Attendances 2013

35-40 thousand tickets sold in Limerick so it depends on what Clare bring. i would think 60-62 thousand would be the attendance.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 17/08/2013 18:22:27    1463042

62,962 very similar attendance to last weeks game.

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 18/08/2013 16:41:08    1463368

Postede this in another thread but it has more relevance here.

Hill16No1man there are plenty of tickets left on gaa.ie for the Kerry Dublin match.

Plenty on tickets.ie

And plenty on ticketmaster.
At least 1 full section for the upper cusaak. 1 Full section upper Davin. 2 more sections still with the last few open. Upper Hogan still has some left and chances are they've a few more full sections in the upper tiers still to go on sale. Plus the Nally terrace tickets are still selling ans will be for a while. Ring the GAA and ask them, there are plenty left.

However after seeing counties like Limerick and Clare and Dublin and Cork in the hurling both get around 63k for their semi's I expect and imagine this will be an 82k sell out.

The attendances this year have been great all round but especially for the later stages of the championship. The hurling revival for the public began with Galway hammering Kilkenny in the Leinster final last year and then taking them to a replay. Given the recession we are in they are unbelievable. If the revival continues and no 1 or 2 teams dominate either code they will only go up.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/08/2013 19:13:39    1464183

jack goff

wow you wanted to start a thread just for me haha
by the way there is about 3 thousand tickets left as they came back from clubs around the country monday morning
dont believe me read here

http://hill16.ie/limited-number-of-tickets-on-public-sale-for-dubs-v-kerry#.UhNOFn-3Mwo

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/08/2013 12:07:18    1464395

hill, I wrote that at the top. I never made a new thread. Also those 3,000 are extra tickets that are now publicly available along with a lot of the others that were already on sale @ tickets.ie ticketmaster etc... it will be a sell out so I'm not saying get your tickets on the day but it won't sell out for a while yet.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/08/2013 16:24:04    1464494

Mayo v Tyrone. What do you think? I'd say 55k but hopefully they can keep the run of 60k plus attendances up. Mayo will bring 30k plus but Tyrone have been very bad this year in Croke park and elsewhere.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/08/2013 16:25:57    1464495

jack goff
them tickets only became available this morning
there was about 500 tickets on ticketmaster left until this morning
gaa.ie and tickets.ie had no tickets available over the last few days until this morning also

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/08/2013 18:12:27    1464523

id say around the 55 thousand aswell but the differance in the hurling semi finals alot of neutrals were at both games which added the extra 5 or 6 thousand so be interesting to see if that happens on sunday

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/08/2013 18:17:11    1464528

jack goff

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-and-kerry-to-attract-first-full-house-of-the-summer-1.1500339

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/08/2013 11:39:13    1464967

Good point about neutrals Hillman. Novelty and attractiveness of the two hurling semi finals certainly brought a good share of people from neither of counties involved. That won't happen on Sunday. Great to see that the old firm has sold out. Really nothing to match it in terms of pulling power.

Will watch my first Dublin/Kerry match on Hill with daughter, as I did with my Da in 1976. Although I suspect half of the enjoyment for herself and friend is watching me turn into incoherent loon :-(

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/08/2013 12:19:24    1465010

hurlingdub

Good point about neutrals Hillman. Novelty and attractiveness of the two hurling semi finals certainly brought a good share of people from neither of counties involved. That won't happen on Sunday. Great to see that the old firm has sold out. Really nothing to match it in terms of pulling power.

Will watch my first Dublin/Kerry match on Hill with daughter, as I did with my Da in 1976. Although I suspect half of the enjoyment for herself and friend is watching me turn into incoherent loon :-(

haha i know for 70 minutes its amazing how nothing else in the world matters,ya go through more adrenalin and emotions then the entire week before hand.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/08/2013 12:35:34    1465025

Hillman yeah it was always going to be a sell out. It's a matter of when and I'd be surprised if all tickets are gone in 2 days. The GAA want to sell them ASAP so by saying it will sell out in 2 days will make more people rush to get their tickets and they hype will go up a level.

It will be interesting to see if any more sections are to go on sale after the ones on ticketmaster sell out.

Hurlingdub I disagree about pulling power. 75% (at least) of the tickets will be bought by dubs. There are counties that if they were playing instead of Kerry would take up 40k tickets alone. Donegal last year brought about 40k and if they went well this year and were playing Dublin they'd bring even more.

Hopefully it's a Mayo/Dublin final. Good football and hype before a final like we've never seen before!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/08/2013 17:10:58    1465273

Lads you sound a bit daft on the woman side of things. A pretty big chunk of the support in croker over the last few weeks have been made up by woman.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/08/2013 17:13:04    1465274

Jack_Goff

Hillman yeah it was always going to be a sell out. It's a matter of when and I'd be surprised if all tickets are gone in 2 days. The GAA want to sell them ASAP so by saying it will sell out in 2 days will make more people rush to get their tickets and they hype will go up a level.

It will be interesting to see if any more sections are to go on sale after the ones on ticketmaster sell out.

Hurlingdub I disagree about pulling power. 75% (at least) of the tickets will be bought by dubs. There are counties that if they were playing instead of Kerry would take up 40k tickets alone. Donegal last year brought about 40k and if they went well this year and were playing Dublin they'd bring even more.

Hopefully it's a Mayo/Dublin final. Good football and hype before a final like we've never seen before!

Kerry are a huge draw for the Dubs. No other county forces the Dubs out in those numbers, that's a fact.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 21/08/2013 17:18:10    1465279

You know very little about the GAA my Kerry friend.

Kerry are a huge draw for the Dubs. No other county forces the Dubs out in those numbers, that's a fact.

That is just soi uneducated it's unreal. My own county would draw full houses with dublin as recently as 2009 in the Leinster championship first round.

Last year Mayo pulled a full house with them and the year before Dublin did despite the negative hype around Dublin. The year before Cork pulled a full house. There are so many counties that if they play the Dubs croker will be sold out in the ALl Ireland semi. It's not like Kerry are an exception and better than the rest.

It's the fact that Dublin are in the semi that's drawing their fans out from behind the bar stools and too the match.

Hill16man it's saturday and there are still a load of tickets on ticketmaster. It won't be till next week when it sells out. Was a PR move by the GAA to get more people to buy their tickets by saying it would be sold out by yesterday.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/08/2013 13:52:15    1466987

That was meant to read "and the year before Donegal did despite the negative hype around Donegal."

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/08/2013 14:38:51    1467005

jack goff

why you trying to have a go at him and dublin supporters claiming we are coming out behind bar stool,what knowledge have you actually got my friend!!! there was 55 thousand at both kildare and meath matches and 70 thousand at cork match so your making no sense.
as for your obsession on what day the match offcialy sells out is sad man,theres under 400 tickets on ticketmaster and only a handfull of nally terrace on gaa.ie so i dont get where your going with this

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2013 16:31:26    1467055

I see all the Wexford and Antrim die hards made it to the U-21 Semi's today, are both stands open ???

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 758 - 24/08/2013 16:33:08    1467056

hill16no1man
why you trying to have a go at him and dublin supporters claiming we are coming out behind bar stool,what knowledge have you actually got my friend!!! there was 55 thousand at both kildare and meath matches and 70 thousand at cork match so your making no sense.
as for your obsession on what day the match offcialy sells out is sad man,theres under 400 tickets on ticketmaster and only a handfull of nally terrace on gaa.ie so i dont get where your going with this

You are like the ormo of dublin gaa. I was merely pointing out fact to him which you can't disagree with. The semi isn't selling out because you are playing kerry and that's fact.

I'm not having a go at the dubs. It's a well known fact that a lot of fans are jumping on the bandwagon now. Any other county it's now different. Nothing I've said you can deny. As for my "obsession" with when it sells out, you don't see me saying you're obsessed with GAA attendances in general which you are.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/08/2013 19:46:06    1467231

It said in today's indo that they're expecting 70k tomorrow. That's some attendance for a semi-final if they're right

Bigboy (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 24/08/2013 19:52:32    1467236