Poaching Players from Small Clubs

ffgg longford post2133
its being confirmed he is going to St Bridgets in Dublin he wants to inprove his standard of football as its poor in Leitrim. He has got a free house +. i didnt think Mulligan would jump on the band wagon i though he was above that.
post on Leitrim forum

christopher (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 14/12/2012 21:15:49    1310690

@Christopher, Donegal. How many players have St Brigids, Roscommon transferred in from other clubs? I'd advise you to get your facts right!! Home grown talent and strong underage structures have brought success to this mighty Roscommon club. How dare you undermine their home grown talent!

bangedupabroad (Roscommon) - Posts: 126 - 14/12/2012 21:16:16    1310691

ill believe it when i see it as it was meant to be all done and dusted as regards the club in longford also

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 14/12/2012 21:38:32    1310696

Salthill/Knocknacarra in Galway are terrible for it.Teyre always snooping around to look for players they can poach.If i was from that area id find it hard to take pride in my team to be honest.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 15/12/2012 16:32:38    1310879

Culann, hows the form man? Take a lot of your points seriously i do. Especially the one about a Ballymun kid wanting to play with Ballymun and Dublin. And good luck to them kids too I say. But what about Celbridge and Ashbourne kids wanting to play with Dublin? Surely kids should play with the county they are reared in? Just like Paul curran, with a Meath Dad but Paul reared and living in Dublin and growing up to be a Dublin legend, then why should it be different when a Dublin man goes to live in Meath or Kildare and yet his kid wont play with his county like Curran did, but rather their fathers county? Surely this craic is undermining the ethos of the GAA too in my opinion.

theborderfox (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 15/12/2012 17:14:21    1310889

Thats a grey area. As I said in the same piece you quoted from 'unless you have a family connection'. I live i gContae na Mí and when I go into town to Navan you see a lot of Dub jerseys. When you go into Elverys both An Mhí agus Áth Cliath jerseys are sold. Personally, my own kids are An Mhi supporters and I have absolutely know problem with that but I know another Dub in the area and his kids wanted to be like their daddy and they wear the Dub jersey. I think, as I said above, that is a grey area. In my own opinion, it doesn't go against the ethos of the GAA - but who is to say I am right. That said the family seems to be at the heart of the GAA and I'd imigane they look at it as a grey area also.

As far as I'm aware, this lad Mulligan has no connection with St Bridget's whether that through work, family or place of residence. Again, maybe I'm wrong. What would I know. I'm just expressing opinions.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 15/12/2012 17:29:08    1310894

Bit of a joke, especially with minor players, Michael Deegan plays for Ashbourne, yet he was involved with Dublin minors this year because of the parent rule. I think there was another player from Dunboyne as well. I've heard that Dublin were trying to get underage players from Meath to play with Dublin because of this rule. You should be playing with the club and county you live in, unless there is a problem when you get to adult football with work eg. Anthony Moyles lives and works in Dublin and moved to a club there, but continued to play for Meath. There are plenty of players that play for Meath that have parents from other counties.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/12/2012 18:18:40    1310934

i dont mind switching clubs if the journey is too far such as players from mayo or that playing in dub but all them laois players playing in dublin is a joke especially when you consider how near dublin is to laois

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 15/12/2012 18:25:11    1310937

ClassApart

1310934 Bit of a joke, especially with minor players, Michael Deegan plays for Ashbourne, yet he was involved with Dublin minors this year because of the parent rule. I think there was another player from Dunboyne as well. I've heard that Dublin were trying to get underage players from Meath to play with Dublin because of this rule. You should be playing with the club and county you live in, unless there is a problem when you get to adult football with work eg. Anthony Moyles lives and works in Dublin and moved to a club there, but continued to play for Meath. There are plenty of players that play for Meath that have parents from other counties.

Three lads playing for ashbourne their dads are from finglas, one(deegans son lined out for Dublin ) the other two lined out for meath. in same game. So it goes both ways. didnt mention that did you.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/12/2012 18:42:51    1310947

christopher donegal

brigids in roscommon have won 90% of u21 honours in ros in past few years.their team is made up entirely of top class local lads with the luck of having talentrd sets of brothers the mchughs and dolans.add leaders to the mix like kilbride and mannion along with populated area of roscommon brilliant facilities and good financial backing uyour comment regars ppaching couldnt be more ignorent.get your facts right before making throw away statements.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 15/12/2012 19:00:55    1310953

AthCliath No I didn't mention it because its not relevant to the point. Yeh they are playing for Meath because they are living in Meath and playing club football for Meath it shouldn't matter where their parents are from. Sure half the Meath senior team probably have a parent from another county, I can think of 6 off the top of my head. If you are living in a county and playing for a club in that county you should play fooball for that county at minor level. If things change as you are older and you are living working in a different county thats fine. The Gaa is based on community and where you live. If there was a Dublin minor living in Dublin and playing club football in Dublin, but had a parent from Meath I would like to think that Meath wouldn't go looking for him. Sure look at the Brogans they didn't go and play for Kerry. If these parents want their kids to play for Dublin they needn't bother moving to Meath. And plus why should we hold up minor club games because of a player involved with another county. I think the parent rule is a joke. What if the best 15 minors in Meath had a parent from another county and they all went to play for those counties , sure that doesn't make sense.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/12/2012 19:33:59    1310966

Christopher from Donegal couldn't be more misinformed about St Brigids (Roscommon) if he tried. As been said already get your facts right before posting online!!

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4125 - 15/12/2012 19:46:22    1310971

AthCliath from what I understand Micheal Darragh-McAuley's father is from donegal and Cian O'Sullivans father from Kerry... I don't see them claiming to play for them counties. No they play for the county the grew up in and have played club football for. You're just plain simply wrong if you think it's ok for underage players to play for a different county that they're not playing within. It's a complete surprise to me that the county board in meath haven't objected to it yet.

tic_for_tac (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 15/12/2012 19:51:43    1310974

tic_for_tac

1310974 AthCliath from what I understand Micheal Darragh-McAuley's father is from donegal and Cian O'Sullivans father from Kerry... I don't see them claiming to play for them counties. No they play for the county the grew up in and have played club football for. You're just plain simply wrong if you think it's ok for underage players to play for a different county that they're not playing within. It's a complete surprise to me that the county board in meath haven't objected to it yet.

Its not as staright forward as that tic for tac. I once knew a fella born and bread in Kilmacud. He palyed for the Crokes but turned down the chance to play underage for Dubs because he regarded himself a Meathman. His dad was from Dún Bóinne, he spent his sumers and all other holuidays there. He claimed to have more in common with his Meath relations and freinds than the Dubs. The same fella later transfered from Crokes to Dún Bóinne when he was about 30. He played senior football with both. A forward. You might be able to work out who he is. I'd regard him a Meathman. What would you regard him as?

That said i'd agree with you to a point and in principal. But again there are a lot of grey areas.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 15/12/2012 20:00:15    1310978

Class Apart,

To understand the points I am trying to make in particular i'd suggest you take a trip out to Ráth Chairn, Garairis, or Baile Ghib and talk to a lot of people there. These people came from Conamara, Maigh Eo, Ciarraí and Dún na nGall and settled in co. na Mí as part of a scheme devised by the Land League. A lot of these people would have more in common with the lands of their parents and people and still support Gaillimh/Ciarraí/Maigh Eo agus Dún na nGall. Speak to them and you will understand it better.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 16/12/2012 12:56:47    1311058

tic_for_tac

1310974 AthCliath from what I understand Micheal Darragh-McAuley's father is from donegal and Cian O'Sullivans father from Kerry... I don't see them claiming to play for them counties. No they play for the county the grew up in and have played club football for. You're just plain simply wrong if you think it's ok for underage players to play for a different county that they're not playing within. It's a complete surprise to me that the county board in meath haven't objected to it yet.

never said it was ok or that i agree with it, i also think ye should play for the county ye are born and reared in, the point im making is its not all the lads with dub parents who have clubs close by have switched,

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/12/2012 13:41:03    1311075

ClassApart

1310966 AthCliath No I didn't mention it because its not relevant to the point. Yeh they are playing for Meath because they are living in Meath and playing club football for Meath it shouldn't matter where their parents are from. Sure half the Meath senior team probably have a parent from another county, I can think of 6 off the top of my head. If you are living in a county and playing for a club in that county you should play fooball for that county at minor level. If things change as you are older and you are living working in a different county thats fine. The Gaa is based on community and where you live. If there was a Dublin minor living in Dublin and playing club football in Dublin, but had a parent from Meath I would like to think that Meath wouldn't go looking for him. Sure look at the Brogans they didn't go and play for Kerry. If these parents want their kids to play for Dublin they needn't bother moving to Meath. And plus why should we hold up minor club games because of a player involved with another county. I think the parent rule is a joke. What if the best 15 minors in Meath had a parent from another county and they all went to play for those counties , sure that doesn't make sense.

Fair points. i agree with most of them and i wouldnt like to see it become common either. i know a bloke born and reared in dublin whos da is from meath and brought him to meath matches when he was young, he hates the Dubs and loves seeing them lose , sometimes its in people and ye cant knock it out off them. point im making is not all of the lads switched to dublin as was shown in allireland minor final this year. with clubs like ashbourne right on the border its gonna happen more. doesnt make it right but these clubs are also stronger because of Dubs living there and their kids playing for them.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/12/2012 13:58:51    1311087

Culann - I am familiar with this, but it doesn't matter where their parents are from or who they support, if they want to play county football they should be playing for Meath because thats where they are living and playing their club football. The parent rule was brought in to help weaker counties and its turning out to be the opposite.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 16/12/2012 14:50:32    1311109

Rosineri, are you asking the question because of what other UK Clubs offer.
It is alleged that scouts for Uk clubs have in the past offered inducments to Irish club players to come over to play in the UK.
We here in Cavan lost players to clubs abroad when construction was at its height and builders could not find a worker for less than E100 into the hand per day.
The Gaa turned a blind eye to it as the USA Dollar gravey train was overlooked.
If the GAA was serious about pay for play if a survey was done on the returning players after the North American finals are over and get some of the players to expose how Pub, estate agents, and Builders have bought in teams for years.
I understand that one team that played in the USA cost lot of money this year on imported players.
So Roserieri changing clubs in Ireland and elsewhere for the LOVE OF THE SPORT has been alive and well for years but never exposed

Tomsmith here,

I feel that the S J situation is a good thing for the GAA because it took to the fore a thing that was under the table for along time, ie players tarnsferring to other clubs/counties just for the love of the sport
If the Gaa would have tackeled the UK/ USA transfers if may not have spread in Ireland.
I saw GAA wise up to the transfer situation before money ruins our association

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4072 - 16/12/2012 15:29:35    1311120

ClassApart

1311109 Culann - I am familiar with this, but it doesn't matter where their parents are from or who they support, if they want to play county football they should be playing for Meath because thats where they are living and playing their club football. The parent rule was brought in to help weaker counties and its turning out to be the opposite.
16/12/2012 15:29:35

So its balck and white with you then. That Meathman born and reared in Dublin I mentioned above really isn't a Meathman and he was wrong to turn down the chance to play for Dubs. Its that simple, is it?

Look, I am against playuers transferring and playing for other counties willy nilly and without a connection. One hundred per cent. But things are often not as black and white as people think. I am Dub living and playing in Meath. I lived in Dublin til I was 22 or 23. I have a right to represent my county which is Dublin. 100% in my opinion but apparently not in yours.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 16/12/2012 16:15:31    1311145