James Horan blasts RTÉ All-Ireland bias

roundball
County: Tipperary

While we're on this, Joe Brolly's treatment of Mayo in the media last year was nothing short of disgraceful. The way he targeted Donal Vaughan, an amateur sportsman after the League Final was out of order. He seems to see Mayo as a soft target- higher profile than most teams, serial runners up, apparent chokers- he can get away with making snide remarks and jokes about them because it makes everybody else feel a little bit better about the mediocrity of their own teams in comparison.

Hold on a minute here. There is no smoke without fire. Joe Brolly in an anylist. Examine anything he said this year about Maigh Eo and think objectably about it. Regarding this issure which I assume Horan has a problem with, Brolly was dead right. You could not do proper fair anylasis of the game between Mayo and Dublin without highlighting the tactical fouling. Thats his job. This fair and proper anylaiss had an influence on the final an rightfully so. Tactical and synical fouling is destroying the game. As I said above, fair play Joe Brolly.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 14:30:50    1315292

Beelzedub

He should have walked. No one could deny that. He struck out twice and Mayo had a huge slice of luck to keep 15 men on the pitch.
Deegan and his umpires got that completely wrong. But at least it kept the game at 15 v 15 from a sitting on the fence and neutral stand point.

Ye, but, after Mayo's synisism in the semi final I wanted to see Mayo slaughtered. I am still disappointed Dún na nGall didn't play as well as they could have in the final. Bitterly disappointed. McHugh said a few weeks back that McGuinness was very unhappy about the performance - not half as unhappy as me.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 14:34:23    1315294

08/01/2013 14:22:11
TheFlaker

1315282 First of all there was a love affair between the media and Donegal in the build up to the final, Joe Brolly was painful to listen to. Unfortunately for Mayo and James Horan, this had nothing to do with the result, it should actually hinder the team receiving all the plaudits. Hopefully we will be back at the business end next year, if we aren't it will be because we are not good enough, end of.
The following Quote was made by an RTE pundit about Donegal management 13 months before the final - The same pundit also said that no Donegal player deserved to get a MOM award after beating Antrim in the Preliminary round in 2011.

"You know, there are people who go to the Hague for war crimes - I tell you this, some of the coaches nowadays should be up for crimes against Gaelic football."

Swings and roundabouts - Pundits will go overboard on the positives and negatives - I see hyperbolae I dont see BIAs

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 08/01/2013 14:34:35    1315295

1315285 Beelzedub, Im not talking about horan at all, Im talking about brolly and his actions

Why are you not talking about Horan?

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 14:38:08    1315299

Trying to put as honest a slant on this from a Mayo point of view:

1. Upon reading the article I would have rather such statements were left "in house" as one mayo poster put it. If James and the team feel hard done then keep it to themselves and use it to their advantage. There may be a bit of "Alex Ferguson" about this to try an influence refs like many managers do but its too early in the season for that.

2. I am surprised Horan would have come out with this. There is no harm in fighting for your team and county but this is smells of excuses.

3. I watched the final in full over Christmas for the first time - the match up's were wrong and changes should have been made earlier. Midfield was also slow and throwing up O'Se towards the end looked like desperation.

4. There was unfortunately cynical play from our players on display and the best team on the day won. Bottom line is, we never looked like getting a goal and most before the game agreed we needed one or two goals to win the game.

5. In truth the game was over after 10mins, which as mentioned was caused by poor management and of course mistakes from the players. The second goal nobody can deny was fierce unlucky from a Mayo point of view.

6. Donegal were the better team and looking at the game on TV, I felt they had another gear or 2 - Mayo didn't play to their full tilt either and that's what brings me hope for this year.

Overall the interview is a bit cringe-worthy I am sad to say and their is no point is papering over the cracks. We as a county wont be taken seriously by the media or anybody else until we win an all Ireland. It is up to James and the lads to bridge that gap.

MAIGH EO ABU

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11694 - 08/01/2013 14:40:04    1315301

First off Culann, the word is cynicism, you talk about it enough, the least you can do is get the word right. Secondly, yes brolly has a responsibility to report on what he sees, in fact he is bound to it. But the reality is donegal had a system of tactical fouling that was even more developed than mayos that they used throughout the AI series, not just in the semi final. He chose not to report on this and instead made mayo out to be the only ones doing it. It he had mentioned both in the article then fair enough, however he chose not to do this.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 14:44:41    1315307

Horan obviously didn't buy a copy of Jimmy's Winning Matches then?

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2408 - 08/01/2013 14:49:17    1315309

Beexledub. There is no point in trying to discuss anything to do with Mayo football with master. Trust me.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 14:49:18    1315310

comes across as complete sour grapes..brollys job is to analyse...iv never seen a team get away with 3rd man tackles and blocking off as much as mayo have over the last 2 seasons

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 08/01/2013 14:53:19    1315313

Yew_tree,

I've just formed an honest respect for you. Fair play for calling it straight. Very fair and honest and I know from watching the Dubs fail for so long how hard and how sore it is to be honest and critical about your own team.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 14:55:43    1315314

Let it go James. Just let it go and look towards this year and a chance to right the wrongs of 2012.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 08/01/2013 14:57:52    1315318

1315307 First off Culann, the word is cynicism, you talk about it enough, the least you can do is get the word right. Secondly, yes brolly has a responsibility to report on what he sees, in fact he is bound to it. But the reality is donegal had a system of tactical fouling that was even more developed than mayos that they used throughout the AI series, not just in the semi final. He chose not to report on this and instead made mayo out to be the only ones doing it. It he had mentioned both in the article then fair enough, however he chose not to do this.

Thats a lie. Dun na nGall did not foul tacticly or synicaly this year throughout the AI series. Don't try to compare Maigh Eo with Dún na nGall. Regarding my spelling, I couldn't care less. I could speak to you mistake free as Gaeilge if you wish, however.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 15:01:34    1315320

I think this is a first ffgg, but I agree 100% with you.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 15:02:38    1315323

Some relevant points have been made here. I agree with Lockjaw on the fact that Mayo were lucky to only receive the yellow cards that they did. I can remember three incidents; McHugh - round the neck, O'Connor - Striking actions & the 2nd hit on Lacey were all, in my view, red card offences. Why were none given? How much, if any, of the so called "influence" was the referee under in this game?

So why would Horan say what he did? Either, this is to gloss over the "new mentality" of this Mayo team, meaning that these type of tackles will continue from them in 2013 and go relatively unpunished. Or perhaps this is a way of compensation for the glaring mistakes made and as such gives his current players belief that they are in fact good enough.

DL17 (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 08/01/2013 15:04:25    1315327

Same old story - poor old Mayo always the victims... Here's to the next 52 years!

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 08/01/2013 15:04:46    1315329

Excellent post by Yew_Tree, it's great to see some Mayo fans are capable of taking the blinkers off and viewing the issue with objectivity

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 08/01/2013 15:07:24    1315334

easily the dirtiest team in the country..i suggest looking at the kerry semi final from 2011..all the fouling they got away with and still were hammered

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 08/01/2013 15:07:56    1315335

Beelzedub, Im hoping that you, or anyone else for that matter, has more conviction about their postings than Culann. If you can, by all means address my post head on, in fact I challenge any fair minded poster to do so. If you cant then follow Culann's lead of refusing to engage... Really, I suppose the question is are you a poster of substance or not. I have stated my case, let me hear your counter argument.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 15:08:59    1315337

yew_tree

Trying to put as honest a slant on this from a Mayo point of view:

1. Upon reading the article I would have rather such statements were left "in house" as one mayo poster put it. If James and the team feel hard done then keep it to themselves and use it to their advantage. There may be a bit of "Alex Ferguson" about this to try an influence refs like many managers do but its too early in the season for that.

2. I am surprised Horan would have come out with this. There is no harm in fighting for your team and county but this is smells of excuses.

3. I watched the final in full over Christmas for the first time - the match up's were wrong and changes should have been made earlier. Midfield was also slow and throwing up O'Se towards the end looked like desperation.

4. There was unfortunately cynical play from our players on display and the best team on the day won. Bottom line is, we never looked like getting a goal and most before the game agreed we needed one or two goals to win the game.

5. In truth the game was over after 10mins, which as mentioned was caused by poor management and of course mistakes from the players. The second goal nobody can deny was fierce unlucky from a Mayo point of view.

6. Donegal were the better team and looking at the game on TV, I felt they had another gear or 2 - Mayo didn't play to their full tilt either and that's what brings me hope for this year.

Overall the interview is a bit cringe-worthy I am sad to say and their is no point is papering over the cracks. We as a county wont be taken seriously by the media or anybody else until we win an all Ireland. It is up to James and the lads to bridge that gap.

MAIGH EO ABU

BULLS EYE!

His Holiness Mr. Cody does it as well, as does nearly every top sports coach/manager. I don't think Horan should be doing this but I understand why he's doing it. Anyway folks- big deal, it was an interview in January in a local paper.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 08/01/2013 15:10:22    1315339

Thats a lie. Dun na nGall did not foul tacticly or synicaly this year throughout the AI series. Don't try to compare Maigh Eo with Dún na nGall. Regarding my spelling, I couldn't care less. I could speak to you mistake free as Gaeilge if you wish, however.

No that's a lie.
Actually 3 lies.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 15:10:36    1315341