have been throughout. Admin
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 13/08/2014 15:04:24
Cheers Jimbo
A simple enough observation.
Getting accused of being a keyboard warrior by Greengrass now too and I've embarrassed some Dublin poster apparently. Quite the scene!
Yeah I get the emotional response from the Monaghan lads but it is a simple enough observation that it was an easy enough Ulster title in comparison to other ones.
It meant a lot to them and I'm not belittling it in any way. Making it out to be tougher than it was is certainly belittling to the Ulster Championship as a whole though in my opinion. There have been some great Ulster Champions over the years but Monaghan 2013 wasn't one of them.
That fact shouldn't, and doesn't imo, take anything away from that Monaghan team. I find it sad that some Monaghan posters (as well as Greengrass et al) seem to think that it does. I would've thought the Monaghan players deserve better than that.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 13/08/2014 15:06:27
Family members have and did with considerable success I might add...
In fact... Ultimate success, buy I'll say no more
But personally no, spent most of my 20's in London studying/working
But I had a skill level in my blood and took advantage of that when I played
Genetics you see, big thing in sport...my own young lad has it in his veins
But sure... It'll be up to him if he wants to play
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2014 15:24:29
Very well put Mes.
Perfectly logical post
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2014 15:42:35
MesAmis You did belittle their achievements. If you can't see that then you need to look harder. Maybe if you had experience of winning provincial championships you might appreciate what goes in to winning them and there would be less of the keyboard warrior about you. Jimbo talk to your family. They'll set you straight quickly.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 13/08/2014 16:07:49
Greengrass County: Louth Posts: 3224
1636455 MesAmis You did belittle their achievements. If you can't see that then you need to look harder. Maybe if you had experience of winning provincial championships you might appreciate what goes in to winning them and there would be less of the keyboard warrior about you. Jimbo talk to your family. They'll set you straight quickly.
Cop on man. Either debate my point or don't. Do not go round calling me a keyboard warrior and not addressing the point. You might wanna look closer to home for your keyboard warrior taunts buddy.
You know nothing about me. Can I presume from your posts that you've also won provincial honours? I mean you seem to think that one who doesn't isn't qualified to comment but you seem to think your qualified. Shall we compare our respected careers in a who can pee the highest competition too before we decide who can comment and who can not?
I never belittled Monaghan's achievement, if you think I did then that's your issue. I made an observation.
I'm not one who goes in for patronising a team or county and I certainly won't do it for Monaghan.
They are a fine team but I won't patronise them.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 13/08/2014 16:50:11
Again please stick to the topic at hand. If you wish to discuss anything else feel free to set up a new thread. If posters continue to go off topic their messages will be deleted and the thread will be locked. Admin.
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 13/08/2014 16:53:12