Totally different Mayo teams kerryrowz and you know it, give it a rest now! Go on now, no more Kerry chat with ya! ;)
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 23/09/2012 21:49:28
Loosing is always tough but lets face it Donegal were the best team this year. Mayo didnt cave in and showed great composure to come back but the lead was too much for them to claw back. Mayo fans although disappointed can take heart in that their team gave it their all and will be back again next year. Liam keegans point was incredible. Still picking my sister in law up form the airport watching many happy Donegal fans get on planes back to london i thought it might give them something to hang on to such a long way from home. I shook their hands and wished them well. Dublin were there last year and its great feeling to win Sam. Enjoy it, days like this are few and far between.
spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 23/09/2012 21:50:38
These Kerry whingers really are like a bad smell GateKeeper; they need another 87 -96 period in the wilderness to teach them some more humility.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 23/09/2012 21:54:38
kerryrowz County: Kerry Posts: 419
1271365 Congrats Donegal. They did it the hard way beating Tyrone Kerry and cork to win Sam. Mayo had a handy run in which came against them in the final.
Will Donegal all ireland considerd to be soft as they beat Mayo. as Kerry 04 and 06 Sams were??????????????????????????????/. ________________________ There never was such a thing as a 'soft' all Ireland, that and 'puke' football should be consigned to the dustbin of GAA mythology once and for all.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/09/2012 08:51:47
kerryrowz County: Kerry Posts: 419
1271365 Congrats Donegal. They did it the hard way beating Tyrone Kerry and cork to win Sam. Mayo had a handy run in which came against them in the final.
Will Donegal all ireland considerd to be soft as they beat Mayo. as Kerry 04 and 06 Sams were??????????????????????????????/.
There is no such thing as a soft All Ireland.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/09/2012 08:58:39
Delighted for Donegal.
Fully deserved the win as they were strongest football team in the country this year.
Gutted for Mayo and for Horan & Nallen on the line,two great guys.
Mayo have nothing to be ashamed about,they showed some character out there yesterday.
Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 24/09/2012 09:16:44
There's not culann but it's great gas winding the Kerry folk up by telling them that. By the same token there is no such thing as puke football just different styles with good and bad points. Mayo must still be feeling very sore today and you have to sympathise. They showed great heart yesterday but by the same token Donegal were on a different level and nerves stopped them handing Mayo an awful beating. If they had scored that third goal they could have put a serious score on the board.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 24/09/2012 09:20:25
TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 1082
1271382 Totally different Mayo teams kerryrowz and you know it, give it a rest now! Go on now, no more Kerry chat with ya! ;)
Why are they different? Are Cork also different? Any time Kerry beat them in Croke Park there ''bottlers'' is that not the same now? Or is it only when Kerry beat them?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/09/2012 09:38:14
Great to see that their epidemic cramp issues cleared up when they found themselves behind
Great to see Brollys comments having a similar impact to Horan's comments in the build up to the game
Great to see M Deegan dishing out a yellow card straight away to the Mayo half forwards and stopping their tactic of well... basically fouling for the entire game.
Great to see the Mayo players moaning about Donegal players going down holding their face and not getting up and wasting a bit of time. Priceless stuff...
What goes around comes around... even when Mayo get down and filthy and bring the game of cynicism to a new feckin level they still aren't good enough.
The likes of themaster's comments over the last few weeks defending such antics and flatly refusing to listen to anyone else... I was more than happy to see Mayo lose.
Such antics should not be rewarded and I tip my hat to Joe Brolly and his excellent take on the GAA in 2012. He was 100% right about Mayo.
How in the hell wasn't a Mayo man sent off in the first half to boot... closed fist into the stomach
Luckily his name wasn't Diarmuid Connolly.... who was sent off with a straight red for a mirror like incident.
Congrats to Donegal... best team by a distance in 2012. Enjoy your time with Sam... You deserve it 100%
Mayo... well you got what you deserved. Nothing...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/09/2012 10:15:14
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 5571
1271423 There's not culann but it's great gas winding the Kerry folk up by telling them that. By the same token there is no such thing as puke football just different styles with good and bad points. Mayo must still be feeling very sore today and you have to sympathise. They showed great heart yesterday but by the same token Donegal were on a different level and nerves stopped them handing Mayo an awful beating. If they had scored that third goal they could have put a serious score on the board.
You only wind up one or two, the most of us have more sense. You're spot on with what you say though about the game, Mayo fought well but just lacked the top-class forwards that Donegal have.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/09/2012 10:25:51
Great to see that their epidemic cramp issues cleared up when they found themselves behind
Great to see Brollys comments having a similar impact to Horan's comments in the build up to the game
Great to see M Deegan dishing out a yellow card straight away to the Mayo half forwards and stopping their tactic of well... basically fouling for the entire game.
Great to see the Mayo players moaning about Donegal players going down holding their face and not getting up and wasting a bit of time. Priceless stuff...
What goes around comes around... even when Mayo get down and filthy and bring the game of cynicism to a new feckin level they still aren't good enough.
The likes of themaster's comments over the last few weeks defending such antics and flatly refusing to listen to anyone else... I was more than happy to see Mayo lose.
Such antics should not be rewarded and I tip my hat to Joe Brolly and his excellent take on the GAA in 2012. He was 100% right about Mayo.
How in the hell wasn't a Mayo man sent off in the first half to boot... closed fist into the stomach
Luckily his name wasn't Diarmuid Connolly.... who was sent off with a straight red for a mirror like incident.
Congrats to Donegal... best team by a distance in 2012. Enjoy your time with Sam... You deserve it 100%
Mayo... well you got what you deserved. Nothing... jimbodub , 24/09/2012 at 10:15
+ 1 but i'd just like to add that Cillian O' Conor hit out three times! Defo should have walked.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/09/2012 10:26:34
I'd say that was a pretty fair assessment Jimbo.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/09/2012 10:33:06
Well done Donegal.. Deserved win. Enjoy the celebrations...
Just a point how many men on here actually play GAA. Some amount of key board warriors here talking pure sh*** about both teams. Easy all Ireland's ... Cynical fouling.... Deserving nothing etc etc...Some men on here should start playing a bit of ball with their local club... Their perspectives might change then. Again well done Donegal. From zero to Heros in 2 seasons. It's not long since that bad day in Crossmaglen. For Mayo heads up Lads, young team and hopefully bounce back for 2013 championship.
velo (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 24/09/2012 10:43:25
Aw what a day!!! Managed to get tickets in the end last minute from a contact that came good, 2nd row of lower tier davin so not the best but what odds!
First of all, commiserations to Mayo. They got off to a terrible start but battled away after that and scored some brilliant points. The Mayo people were incredibly sporting in defeat, many joining in with the singing and celebrations post match. My heart goes out especially to someone like Alan Dillon. A brilliant player who has now lost 3 all Ireland finals and he looked a broken man. Had his hands full yesterday with Lacey but he has had a great year and I hope he keeps at it because he's great to watch.
It wasn't our best performance by any means but who cares. I knew when we had such a lead at the start that it would be hard to stop Mayo coming back into it but we kept the goals out and that was key. We used the diagonal ball well in the opening quarter but the supply dried up a bit after that. Too many times we gave away possession in the transition phase of defence to attack but credit Mayo for their defending as well. They didn't leave us with easy passing options on any part of the pitch. Murphys placekicking was exemplary in the second half and then when Gallagher got that lovely point I think that's when we started to realise we were going to win.
Can't wait to welcome the boys home tonight, hope they savour every minute of it. People might start talking about what they can do next year now but forget about that for now, nobody can ever take this away from them. UP DONEGAL!!!
benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1435 - 24/09/2012 11:08:37
MooMoo Ya thats it everyone is out to get the Ulster boys. Its funny you and alot of Tyrone posters have often said thats its only teams from the 6 counties that are ''Ulster'' yet now Donegal fit into Ulster for you, i wonder why that is?
Ehh??? No Tyrone Gaa supporter\nationalist would deem Ulster as 6 counties. You're confusing them with East Belfast\Linfield\Glasgow Rangers types Your post is an accusation you've just made up!!
Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 24/09/2012 11:14:24
Any All ireland Kerry win is considered soft if its Mayo we beat but i guess any other county beating Mayo is not considered soft
wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 24/09/2012 11:38:51
WFKerry Any All ireland Kerry win is considered soft if its Mayo we beat but i guess any other county beating Mayo is not considered soft
Donegal beat Down, Tyrone, Kerry, Cork and then beat Mayo. In 2006 and 2009 kerry beat the likes of longford, antrim, sligo and poor dublin and meath teams on way to their finals. The only teams they beat of any note were Armagh ( on their last legs) and Cork (emerging) who had already beaten Kerry in Munster
Mayo weren't the sole reason why Kerry's AI's were considered handy! Donegal did it the hard way. That's the difference
Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 24/09/2012 11:57:36
Well done Donegal an excellent performance and fully deserving All-Ireland Champions. Commiserations to Mayo. No shame in losing to a very good Donegal team who won the All-Ireland the hard way. James Horan in his 2 years in charge he has brought Mayo to a AI semi-final and an AI Final. That's progress and hopefully with a few more tweeks to the system and with Andy Moran back that will make the difference.
Why does every thread turn into a Ulster vs the rest of the country?
mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 24/09/2012 12:00:03
Meath_bhoy County: Meath Posts: 573
1271569 WFKerry Any All ireland Kerry win is considered soft if its Mayo we beat but i guess any other county beating Mayo is not considered soft
Donegal beat Down, Tyrone, Kerry, Cork and then beat Mayo. In 2006 and 2009 kerry beat the likes of longford, antrim, sligo and poor dublin and meath teams on way to their finals. The only teams they beat of any note were Armagh ( on their last legs) and Cork (emerging) who had already beaten Kerry in Munster
Mayo weren't the sole reason why Kerry's AI's were considered handy! Donegal did it the hard way. That's the difference
lol well Kerry can't beat Kerry can they?! There's always one fella.......
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/09/2012 12:04:15
Meath_bhoy County: Meath Posts: 573
1271569 WFKerry Any All ireland Kerry win is considered soft if its Mayo we beat but i guess any other county beating Mayo is not considered soft
When Kerry beat Cork in Croke Park it was said because Cork bottled it, yet when they lose to another team they dont whys that? When Kerry beat Tyrone this year we were told they were on there last legs yet Donegal beat them and its a great win for them
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/09/2012 12:13:06