The Ulster Champions are almost always genuine All-Ireland contenders.
Last year was the first year I can remember in a long time that the Ulster Champions were not All-Ireland contenders coming into the quarter-finals.
They needed one performance of note to win the Ulster title. It's a long time since I can remember a team needing only one big performance to win an Ulster title, and I think it'll be a long time again until things fall so well for a team in Ulster.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 11/08/2014 19:29:32
former poster and jack goff are becoming very tiresome with this anti dublin attiudes man get over it will ye as saturday proved meath arent as bad as people were making out after that game as dublin did the same to monaghan and armagh almost made an all ireland semi final
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2014 19:33:25
See comment re team of the week:
Some of these selections are ridiculous. Cluxton had nothing to do on Saturday. To say he "was his usual reliable self with his kickouts" is rubbish. He barely hit a single kick out long . They were all short kick outs bar two or three . Any of the other three keepers on view were more deserving of selection as they had more to do than Cluxton as they had far more to do . Beggan made one brilliant save and hit his kick outs well. Dublin were brilliant under his kickouts in the first half. He adjusted and Monaghan were better under them in the second half. To pick Cluxton is just lazy journalism . That is nothing against Cluxton . He just had nothing to do.
Greengrass, Louth on 11/08/2014 at 18:11
Spot on and typical of lazy pundits. Problem is, people really have bought into this opinion of Cluxton. He's average at best.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5305 - 11/08/2014 19:42:16
Former_Poster County: Meath Posts: 289
1635202 Brogan made a fisting action with his last hand but he clearly propels the ball forward with his static hand (not his fisting hand). That's a throw.
I don't want to take away from what others have clearly said is a great piece of quick thinking but it's definitely a throw. There is no definite underhand striking action.
I also made the point on the Donegal/Armagh thread about Michael Murphy throwing the ball several times in that game with no free or no mention of it from the commentators. I was glad to see another poster Brolly from Monaghan also picked up on this.
So my gripe here is not with Brogan who Jimbodub says is a truly great player and I agree. My gripe is with the rules and how they are interpreted and enforced.
------ Really? Now read back your original post and tell us that the tone of it sounds like you are making a point about rules being poorly enforced. Of all of the incidents in the game and you pick out this one minor event which would have to be viewed several times, bearing in mind the speed that it unfolded, to pick up on the 'throw' yet you pick it out as though it was a game changer.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 11/08/2014 19:45:20
Is former poster really going on about wether Brogan threw the ball or not? Jaysus give me a break , they don't make Meath men like they use to.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2014 19:47:06
RTE giving Philly McMAHON man of the match what a joke. only played 50 odd minutes. Dubs defenders very little to do really, Dubs scored 2 22 surely a forward get it.
rashersuper (Wexford) - Posts: 18 - 11/08/2014 20:12:49
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 5263
1635257 Is former poster really going on about wether Brogan threw the ball or not? Jaysus give me a break , they don't make Meath men like they use to.
---- Yes and apparently he's pointing out this 'incident' because he's worried about refereeing inconsistencies. I'm sure there were twenty plus more obvious ones that impacted the game more but why point these out when you can have a crack at the Jacks' finest.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 11/08/2014 20:15:49
Congrats to Dublin, a fantastic performance by a great team. Disappointed we could not get closer, but Dublin pure class all over. Great banter before & after the game with Dubs fans. Dublin fans have a great team to be proud off....equally their team have great fans, they can be proud off.
As for Monaghan, even though well beaten, still proud of my team & their achievement...... we wont go away you know!
Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 444 - 11/08/2014 20:18:14
cavanman47 County: Cavan Posts: 942
Spot on and typical of lazy pundits. Problem is, people really have bought into this opinion of Cluxton. He's average at best.
So who gets it?
Rory Beggan who's kick outs were very poor and put Monaghan under pressure time and time again?
Paul Durcan, a great keeper but a poor game Saturday with a number of erratic kick outs and an own goal to his name?
Armagh keeper (name escapes me) who was badly beaten at his near post?
Get a grip and stop your gubbins. Even if Cluxton was average (as you say), average was good enough this weekend to be the best keeper on show seeing as the other three had poor games.
Laughable posts
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 11/08/2014 20:18:15
Cavanman47 .....
"Cluxton is average at best"
Okey Doke, that's all folks!
Probably the most stupid comment I have ever read on these boards!!!!
That's an absolute classic, are you on the bleach lad!?
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 11/08/2014 20:20:07
Sorry all but you Dubs are getting paranoid. I'm sure as Joxer says there are more newsworthy refereeing moments over the weekend. This one just stood out for me as in the past I have noticed players throwing the ball plus I personally felt the praise for Brogan was excessive when it's obvious it's a throw. Again I'll re-iterate just for the more sensitive Dublin poster, Brogan is a great player. Anyway we'll move on if nobody wants to discuss the issue fair enough.. Hill16 I would say to you it's also tiresome the siege mentality going on with some posters here.
Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 11/08/2014 20:29:53
Ahh Mes..
Great stuff
That was explosion ignoringly good
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/08/2014 20:31:51
Jimbo
If they keep setting me up.......
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 11/08/2014 20:43:51
Ha, I know man...
We can always count on Mes!
You don't suffer fools...
Good man.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/08/2014 20:51:05
Cluxton is average hahahaha ah admin come on you can't let posts like that get through? Steven Cluxton is easily the greatest keeper of all time no one comes close, end of.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/08/2014 21:03:28
MesAmis
I was backing up someone else's post, but since you asked, I agree with his opinion that Beggan deserved it. Made a great save from Connolly and adjusted his kick-outs when Monaghan started to lose out at midfield.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5305 - 11/08/2014 21:09:50
Fair play to the Dubs supporters, who brought Palestinian flags to the game on Saturday, we may not be united under the same county, but we are definitely united in our support of the people of Gaza. Respect.
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 11/08/2014 21:16:40
rashersuper County: Wexford Posts: 5
1635266 RTE giving Philly McMAHON man of the match what a joke. only played 50 odd minutes. Dubs defenders very little to do really, Dubs scored 2 22 surely a forward get it.
so much wrong with that post where to start well rte didnt have a man of the match it was sky sports and where you in croker as the tv cameras dont catch half of the action in a football match take the first game you had to be there to see how defensive it was both sides had no players in opposing half for long spells the cameras dont pick this stuff up just like philly mcmahons imput it was clear he was doing two jobs a play maker and a winner of the breaking ball he was defo best player on the pitch and he went off because he picked up a yellow card so was logical guy to take off when the match was won
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2014 21:21:20
So MesAmis, what fell so well for monaghan to win the second tier, get to another ulster final and lose by a mere three points while defeating one of the other QF contenders and Tyrone???
I actually agree on the Cluxton issue I think he is and has been the standard for quite some time. Beggan has similiar traits and I would think aspires to that. Paul Durcan is a fine keeper too although a different style.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 11/08/2014 21:25:51
cavanman47 County: Cavan Posts: 943
I was backing up someone else's post, but since you asked, I agree with his opinion that Beggan deserved it. Made a great save from Connolly and adjusted his kick-outs when Monaghan started to lose out at midfield.
Ha! Brilliant.
I lost count of the amount of lofted kick outs to a Monaghan player making a run. Because of the lofted nature of the kickouts the Monaghan players were constanly caught underneath the ball.
He didn't have his best game ever in fairness to the lad but yeah he's not Cluxton so I can see how you'd ignore that.........
Even if you don't think Cluxton is any use it makes a mockery of your posts if you'd have any of the three competing keepers aead of him this weekend seeing as all three of them made fairly major mistakes. Cluxton didn't have much to do but he didn't ake any major mistakes unlike Beggan, Durcan and the Armagh keeper.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 11/08/2014 21:30:56