The Sunday Game coverage 2013

Realdub - I like Ciaran I think he is fair, I got a laugh when he mentioned Morgans showboating.
He must not remember walking arm in arm down to the hill!

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/05/2013 17:25:42    1393801

how is walking arm in arm down to the hill BEFORE the match has begun showboating?
the tyrone keeper did his act after scoring a point for me was the worst thing he could have done as he heaped the pressure on himself.
as for whelan in fairness he makes his points clear and backs it up with footage to prove,sure didnt he even have joe brolly learning from him,know that takes some doing haha.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/05/2013 18:09:07    1393855

"Louth Gael
County: Louth

1393763 Three minutes match report on the Louth Laois games. Tg4 gave us ten minutes with team sheets, a match commentator and post match interview and that was for a second division league game. "

GAA Beo last night, the hour long highlights programme, didn't show the London-Sligo, Wicklow-Longford or Laois-Louth games at all. They did show Monaghan minors hammering Antrim minors though.

And also not a single puck of a ball in the Christy Ring or Nicky Rackard games by the way shown on either programme. How weaker counties are meant to promote hurling when they are never televised, I don't know.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 28/05/2013 19:14:44    1393902

Hill it might of been great for the boys on the hill but most Dublin gaa people thought it was nonsense.
The behavior of that rubish and pointing at scoreboards etc was finished when Gilroy took over and for good reason.
It took away from the football and did not benefit the team.
No suprise when all that ended more people appreciated the brand of football and you won Sam.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/05/2013 21:15:14    1394016

Heavens above do some of ye Dubs have to refute EVERYTHING that people say about Dublin.

Do you seriously think that was not show-boating by Whelan et al? Honestly?

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 28/05/2013 21:42:25    1394039

westkerry

Hill it might of been great for the boys on the hill but most Dublin gaa people thought it was nonsense.
The behavior of that rubish and pointing at scoreboards etc was finished when Gilroy took over and for good reason.
It took away from the football and did not benefit the team.
No suprise when all that ended more people appreciated the brand of football and you won Sam.

the boys on the hill thats a very lazy remark.
i go to the hill all the time and i eat sleep and drink dublin gaa alot more then anybody who sits in the stand so its a lazy remark to make.how was that rubbish it was just like davy fitzgerald used to give rousing speaches or music from braveheart to get his lads pumped up,i didnt here too many slate him.it did benifit the team it lifted them and helped focus the team.
as for your pointing at the scoreboard you obviously have another lazy remark as alan brogan was being hit off the ball and he turned around instead of hitting the guy back and pointed to scoreboard saying il win the match on the scoreboard thats the right thing to do by anybodys standards.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/05/2013 21:59:20    1394060

Hill you'll be in Oz soon if you keep digging.

So you are comparing what Davy Fitzgerald does with his team on a bus or dressing room with what the Dublin team do in the full glare of the public? I'm actually having a good oul giggle at that.

It WAS showboating and no amount of attempting to justify it with 'excuses' will change that.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 29/05/2013 08:27:36    1394070

sedico

Hill you'll be in Oz soon if you keep digging.

So you are comparing what Davy Fitzgerald does with his team on a bus or dressing room with what the Dublin team do in the full glare of the public? I'm actually having a good oul giggle at that.

It WAS showboating and no amount of attempting to justify it with 'excuses' will change that.

if its showboating what are they showboating about please tell me?
it was a thing to get the crowd in full voice i dont see how thats showboating?
yes davy fitz used his methods to get his team motivated and pillar used the crowd to get his team motivated.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/05/2013 11:55:20    1394221

hill16no1man, it is disrespectful to the opposition to carry on like that. Can you not see that?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/05/2013 12:01:56    1394226

Why is this thread turning into a debate about Dublin. It's meant to be about the Sunday Game coverage.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 29/05/2013 12:08:04    1394232

I have no problem at all with a bit of showboating, it adds colour to the game & I enjoyed Morgan last Sunday. He is a character & the game can do with as many of the as it can get.

The only problem is that if you engage in it you had better carry through performance wise because if you don't you are going to get flak & deservedly so.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 29/05/2013 12:13:52    1394239

hill16no1man, it is disrespectful to the opposition to carry on like that. Can you not see that?

how is the dublin team walking up to the dublin supporters to get them in full voice disrespectful to the opposition?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/05/2013 12:27:37    1394252

This topic is about The Sunday Game. From now anything off topic will not be posted.

Thanks, Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 29/05/2013 12:58:49    1394282

Sunday Game is painful, an pold boys club with a few poster newbies trying to cash in. I gave up on it a long time ago. There is no research on any teams outside the top few. They obviously dont have the budget to cover the exra games outside of the live ones.
So little coverage of the 2 Leinster games last week end, and these would have been expected to be 2 competitive games also.

Personally rather going to club games, or the odd county match and listening on the radio to the updates from around the grounds. This business of sitting up late on a sunday night to watch the live games of the weekend rehashed is ridiculous.

On an aside, I see Gizzy Lyng was the sideline analyst for the football game between Cavan & Armagh for Newstalk radio, unreal?? Lads plucked out of nowhere. Parkinson can aggravate by times, but he is a character and easy to listen to.

In fairness to the Sunday Game , there is a saturation of sport on telly, and its harder than ever to compete. But the mundane stuff that is trotted out is crazy and then you have the bombshell of O'Hara the other night. It was funny if it wasnt so bizarre. Sligo have done as much in last 3 years and suffer a shock defeat, (with a share of hardluck) and this guy goes to town on the manager without being challenged? Of course the fact that Des's notes on Sligo probably consisted of "Sligo, also known as Yeats county, and this guy..? O'Hara used to play for them", were of no help, hence the amusing look of bemusement!!

Hopefully (Offaly) - Posts: 143 - 29/05/2013 13:05:50    1394285

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

realdub

Spalline = embarrassing

O'Rourke = outdated and cliched

O'Hara = so far so bad

Brolly = intelligent, entertaining, irritating and in love with Jim McGuinness

Whelan = not being biased but by far the best pundit on that rubbish show!

You're being very biased, Whelan doesn't offer a whole pile, just acts like a giddy school kid. Also who's Spalline?

Well spotted, you truly are a cute_kerry_hoor, this Spalline I speak of is actually Pat Spillane and I would argue that his comments are far more infantile than Ciaran Whelan's any day : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 29/05/2013 13:49:00    1394354

Westkerry, I agree with you, I never liked the 'Pillar' way, knew we'd win nothing with that set-up! Those were the days of the celtic tiger and hence the full houses at HQ, he tried to feed off that by creating a strong connection with the fans but it just covered up the fact that Caffrey was inept tactically and made some horrendous schoolboy errors, including the showboating!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 29/05/2013 14:16:51    1394377

I know this is slightly off topic but I watched Championship Matters last night and it was just woeful. It reminded me of a sketch that Barry Murphy might do starring Smarty Morrissey. In the programme listings it describes it as "a lively mix of opinions, analysis and argument". Last night's programme didn't, in my opinion, meet any of these criteria. It should be titled "Championship Doesn't Matter to RTE". When will the heads in RTE cop on that television is a visual medium and accordingly show video and not stick 4 talking heads in front of a camera and think that that constitutes a television programme?

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 31/05/2013 09:52:07    1395613

I would know if there are other tv shows about GAA (except the one TG4 that i already know)

pytheas (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 31/05/2013 09:57:51    1395618

Have to agree with onthewhiteside about championship matters.While the show itself was ok,I found the bit with Damien Lawlor cringeworthy.It was almost embarrassing watching it.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 31/05/2013 10:01:09    1395622

realdub

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

realdub

Spalline = embarrassing

O'Rourke = outdated and cliched

O'Hara = so far so bad

Brolly = intelligent, entertaining, irritating and in love with Jim McGuinness

Whelan = not being biased but by far the best pundit on that rubbish show!

You're being very biased, Whelan doesn't offer a whole pile, just acts like a giddy school kid. Also who's Spalline?

Well spotted, you truly are a cute_kerry_hoor, this Spalline I speak of is actually Pat Spillane and I would argue that his comments are far more infantile than Ciaran Whelan's any day : )

I agree, especially his ramblings about the quality of blankets in the Middle East! ;)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 31/05/2013 10:39:27    1395663