So now we know.
Hey Wayno, apart from McFadden's first goal, what was your overall prediction for the result? Just curious since I nailed it...
________
Thought Donegal would win by 3 or 4 points, Didn't put any money on it though.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 27/05/2013 16:12:43
Massive result yesterday but its only first round of ulster championship. This game will give the lads serious confidence as it was played with good intensity and even though we didnt play that well we still came out on top.
JMG decisions on the sideline are always spot on and cannot be under-estimated. McElhinney and Wherity totally changed the dynamics of midfield and give us the base that we needed to attack Tyrones half back line. Karl then steadied the ship and controlled the tempo of the last 25 minutes or so. Thought Conor Gormley was imense yestersay. Delighted for Paddy Mc Brearty, he will only get better.
Down or Derry will pose different problems but Im sure the lads will be flying in training for the next few weeks.
Moment of the match for me was Stephen O Neill bounching of Neil McGee and McGee didnt even break stride!
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 27/05/2013 16:26:25
1st half was a great game to watch. Honestly thought it was going to go right down to the last few minutes but never happened. Thought the red hands would of lifted it abit more, but credit donegal they played the game well and grounded the red hands...
DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 27/05/2013 17:15:01
Good win yesterday and great to get over the line. In the run up to this people were doubting Donegal, their hunger, depth of the panel etc. I always believed we'd win but didn't think it'd be by so much. To be fair to Tyrone, I don't think the 6 point margin was true reflection of the game.
The goal chances were the big moments of the game. Ross Wherrity, who I doubted throughout the league to be honest, impressed me very much yesterday getting goal and winning ball around the middle. Paddy McB was outstanding yesterday and is a completely different player to last year. He was matured a lot and plays with more confidence, more like his underage playing days. He was on fire for club and U21 county lately and I expected him to come of age on the senior team this year. Overall I was very happy with how the team closed out the game. Sending Martin McElhinney on as a 3rd midfielder really openeed up the area and solved some problems we were having there with kickouts. From there on we seemed to push on and grind down to get the win. It was then Tyrone sort of collapsed, and resorted to a lot of thuggish behaviour to be honest which I wasn't very impressed with.
In relation to the jeering among supporters, I wish people would lighten up and realise it was just a bit of craic!!! Morgan wasn't high on the christmas card list of Donegal fans after our league encounter, then didn't help himself by showboating after scoring a free. Of course the crowd was going to react and throw it back in his face when it started going wrong for him. Tyrone fans were jeering about our relegation, we jeered back that we're champions. It's all just a bit of craic and I have to say yesterday was probably the best atmosphere I ever experienced in MacCumhaill craic. I didn't hear anything bitter or personal being said and it was all just a bit of fun that added to the occassion.
up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 27/05/2013 19:58:55
23/05/2013 14:16:43 hardcore County: Monaghan Posts: 735
1389720 22/05/2013 16:01:45 Donegalman County: All Posts: 636
1389106 hardcore County: Monaghan Posts: 732
1388978 Dun na nGall by 7 to 10 points,the carry on that went on in Omagh in the league will be brought up more than once in the dressing room sunday,Neill McGee will take care of Stephen O'Neill,and that will end Tyrone
23/05/2013 14:55:03 brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 7262
1389752 The 26th of May is all he has spoken about since the end of March.......
Is this a statement of fact hardcore or the wishful thinking of a Monaghan man who soon enough will discover that he has a lot of free time to himself this summer?
How about that brendtheredhand.........cant get closer than that,i was giving my opinion on what would happen,and i was right.........as for me having free time on my hands,it looks like its you that has a couple of weeks to spare!!.......you should have the garden in great shape by july!!
hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 27/05/2013 20:00:21
Good win yesterday and great to get over the line. In the run up to this people were doubting Donegal, their hunger, depth of the panel etc. I always believed we'd win but didn't think it'd be by so much. To be fair to Tyrone, I don't think the 6 point margin was true reflection of the game.
The goal chances were the big moments of the game. Ross Wherrity, who I doubted throughout the league to be honest, impressed me very much yesterday getting goal and winning ball around the middle. Paddy McB was outstanding yesterday and is a completely different player to last year. He was matured a lot and plays with more confidence, more like his underage playing days. He was on fire for club and U21 county lately and I expected him to come of age on the senior team this year. Overall I was very happy with how the team closed out the game. Sending Martin McElhinney on as a 3rd midfielder really openeed up the area and solved some problems we were having there with kickouts. From there on we seemed to push on and grind down to get the win. It was then Tyrone sort of collapsed, and resorted to a lot of thuggish behaviour to be honest which I wasn't very impressed with.
In relation to the jeering among supporters, I wish people would lighten up and realise it was just a bit of craic!!! Morgan wasn't high on the christmas card list of Donegal fans after our league encounter, then didn't help himself by showboating after scoring a free. Of course the crowd was going to react and throw it back in his face when it started going wrong for him. Tyrone fans were jeering about our relegation, we jeered back that we're champions. It's all just a bit of craic and I have to say yesterday was probably the best atmosphere I ever experienced in MacCumhaill craic. I didn't hear anything bitter or personal being said and it was all just a bit of fun that added to the occassion.
up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 27/05/2013 20:05:03
Hi guys,
Tactical take on Donegal's win over Tyrone now up http://action81.com/blog/?p=7277
Emmet
emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 27/05/2013 20:08:39
a lot of hope for tyrone yesterday after yesterday's display...completely outplayed donegal at midfield...always carried the game to them, and unfortunately hit with 2 sucker punches..the more games this emerging team get together now the better and no better place than in the qualifiers...some fantastic individual performances yesterday..clarke and gormley were immense at the back..colm cavanagh a pillar of courage at midfield, mark donnelly, mattie donnelly and o'neill never gave up in attack...it was inspiring to see them still carrying the game to donegal in the last 10 minutes in spite of being down to 14 men and 7 points down, had a fine goal disallowed, a penalty turned down, and a rasper from coney turned over the bar...hardly the evidence of a team being outplayed..this is the measure of the spirit in that team...yesterday was donegal's day,but tyrone are still on an upward curve,so bring on the qualifiers...a great game all round,and everything that is great about ulster football
mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 27/05/2013 21:06:14
Really enjoyed your last comment hardcore, as for Mayotryone, your analysis is terrible, clutching at straws and obviously very sour grapes for you my friend as you were on the receiving end of donegals TWO last competitive games(championship).
Was delighted with the performance yesterday, Jim silenced alot of boys with with questions once again, maybe they should just learn from this and jump on the waggon with our biggest supporter Joe Brolly. Who (and Im trying not to be biased) has the analysis spot on. People say "no Donegal did not dominate, it was a tight game, tyrone had loads of possesion" every team Donegal play has the majority of the possesion, thats the way Donegal are set up, they let the team have the ball but try and get through the wall if you can, but when you get turned over be ready to concede.
One thing I would like to say is the jerring, craic, banter, abuse Morgan got. Well I was one of them, even the jerring. And I HATE jerring and booing at games and often "sshh" my own supporters cause it is not sporting, and your only letting yourself and your own team, town, county down. However, this was as simple as "A taste of your own medicnine" after the abuse and treatement that was recieved up in Healy park a few months ago. Hateful, spiteful comments at Murphy when sent of for a similar thing that big Joe done, Morgan roaring his head of in his ear, the spitting on lacy all amongst 70mins of hateful remarks and jerring from anything from a 10 year old kid to a 70 year old granny. I gaurrantee you Donegal supporters won't act like that again as it is not their nature, they were prevoked into doing so, and for once I was happy to do so.
One last thing Neil Magee did not put in a big hit on O'Neill, O'Neill ran full tilt into a brick ****house. Class pure class. Which I think is another fascinating thing about Donegal, to name just a few, O'neill trying to clean Magee out of it and landing on his ass and magee runs on. Dan Gordan (ulster final) trying to clean Frank McGlynn out of it and landing on his ass and mcglynn runs on, Donal Vaughan trying to clean Lacy out of it in the All Ireland final and injures himself and Lacy pops up and gets on with it.... Their physical condition is just unreal but I think the other team must be wondering what the hell do we have to do to hurt these men and stop them!!! The physological statment it makes is staggering!!!
fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 28/05/2013 08:58:27
fatfrog County: Donegal
They are Gods, I tell you, Gods from Olympus. How can mere mortals hope to compete.
derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 28/05/2013 10:27:35
funny old video for the tyrone goalie Morgan
http://www.donegaldaily.com/2013/05/28/ddtv-shock-new-footage-of-tyrone-keepers-horror-point-attempt-against-donegal/
Guess this is the sort of stuff you get when you try and rise the crowd
donegal4sam (Donegal) - Posts: 20 - 28/05/2013 10:42:43
Fatfrog
I have never read as much horse**** in my life. I attended both games in Omagh and Ballybofey and have no real issue with the behaviour off either sets of home supporters. Gaelic games by its very nature will always elicit vocal and passionate responses from a big crowd of supporters who take their que from what happens on the field of play. In competative encounters sometimes it can get equally competative in the stands. Sometimes it can go to far such as the spitting incident with lacey. The Morgan incident on the penalty was no worse than what goes on the lenght and breath of the country every sunday. I can assure you morgan would have received the same warm welcome from the donegal faithful regardless of Omagh simply because his place kicking waa a serious threat to donegals fortunes. No need to make up some fictitious sense of injustice to excuse the behaviour of your fellow supporters. Its just a form of mass gamesmanship which goes on at every premiership game every week.
I would rather have that than a meek crowd of happy people clapping politely the skills of the opposition. Its a part of the reason why we all attend the matches
Now your pathetic eulogisation of the mighty gods of the hills is rather sad. Grow up. The way people like yourself buy into the phsyco babble of jim and brolly amazes me get over it. They are men of blood and flesh granted they are currently at the top of their game and you should enjoy it for as long as you can for I can guarantee that like all great teams they will adventually be knoked of their perch by the next set of sporting gods.
End of rant.
Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 28/05/2013 10:54:11
Class vid donegal4sam,
True, True, Derryman I just hope they dont get their hair cut, incase they lose all their strength, Of which you boys just might get the chance to experience!
fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 28/05/2013 11:27:05
derryman County: Derry Posts: 3153
fatfrog County: Donegal
They are Gods, I tell you, Gods from Olympus. How can mere mortals hope to compete.
Maybe the other 31 counties should amalgamate ;-). To be fair though jimmy has them in some physical condition with plenty of fine footballers.
duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 28/05/2013 11:31:46
Skillful_Bill County: Tyrone Posts: 15
1393294 Fatfrog
I have never read as much horse**** in my life. I attended both games in Omagh and Ballybofey and have no real issue with the behaviour off either sets of home supporters. Gaelic games by its very nature will always elicit vocal and passionate responses from a big crowd of supporters who take their que from what happens on the field of play. In competative encounters sometimes it can get equally competative in the stands. Sometimes it can go to far such as the spitting incident with lacey. The Morgan incident on the penalty was no worse than what goes on the lenght and breath of the country every sunday. I can assure you morgan would have received the same warm welcome from the donegal faithful regardless of Omagh simply because his place kicking waa a serious threat to donegals fortunes. No need to make up some fictitious sense of injustice to excuse the behaviour of your fellow supporters. Its just a form of mass gamesmanship which goes on at every premiership game every week.
I would rather have that than a meek crowd of happy people clapping politely the skills of the opposition. Its a part of the reason why we all attend the matches
Now your pathetic eulogisation of the mighty gods of the hills is rather sad. Grow up. The way people like yourself buy into the phsyco babble of jim and brolly amazes me get over it. They are men of blood and flesh granted they are currently at the top of their game and you should enjoy it for as long as you can for I can guarantee that like all great teams they will adventually be knoked of their perch by the next set of sporting gods.
Good post. I am about long enough to have seen both sides of the sporting coin with both club & county. The one thing I have learned is not to get too up or down about it and to enjoy the good times as they won't last forever. What was the line about "meeting sccess & failure & treating those two imposters just the same". Mind you it has to be said that watching Stephen O'Neill bouncing off McGee was a highlight!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 28/05/2013 11:39:23
Skillfull_Bill
Welcome to HS. Good post I agree with you.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 28/05/2013 11:45:45
Well done to Donegal. A great atmosphere in Ballybofey. We won by not playing at our full potential and with a few injuries. I think we can only improve once Lacey, McHugh and McGlynn are fully fit.
I was very diasppointed at the way Tyrone acted with their thuggish behaviour, this is not the answer when things are not going your way!
As for Morgan, I wouild say he feels very embarrassed at his silly behaviour to the crowd after he put over "1" 45. He can do that when he puts most of them over. I think he is young and immature and will learn from this.
Oh and 1 last thing where has Rahilly gone?? He must have gone on holidays for the break after the game. Hope to see you back on here again soon with your know all:)
dgl2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 28/05/2013 11:48:23
Muckross
The way oneill bounce of magee was a highlight but if you have a look at it on sky+ again you will see he just doesnt connect right. Good job to I have seen a few collar bones go from shoulders and both magee and oneills season could have end early had he connected right.
Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 28/05/2013 12:25:08
fatfrog County: Donegal Posts: 144
...O'neill trying to clean Magee out of it and landing on his ass and magee runs on. Dan Gordan (ulster final) trying to clean Frank McGlynn out of it and landing on his ass and mcglynn runs on, Donal Vaughan trying to clean Lacy out of it in the All Ireland final and injures himself and Lacy pops up and gets on with it...Kevin McManamon trying to clean Paul Durcan out of it and landing on his.., oh wait!!
Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 28/05/2013 13:45:02
fatfrog Donal Vaughan trying to clean Lacy out of it in the All Ireland final and injures himself and Lacy pops up and gets on with it.... I recall him staying on the ground long enough to pretend he was injured though. A bit like that trip on murphy on sunday, how ever did he manage to get to his feet again? BTW, what would your opinion be on kevin mcloughlin 'popping up and getting on with it' after anthony thompson blatently gouged his eye in the league this year?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/05/2013 14:15:50