My heart goes out to Mayo

On another note, anyone who is against fouling deliberately during a game obviously doesn't play Gaa at the moment, or if they do aren't winning any games!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 28/09/2012 11:23:48    1274165

Ha ha you are some man culann. The only difference my post and the one of GAAMayo is this, I stated that our cynical stuff was no worse than what most other teams were doing, and the example I gave was dublin against laois, which is 100% true, dublin stopped laois getting goals, we stopped dublin getting goals. Now what does that say about your reaction?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/09/2012 12:50:31    1274210

Hahahaha the master cop on would you , comparing Dublin Laois game to Mayo Dublin game. Your in dreamland there my friend if you think we were cynical that evening.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/09/2012 13:07:58    1274221

Listen when it's all said and done... I said before the AI final that such antics did not deserve to be rewarded.

They werent.

Fair play for Deegan for doing the right thing... Horan had a big part to play in Joe McQ's performance against Dublin.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/09/2012 13:25:56    1274233

ref's, cynical fouling, blanket defences .......blah, blah, blah
Donegal beat us because they have BETTER ATTACKING FOOTBALLERS THAN MAYO. Donegal score 11 from play, Mayo scored 7 from play.
McFadden 1-1 from play. Murphy 1-1 from play. Only one Mayo player scored more than 1 point from play and that was McGloughlin with 2. Enough said.
It wasn't down to cynical fouling or the referee. Lads saying that you'll win nothing without cyncial/deliberate fouling are talking through their rear.
You'll win nothing if you don't have top quality scoring forwards.
Murphy, McFadden, Brogan, Cooper, O'Neill, Canavan etc. etc.
This is what Mayo lack - unfortunately!

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 28/09/2012 13:36:42    1274245

Why clondalkindub? What is the difference? They both stopped the opposition going for goals when it became apparant that they were going for them. Surely the amount of times they done it is down to the amount of times the opponents were going for goals and not down to the level of cynicism? The ethos is the same.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/09/2012 13:40:51    1274249

The picture of Horan on the main page reminds me a lot of themaster.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/09/2012 16:43:46    1274405

A man with huge footballing knowledge and general intellect? You have seen the light jimbo.

I dont wear a hat though

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/09/2012 21:15:33    1274568

Bull master And you know it. I've no problem with how Mayo bet Dublin win at all costs but don't try and compare it to the Dublin Laois game cause you know your talking crap.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/09/2012 11:37:55    1274642

1274210 Ha ha you are some man culann. The only difference my post and the one of GAAMayo is this, I stated that our cynical stuff was no worse than what most other teams were doing, and the example I gave was dublin against laois, which is 100% true, dublin stopped laois getting goals, we stopped dublin getting goals. Now what does that say about your reaction?

Hi the waster. Your posts on this topic couldn't be more different than GAA Mayo's. Where, and find me the quote if its there, on this site can you be quoted saying anything similar to what GAAMayo said. My advice to everyone on this forum would be just to let the thread die. There is no point in discussing anything with you regarding Maigh Eo if you cannot be honest and upstraight and anylise and discuss the Mayo team, tactics and every other thing to do with them honestly.

On a different matter I would like to say i agree fully with every word Joe Brolly wrote in the Irish Mail on Sunday today. Spot on Joe. Fair play for calling a spade a spade.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 30/09/2012 11:41:40    1274995

I know some posters have alluded to soft frees as the reason Mayo got back into the match, but having seen most of the game since on tv I'd have some sympathy for Mo Deegan - he could have given both sides twice as many frees as he did. It seems that with the players becoming physically ever stronger, there's an expectation that foul thresholds should move higher too, and in the interests of continuity of play they generally have. This is probably why Mo didn't blow up for the Cillian O'Connor foul before the second goal - the push to ground didn't injure him, so he waved play on. What he did after, was just call the game more within the rules. Our lads deserved their fightback and to close the gap... they played some great stuff, but came up short, and Donegal deserved their victory over the 70 mins. Our lads will have learned a huge amount from being involved all the way this year - hard games are where the sharp lessons are learned and teams are really forged, and Donegal fair dues to them have shown the way.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/09/2012 13:14:40    1275042

Well well, first off well done to Donegal on a deserved victory and hard luck to our own lads who fought till the bitter end.

The game itself was far from a classic but that was expected in fairness,

If anyone thinks this Mayo team is finished you could be in for a surprise imo but it is a long road back to the final next year too.

The heartbreak we all felt last sunday (genuine Mayo GAA people*, as there was a lot of people at the game who you wouldn't even see at a connacht final) will live long in the memory unless we get over the line, i looked at men like my uncles and aul fella who are heading into their twilight years now , they had aged ten years before and after the game, they really believed this was the one, a generation will slip away soon, please god we can give them one.

It was my sixth final last week like many other Mayo supporters and i can understand why the media and what have ya give out the aul " sure Mayo don't win finals, they choke" blah blah....i felt a twinge of that walking out of croker last week, i was angry but we can't give up as supporters because this panel is not giving up by a long shot, we have youth on our side and Mayo can always produce a footballer or two as its natural to our region , we'll have Andy back flying next year and you never know who might fly back from oz to give us a dig out.

Proud Mayo man. TAL.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/09/2012 13:54:42    1275056

51 not long enough, Mayo were nowhere near good enough to win and are a good bit off what it will take to win an All Ireland. Dun na nGall played that whole game in third gear. They were nowhere near their best. They didn't have to be. Read Joe Brolly in the Mail on Sunday today. He makes a lot of sence.

Regarding Mayo pulling out of the New York match, they should be ashamed of themselves. This is another sign of their arrogance. I wonder had they won the All Ireland this year would they have travelled. They new this game was coming up for a long while now. I hope Mayo never win anything again.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 30/09/2012 14:28:27    1275073

im yet to see mayo win an all ireland as have everyone else on hoganstand so forgive me if i say couldnt care less if mayo made a pact with the devil himself if it meant we won the all ireland. i wouldnt care if it was tainted either. nobody ever gives us any respect and ye all moan if we play nice football that we arent tough enough to win now you are complaining we are too cynical. and to those tyrone posters who are complaining about our cynical tackling ye are ones to talk sure we learned from the best there didnt we. being nice wins you nothing so if mayo put a few noses out of place so be it.

also congrates to donegal well done best team all year.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 30/09/2012 14:50:58    1275083

Culann: 'Read Joe Brolly in the Mail on Sunday today.'

You serious Culann..? Brolly sets out to be as contentious as he possibly can... his opinions probably rarely feature, just whatever noise he thinks will get the most attention.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/09/2012 21:01:53    1275358

Some may find the way Brolly delivers his opinions a bit in your face but that shouldn't hide the fact that he is spot on 99% of the time. Ridicule him and his style all you want but you can't belittle his words; he is the most accurate and analytical GAA pundit on this island.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 30/09/2012 21:48:20    1275395

Pericles
You serious Culann..? Brolly sets out to be as contentious as he possibly can... his opinions probably rarely feature, just whatever noise he thinks will get the most attention.

I wouldn't agree with that at all. As can be seen on this thread alone many have been saying the same things. It is very hard to disagree with anything he says in this article. His attitude may be wrong (or maybe his motive for it) but what he is saying is very accurate in my opinion.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 01/10/2012 09:22:38    1275434

Culann
I hope Mayo never win anything again

Very harsh statement there Culann and I disappointed a poster of your quality has reverted to such cheap shots on this thread. Two such poster on this thread are repeating themselves over and over again with the "Brolly is right line" - but id ignore that, as they are clearly out to antagonise people.

I can understand that Dublin people might not like Mayo since we have a habit of beating ye but l judge people in the real world and not on an internet forum. Dublin people are dead on and I even met a former Dublin manager (who is not popular in Mayo) and he is sound as you get.

"I hope we meet again" as the Saw doctors song goes.....Mayo v Dublin creates the best atmosphere in my opinion. As for our team pulling out of the NYC trip - I agree its a disgrace and it they couldn't field a team...bring in players from the development squad and even some minors. Hardly justifies you hoping a county never wins anything again.

Some of the comment on this thread and you would swear that Mayo were a big bad monster...funny I have heard nothing much about it in the press (Bar that Derry lad).

Thats my bit anyway

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 01/10/2012 09:45:10    1275444

clondalkindub, explain to me how dublin stopping laois scoring goals when they needed them is any less cynical than mayo stopping dublin scoring goals when they needed them.

Culann, your posts would seem far less biased if you dropped the name-calling. So my advice would be to ramp it up, to properly reflect your views on the matter

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/10/2012 10:04:17    1275453

Brolly's manner would not be many people's cup of tea & it certainly isn't mine. There are times when he really is asking for a slap & Colm O'Rourke looks at times as if he is ready to give him one but & it's a big but, he has called Donegal right this year from way back in June in a way that nobody else did.

It's just a pity that he muddies it up with the childish stuff.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/10/2012 11:31:22    1275528