Ha ha, waynos a good little writer but isn't cynical enough to oust our good friend Brolly!
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 24/09/2012 21:52:21
Difference is... Joe obviously understands football.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/09/2012 21:59:54
I am well and truly gutted after that......travelling into work this morning felt like someone had dropped a car on me and this is not a feeling brought on by high stool antics. Standing on the hill Sunday and watching that second goal go in for Donegal felt like all the ghosts of the past had somehow just flashed before my eyes, a sickness in the pit of my stomach set in which is still there. I overheard somebody say on the way out that you must get used to loosing All Irelands....? - The answer there is that is gets worse, much worse.
As I met fans coming towards myself and my 3 other battle weary mates you get the nod of familiar faces, the odd comment of "same old story, different year" - the sympathetic look from other fans....the look you kind of give someone in a funeral.
I spoke to two of the players yesterday evening in Castlebar so I can only imagine how they feel....one thing that did warm the heart is how upbeat and positive they were and determined to make it better next year. All the above may sound depressing and I know it may sound like a broken record from a Mayo fan but that is how it feels and will do for a few weeks at least.....no doubt things will get better and when next Jan comes around and the FBD league starts, we can all begin to dream again.
I am and always will be proud to be from Mayo.
P.S Well done and congrats to Donegal and their wonderful fans and I genuinely mean that.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11692 - 25/09/2012 09:08:28
I have to say I agree waynoI. The way Mayo fought back in the face of such a massive task was inspiring and a real testament to the character of such a young group, and I dont get how people can stick the boot into them with such delight afterwards. Both of these finalists lit up this years championship and they deserve credit. For the dubs saying mayo deserved what they got because of their semi final tactics, does that work the other way around when dublin got to the semi by using the same tactics against laois?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/09/2012 11:16:48
Well said Yewtree. Well it wasn't like the other games Mayo made a fist of it and but for a missed frees it could have been squeaky bum time. Anyway you're in a lot better place than most of us our and Horan definitely appears to be the man for the job.
Somebody could do with trying to find the widow or her descendants though just to be on the safe side.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 25/09/2012 11:20:15
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 9716
Mayo... well you got what you deserved. Nothing...
Ouch!
FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 25/09/2012 11:24:18
There are always guys on here ready to stick the boot in. It could be Meath one day, Cork the next and now its Mayo's turn. I'm not sure what the motivation is in trying to kick a person when they're down, perhaps I'm from a different generation to most on here but its something I'll never understand. Mayo beat Cork in quarters last year, reached the Final this year and battled bravely after a sickening start to the game. They are one of the best teams in the Country without doubt and those doing the mocking would do well to look at the fortunes of their own Counties. I can imagine the pain of genuine Mayo Supporters, thats 6 losing Finals since 1951 and its understandable if they dispair of ever winning Sam again. However think of the Counties that have never made any Finals in the past 60 years. Ye have a good team and a good tradition and whilst Final success is never assured, ye will be contenders again next year, its a long road that has no turning. Best of luck to all in Mayo.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 25/09/2012 11:44:06
For the dubs saying mayo deserved what they got because of their semi final tactics, does that work the other way around when dublin got to the semi by using the same tactics against laois?
Wheres your stats to back up that comment ? Joe Brolly put stats as clear as the light of Day to highlight Mayo's gameplan to foul foul foul. I took no pleasure in seeing you lose but you have persistently tried to deny the fact that Mayo utilised underhand tactics to beat Dublin the foul count was bad enough but what was sickening was players faking cramp after 40 mins that is shameful and you did it for the whole second half not afew moments at the end.
I hope you never have to resort to such antics again best of luck next year.
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 25/09/2012 11:45:06
Great post yew_tree
I know exactly how you feel having been there with Donegal for many's a year. I thought of ye on more than one occasion on Sun evening realising that great & all as I felt, there are two sides to that particular coin and that people like yourself, Master & others were in the pits.
I don't see how anyone can say same old same old to this Mayo team. That performance on Sunday bore no relation to capitulations of old & I am not in the least surprised to hear that the players are raring to go for next year. That is a sign of a well managed side & I have no doubt that ye will be better next year especially with Andy Moran back.
Two things went against Mayo in this game, one self inflicted & one luck. The first was the mismatch which led to the goal and nearly led to another. It shouldn't have happened in the first place & then shouldn't have been let go for so long without changing it. If that third goal had gone in........ The second was the ball back of the post. You can't legislate for that, although when the same thing happened at the Donegal end they had more numbers back.
How the game would have gone if the two goals hadn't gone in no-one knows. Mayo have some terrific players & their work ethic and willingness to get down and dirty meant that for the first time this year Donegal were genuinely on the back foot for a spell & it was the first time this year that I willed half time to come!!!!! The big difference between the two sides was the performances of the respective full forward lines but Andy Moran would go a long way towards redressing that!!!
As for Donegal, I'm thrilled, both for themselves & the county as a whole. There is still a lot of room for improvement & I look forward to seeing that next year. What's hard to believe now is that these players, who have stood shoulder to shoulder all summer will be knocking lumps out of each other next Sunday as we have a club championship to run off in five weeks!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/09/2012 12:12:06
Wheres your stats to back up that comment ? Joe Brolly put stats as clear as the light of Day to highlight Mayo's gameplan to foul foul foul. I took no pleasure in seeing you lose but you have persistently tried to deny the fact that Mayo utilised underhand tactics to beat Dublin the foul count was bad enough but what was sickening was players faking cramp after 40 mins that is shameful and you did it for the whole second half not afew moments at the end.
I hope you never have to resort to such antics again best of luck next year. Bluewave , 25/09/2012 at 11:45
He is blind to all this. He pretends none of this happened.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/09/2012 12:18:30
All I can say is fair play to Joe Brolly.
He confirmed everything that was being said by a select few on this site! Lads who have obviously played the game….
His comments had the impact I hoped they would.
Straight away Deegan dished out the yellow that should have come weeks earlier. He was wise to Mayo… as I hope all refs are now.
Mayo's "tactic" went straight out the window after that... which took away their ludicrous advantage of being able to foul throughout the entire game unpunished.
As I said I'm delighted for the likes of themaster... he's really been badly exposed. Nothing but a blind cheerleader.
I've never been shy of exposing some home truths about Dublin... it's a forum after all... not feckin cheerleading try outs.
Now certain people are trying to compare Dublin's faults to Mayo's... sorry but you can't compare chalk and cheese.
All the stats were published clearly in black and white... facts that were ignored by the vast majority. Who obviuosly just dont have the intelligence to recognise it in the first place,
The two sets of circumstances are nowhere near the same... these people know as much...
But they just don't have the gonads to go back on all their spin and political like responses now...
You deserved nothing. That's exactly what you got.
If Mayo continues to play like this... I hope that trend continues. A whole pile of Nothing.
51 can remain... Long ago.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/09/2012 13:00:48
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 839
They got what they deserved in the end. If people want to turn a blind eye to such... then IMO they have no place near a Gaelic pitch.
We were proved absolutely right.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/09/2012 13:02:32
The authorities are the people who should be getting it in the neck about this as much as the individual counties. It is up to the authorities to set the framework within which the game is played not the managers & players, their job is to win. By punishing cynical fouling with frees taken from the 14 yard line, accumulating yellow cards for suspensions & moving the ball up 30 yds instead of 14 for messing you would stop a lot of what goes on.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/09/2012 15:24:00
Bluewave Wheres your stats to back up that comment ? Joe Brolly put stats as clear as the light of Day to highlight Mayo's gameplan to foul foul foul. I took no pleasure in seeing you lose but you have persistently tried to deny the fact that Mayo utilised underhand tactics to beat Dublin the foul count was bad enough but what was sickening was players faking cramp after 40 mins that is shameful and you did it for the whole second half not afew moments at the end.
Im not denying it happened, im saying that the dubs done the same thing to get to the semi, so them getting up on their high horse is a non-entity because everything a dub says about mayo applies to themselves also. Jimbo and culann, do you deny the above? You have point blank refused to address this over and over. If you keep avoiding it im just going to keep saying it, and round and round we go. Otherwise we can just take it as read that everything you are saying about mayo, you also say about dublin, and indeed donegal, whose tactic of fouling in the middle third when an opponent wins possession is far more cynical than anything mayo done to dublin. I dont hold it against them though, fouling a man out the field has been there for donkeys years and there are far more cynical things in the game at present. You are right about one thing though, mayo did get what they deserved, a place in the final as the 2nd best team in the country.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/09/2012 15:37:11
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 4819
I spoke about it to Royald.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/09/2012 15:44:58
Chalk and cheese.
Again
Fair play to Brolly
He played his part for Donegal... and for football in general. Deegan was clued in from the word go...
He's gone way up in my books
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/09/2012 15:52:30
Im not denying it happened, im saying that the dubs done the same thing to get to the semi, so them getting up on their high horse is a non-entity because everything a dub says about mayo applies to themselves also. Jimbo and culann, do you deny the above? You have point blank refused to address this over and over. If you keep avoiding it im just going to keep saying it, and round and round we go. Otherwise we can just take it as read that everything you are saying about mayo, you also say about dublin, and indeed donegal, whose tactic of fouling in the middle third when an opponent wins possession is far more cynical than anything mayo done to dublin.
Be reasonable. Read back over the my posts. I have addressed your point over and over again. Anyone, Dublin included, who wins by implementing a fouling system deserves nothing. End of. Mayo, however, (and I think this is where the problem is with yiou especially) have brought this fouling system to a whole new level as was seen against the Dubs and what was seen against Donegal. No team can compare with Mayo in this regard. Can you admit that? If you cant thats ok but stop sproating rubbish if you cannot admit it.
If you like that fouling system and think well hay thats football fair enough but in my opinion its disgustuing and Mayo got what they deserved. Fair play Brolly for highlithging this.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/09/2012 16:37:40
Be reasonable. Read back over the my posts. I have addressed your point over and over again. Anyone, Dublin included, who wins by implementing a fouling system deserves nothing. End of. Mayo, however, (and I think this is where the problem is with yiou especially) have brought this fouling system to a whole new level as was seen against the Dubs and what was seen against Donegal. No team can compare with Mayo in this regard. Can you admit that? If you cant thats ok but stop sproating rubbish if you cannot admit it.
If you like that fouling system and think well hay thats football fair enough but in my opinion its disgustuing and Mayo got what they deserved. Fair play Brolly for highlithging this.
+1
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/09/2012 16:50:34
Be reasonable. Read back over the my posts. I have addressed your point over and over again. Anyone, Dublin included, who wins by implementing a fouling system deserves nothing. End of.
You say that yet argue that dublin were cheated by mayo and mayo got what they deserved in the final. Surely by the same reasoning, dublin got what they deserved in the semi also? You want to have it every way.
Mayo, however, (and I think this is where the problem is with yiou especially) have brought this fouling system to a whole new level as was seen against the Dubs and what was seen against Donegal. No team can compare with Mayo in this regard. Can you admit that? If you cant thats ok but stop sproating rubbish if you cannot admit it.
Mayo had 6 less fouls than donegal in the game, and while mayo got 5 yellow cards, donegal got 1. Clearly our 'fouling system' is not up to that of donegals, so what game you were looking at I dont know. Furthermore our 2 early yellow cards werent for cynical fouls, but for rash obvious ones. As for dublin, I disagree with this, dublin done the same thing in the laois game, the only difference is they started doing it later because laois started going for goals later. That is the only difference between the two. The ethos was the same, the execution was the same. Furthermore, these 'fouling systems' have been around since adam was a boy. Brolly has just put a new name on them so he can use them as a cane and the fools are buying it hook line and sinker.
Then dublin must have gotten what they deserved too. As for brolly, fine highlight it, but he should also highlight donegal doing the same thing, as well as dublin, and tyrone for the last 10 years, then I would also say fair play to him.
I dont agree with
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/09/2012 17:16:27
cillian o connor should have been sent off master
ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 25/09/2012 17:23:22