clondalkindub County: Dublin
Steven Cluxton is easily the greatest keeper of all time no one comes close, end of.
Em no. . .no he definitely isn't!
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5305 - 11/08/2014 21:44:40
seanfinn County: Monaghan Posts: 32
1635329 So MesAmis, what fell so well for monaghan to win the second tier, get to another ulster final and lose by a mere three points while defeating one of the other QF contenders and Tyrone???
I said Monaghan's Ulster title in 2013 was soft.
This year they would have had to put in 2 good performances, something they were incapable of doing. Last year it fell for them to only need to beat one good team not two.
Westmeath got promoted the year previous to Monaghan so I don't see what getting out of Div 2 has to do in defence of your soft Ulster title.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 11/08/2014 21:51:07
MesAmis. There is NEVER a soft title in Ulster. Remove the current Dublin team from leinster and there would be no soft title there either. The gap between the top and bottom in Ulster is much smaller than anywhere else. Last year we beat Cavan who resultantly ended up in the all-Ireland quarter final. Ok, Antrim would be seen as a weak footballing county but then we defeated Donegal (the reigning Ulster and All Ireland champions). This year we beat Tyrone (they may not have been at their best, but hardly soft), Armagh (who probably should have beaten Donegal only for being a little naïve at the end of their QF) and we lost to Donegal (still in the championship) by three points.
As for Westmeath, there are clearly problems there at the minute. They lost every single league game and didn't win a championship game this year….something my own county have never done in my living memory. We beat every team who should be beating (with the possible exception of Donegal) without having our full panel or playing as well as we can.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 12/08/2014 10:15:44
Seanfinn
There's RARELY a soft title in Ulster. There was last year though. Monaghan beat Cavan and Donegal who's quarter finals were both over by half time.
I doubt we'll see as easy an Ulster title as that for a long time. Monaghan were on the easy side of the draw and then produced their best display of the year to beat a Donegal side who most agree weren't anywhere near their best.
When was the last time the Ulster Champions were as far off the All-Ireland pace then last year?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 12/08/2014 10:30:48
Er em yes he is no one comes close, end of.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/08/2014 10:39:02
cavanman47.....
Who is the best keeper?
Because Cluxton, when Dublin werent great, was widely regarded by most to be the top guy in nets.
No goalkeeper has ever contributed more to a team than Cluxton. Hence hes the best of all time! And hes been around a while too ;-)
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 12/08/2014 10:46:02
MesAmis, probably this year again. Unless (and i hope they do) Donegal can overturn the dubs or even run them close. Do you think they will?
If what most people think will happens does indeed transpire, do Donegal have a soft ulster title too?
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 12/08/2014 10:48:43
Donegal havee just won their 3rd Ulster title in 4 years. They are genuine contenders for the All-Ireland, unlike Monaghan last year, they havent't fallen at the first hurdle to a fellow Ulster side after winning their title.
My point has been that Monaghan were over rated coming into the Dublin game, I said as much beforehand, because they had won an Ulster title. Ususally any side that has won an Ulster title the previous year would be a match for the Dublin. I didn't believe that Monaghan were to be a match for the Dubs because I felt that their Ulster success was unusually soft, and that they were nowhere near as good as previous winners.
Donegal will be much better against Dublin then Monaghan were of that I have no doubt. They have a right good chance against Dublin, imo Monaghan had about the same chance as the likes of Laois, Wexford, Meath and Westmeath have had in the last couple of years against us.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 12/08/2014 11:48:49
MesAmis... if Donegal lose by 5+ points when they are fresh and rested against Dublin are they soft Ulster champions too? Last year, and you could be the only one to disagree, we were unlucky v Tyrone and we lacked a little bit of croke park bravado and experience. Playing in clones is not the same as croke park (as the dubs will find out soon). We don't have that experience that you guys have, after its home turf. we have got more after this season than we had in the last few seasons. We will play against tougher teams next year and if we crash and burn ala Westmeath…. Then I will concede to your view on this. Imo, we are a bit better than the remaining teams in leinster currently. The results say that. I don't doubt this could change in the future. If those teams were at our level now, they would have contested the last couple of QF's. They haven't.
I said before we overachieve. One of the smallest counties and yet we have just one 2 league titles and a provincial final. We have been runners up to the best every other time i.e., Tyrone of a few ago and Donegal. The fact is, at the moment Dublin are out in front of everyone. They need to misfire to give Mayo or maybe Kerry a shout. Donegal are a bit off those teams, not much, but a bit.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 12/08/2014 13:40:43
Seanfinn
I don't think anyone would consider Donegal as soft Ulster Champions, They've won 3 outta the last 4 as well as an All-Ireland title.
Monaghan weren't good enough to win an Ulster title this year because things didn't fall as easily for them as it did last year. I thought this last year and from what I've seen of Monaghan this year has only reinforced that opinion.
A decent but limited side who took advantage of the fortunate situation they found themselves in last season.
There's no shame in that. I don't see why it is irking you so much?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 12/08/2014 14:36:40
MesAmis......Your ignorance of us is disgusting and im sick reading your lazy post's about soft Ulster Titles.
Last year we beat Antrim who are poor,then we beat a middle of the road Cavan team,and when Monaghan meet Cavan its far from soft as this derby is just as big as Dublin Meath,and it might even be more hate filled if im honest.
Then as you say we beat a tired Donegal team by 6 points,truth be told should of been 10 points.
Got robbed in Croke Park by a rugby tackle,a ref who gave every 50/50 to Tyrone and our own panic button in front of goal........
This year we have done the same as Donegal did last year,Put all into beating Tyrone,give Armagh a silly draw which cost us the Ulster title.Won the replay but looked heavy legged against Donegal who on the day were the better team,but only won by 3 points.
Played and beat Kildare after extra time which half killed us,and then had to play Dublin 7 days later on an empty tank which gave us no chance of giving you's a game.
Donegal done much the same last year,lost to us beat Laois then got hammered by Mayo.........there legs were gone,tough games against Tyrone,Down,Monaghan,Laois,and Mayo........
All this happens when Dublin can play in Croke Park every couple of weeks and beat teams,knowing that most teams are bet before the come up there......................soft or what.
Like alot of people id love to see you's out of your comfort zone...........,drew in the first round in May, against Armagh in the Athletic Grounds or,Donegal in Ballybofey,or Tyrone in Omagh and even Monaghan in St Tiernachs Park Clones.
To hear you talk you would swear you's dominate gealic football when you's dont...1995 to 2011 and many a soft Ulster team won it between that time!
So stop insulting my County about winning soft titles,when your own gets to play every game at home,has the biggest sponsorship,biggest fan base and can train like pro's 3 times a day while our team players have to go to their work.
hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 12/08/2014 14:38:45
That's all great an all Hardcore but I'm the one coming out this from an unbiased viewpoint.
I do not see what is lazy or ignorant about my opinion.
Your lazy rant about the Dubs is enjoyable, we're not discussing Dublin's superiorty in Leinster here, we're discussing whether or not Monaghan deserved people tipping them to give the big bad Dubs a rattle just because they'd won an easy Ulster title the previous year.
You slag off other counties for coming up to Croker and being bet before they game, doyou think Monaghan came down to Croker like that then so?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 12/08/2014 15:26:53
Hardcore
You accuse me of being ignorant after that rant of a post. Priceless man.
The Big bad Dublin players don't even have to go to work like their poor culchie cousins according to you!! Ha!
I also have no idea what Dublin between 96 and 10 have to do with Monaghan winning a soft Ulster title.......actually Dublin, you could say, has nothing really to do with Monaghan's easy Ulster title!
Great rant though bud. Top marks!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 12/08/2014 15:36:46
Hardcore….Fair play. Although, I think we are wasting our time trying to educate this person though. I can sort of see how coming from Dublin and winning a number of soft titles for the last few years gives them this distorted view. Most people understand, that there is NO SOFT ANGLO CELT WIN. Every year the odds for winning our province are very close for at least 4 teams, some times as many 6 or 7. At the moment only Fermanagh and Antrim are total rank outsiders for it. This just doesn't happen anywhere else. He/She is choosing to ignore the gaping holes in their conclusion of last year being soft. If Dublin beat Donegal with fair ease, the point is proven that there was nothing soft about it. Simply put Dublin are just so far ahead of the rest at this moment owing to all those things you list (the sponsorship, having CP as a de facto home ground, pick of talent, ability to train more frequently). We are one of the top eight sides in the country, at the lower end of the top eight but top eight. Even MesAmis can't dispute that. MesAmis fails to respond on the fact Mons beat (this year) a good Tyrone and Armagh team before getting to the final before losing to Donegal by a mere 3 points. It could have been more but swings and roundabouts, we should have beaten them by more last year. Our performances this year which were subpar at times still show we weren't a flash in the pan. We had been knocking at this door for a long while under Banty (forget EMcE) and now again Malachy. MesAmis also ignores the question on whether this year's title for Donegal is soft? (It isn't, but by his logic it is) They faced Derry who lost to Longford so I guess they aren't any use, Antrim who MesAmis doesn't rate, and Monaghan….well we know what the thoughts are there. I would love to see the other provinces as competitive as our own. Nobody with an ounce of knowledge of football or respect for money would bet heavily on a clear winner with a fixture involving any of the following: Armagh, Cavan, Derry, Donegal, Down, Monaghan, Tyrone. Ulster is always competitive and never soft.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 12/08/2014 19:04:10
First off I'm delighted Hughes wasn't suspended for the Dublin game and cause we won it doesn't sound like sour grapes and I hate seeing players get suspended for nothing but I can't believe he didn't get suspended, twice he threw the ball at Kelly's head then pulled his hair very hard like what the hell more do you have to do to get a ban? Galvin with finger in Cadogan's mouth suspension Farrell pushes Kildare player barely suspension and loads more harmless incidents punished yet the Gaa turn a blind eye to Hughes I couldn't understand it.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/08/2014 20:53:06
seanfinn County: Monaghan Posts: 41
us dubs are well educated in the game,we were in your position in 09 its how you bounce back from this defeat that will define you as a team,you have a fine squad of players maybe need a couple of players to freshen it up,but im sure we will hear more about monaghan in the future
D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 12/08/2014 21:39:42
SeanFinn and Hardcore.....
Once you start talking about Dublin and "defacto Home Grounds", you lose people.
MesAmis said Monaghan won Ulster, a soft Ulster title. But analyse last year, Tyrone were badly in need of refreshment, Armagh starting a rebuild, Derry and down in limbo, Cavan improving......Donegal hungover with an injury list as long as my arm.
Monaghan ended their anglo-celt drought but you'd have to admit, if they hadn't they'd have blown their best chance of an Ulster title in years! I wont use "soft", but they had a good hand dealt to them.
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 13/08/2014 10:08:57
Seanfinn
Last year was the easiest Ulster title any side has won for a long time.
There are rarely soft Ulster titles but they happen.
You keep saying that yous beat Tyrone and Armagh this year, that has nothing to do with your soft and easy Ulster title last year, because (I'm amazed I actually have to explain this to you!) it was a different year!
This year Monaghan didn't get a soft run and they didn't win the Ulster title. This year's would not have been a soft or easy title for them but they weren't good enough to win a tough Ulster title.
Attacking a posters county like yourself and Hardcore have resorted to rather than debating the point is poor form.
Monaghan 2013 were the poorest Ulster Champions in a long time imo.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 13/08/2014 11:25:17
Fair play JayP! Good post.
But you're forgetting that to these lads the Ulster Championship is the biggest and toughest in the whole wide world!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 13/08/2014 11:28:55
JayP and D5dub….I on the most part agree with your comments. I (and anyone else from ulster, not just Monaghan) would naturally take exception to the term 'soft' used for our 2013 success. It's more accurate to say 'they had a good hand dealt to them' but you still have to play it and win it. We all know in Ulster nothing comes easy. In 2008, we were one of the fancied teams to capture the anglo celt after our QF exploits in 2007 v Kerry. We lost our first game to a very good Fermanagh side who went on to contest the final and brought that excellent Armagh team of the last decade to a replay. It's as I said to MesAmis, by that 'logic' the Donegal title is soft too (Win against Derry, Antrim and then a 'hungover' Monaghan…. but we all know it's not. Ulster is very competitive with lots of good teams very close to each other. More so than anywhere else at the minute. Realistically, you look at other championships and you could bet the house on Dublin, bet heavily on Mayo and then take your chances on Kerry or Cork. Nobody at the start of any ulster campaign does that even when Donegal had won 2 titles in the last 3 years …..unless they are crazy. Things wax and wane and hopefully Roscommon, Galway, Meath, Kildare, Laois et al will come back to the fore and be thought of as a serious contender for their respective provincials in the near future. Galway and Roscommon are definitely closing the gap.
The CP as your home ground is a fact of life, there is nothing we can do about it. It makes fiscal sense. You are the biggest team and the GAA need the money. That money does filter down to help clubs and counties everywhere but there is no substitute for playing in the big stadium in front of 50K+ crowds. It's just one of those factors contributing to the continued success, it's not enough on its own (obviously) but every little helps. You see it at club level and even other sports…..the nerves can get the better of you. We hadn't won a game since 1930 at HQ, doesn't matter what people say that is a burden.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 13/08/2014 11:38:34