My heart goes out to Mayo

yew_tree

1275444 Culann
I hope Mayo never win anything again

Very harsh statement there Culann and I disappointed a poster of your quality has reverted to such cheap shots on this thread. Two such poster on this thread are repeating themselves over and over again with the "Brolly is right line" - but id ignore that, as they are clearly out to antagonise people.

I can understand that Dublin people might not like Mayo since we have a habit of beating ye but l judge people in the real world and not on an internet forum. Dublin people are dead on and I even met a former Dublin manager (who is not popular in Mayo) and he is sound as you get.

"I hope we meet again" as the Saw doctors song goes.....Mayo v Dublin creates the best atmosphere in my opinion. As for our team pulling out of the NYC trip - I agree its a disgrace and it they couldn't field a team...bring in players from the development squad and even some minors. Hardly justifies you hoping a county never wins anything again.

Some of the comment on this thread and you would swear that Mayo were a big bad monster...funny I have heard nothing much about it in the press (Bar that Derry lad).

Thats my bit anyway

Firstly yew_tree I would like to state that I have respect for all the people who come on here to post. We are all true GAA folk at the end of the day and care about are counties and games enough to come on here discussing things we all have in common. I have had a good few differences of opinion with people on here since I started posting but respect them all (even the waster!!) and would hold yourself in high regard especially. That said you have taken issue regarding me saying that I hope Maigh Eo never win again and with my attitude and continued repeating of my views on Maigh Eo's clear tactic of startegic fouling and I in turn take issue with this.

I presume Mayo have known for a long while that this game with New York would be taking place and I find it very arrogant and unprofessional that they have decided to pull out of this committment. These games mean a lot to the New Yorks of this world and this decision by Mayo shows a total lack of respect for them. While this arrogance and total lack of respect continues (along with your counties tactic of strategic fouling) I do not want to see Mayo triumph and I will not apologise for that.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 01/10/2012 11:42:03    1275540

Culann, your posts would seem far less biased if you dropped the name-calling. So my advice would be to ramp it up, to properly reflect your views on the matter

Are you taking issue with me slagging your username?? Are you messing??? Reagrding the 'matter' I would advise you reflect openly and honest on it and take off your rose tinted glasses (or whatever that phrase is)!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 01/10/2012 11:44:55    1275541

Brolly's manner would not be many people's cup of tea & it certainly isn't mine. There are times when he really is asking for a slap & Colm O'Rourke looks at times as if he is ready to give him one but & it's a big but, he has called Donegal right this year from way back in June in a way that nobody else did.

It's just a pity that he muddies it up with the childish stuff.
MuckrossHead , 01/10/2012 at 11:31

The delivery mightn't always be brilliant but his analysis is spot on.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 01/10/2012 11:46:51    1275544

Culann: While this arrogance and total lack of respect continues (along with your counties tactic of strategic fouling) I do not want to see Mayo triumph and I will not apologise for that.

I have agreed with you on the New York issue and as someone who has travelled to Mayo games in New York, it means alot to the community out there and I am sure the large Mayo population in New York are disappointed. I am sure if we had won Sam they would all be out there (County Board officials lapping it up). I cant defend that point.

Regarding tactical fouling - Mayo have adopted a more cynical approach and its my view that it is not as bad as some folk in here make out...if it was the national media would be chomping at the bit. We are playing within the rules....some tactical fouling was also on display in croker yesterday. It is up to the GAA to come up with a counter attack to this sort of play. To my mind the total blanket defence is terrible to watch and was brought in a number of years ago and from what I have read over the last week many commentators have said Mayo played some of the best football this year.

At the end of the day I couldn't care less if we won Sam with two late own goals by the opposition as I have never seen it. Indeed a neighbour of mine who is on his last legs was hoping to see Mayo lift sam before he departs for the Gaa pitch in the sky. I just feel this thread has turned into a "bash Mayo anyway you can thread"

Culann if that's you view on Mayo....I wont change it and I respect your opinion- I am just hoping we can prove everyone wrong next year and come back stronger.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11692 - 01/10/2012 12:08:59    1275566

I hope Mayo never win anything again too!!!

When Ciaran McDonald scored that point a few years ago Mayo won for and square. No gripes!!!

But their antics four weeks ago was a disgrace. And disgraceful refereeing too.

Lying on the ground pretending to be injured.....for half a half.

Horrible behaviour. And not enough GAA folk have highlighted this.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/10/2012 12:27:08    1275577

Culann, your name-calling is childish and has no place on the forum. You are dragging the arguments down to a level where they shouldnt be, it looks pretty pathetic. I could come up with a name, similar to your username, that reflects how you come across; you can keep the C and the U and one of the Ns... but then Im not the petty schoolyard type. The point I put to clondalkindub is the one thing that you have refused to address. Are you not able to? I dont care to hear more of your points, just address the point like a good lad.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/10/2012 12:59:56    1275605

The point I put to clondalkindub is the one thing that you have refused to address. Are you not able to? I dont care to hear more of your points, just address the point like a good lad.

You have refused point blank to deal with the issues here. Now what point did you put to Clondalkiin so that I can give you a straight answer - something of which you are incapable of. A simple questyion and a simple honest answer! Shoot.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 01/10/2012 13:56:01    1275672

Getting a bit sick of reading some of the nonsense on here.

Culann, you hate deliberate fouling for any reason? For example, Brian Cullen's cynical, and dangerous, foul on Alan Dillon early in the semi final? How about Enda Varley getting his face bust open? There was plenty of deliberate fouling going on in the Mayo full forward line too, sly pushes, some that were punished, most that were not. And a trip down memory lane shows us the great Ciaran Whelan close lining ROnan McGarrity and getting a slap on the wrist for it, because he couldn't handle him in football terms.

Stones, glass houses and all that.

The decision by the county board to pull out of the NYC trip is an absolute disgrace.

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 01/10/2012 17:15:00    1275896

Jaysus lads, give it a rest, game over, no All-Ireland winners there!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 01/10/2012 17:26:59    1275904

Mayo were poor in the second half v dublin, but it is all in the past now. i think that next year will sort out a lot of these arguments. It is very interesting to b looking forward to another year as all ireland champions, and im sure all the teams we beat this year mayo included will b out to get us.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 01/10/2012 17:35:55    1275910

MayoMark

1275896 Getting a bit sick of reading some of the nonsense on here.

Culann, you hate deliberate fouling for any reason? For example, Brian Cullen's cynical, and dangerous, foul on Alan Dillon early in the semi final? How about Enda Varley getting his face bust open? There was plenty of deliberate fouling going on in the Mayo full forward line too, sly pushes, some that were punished, most that were not. And a trip down memory lane shows us the great Ciaran Whelan close lining ROnan McGarrity and getting a slap on the wrist for it, because he couldn't handle him in football terms.

Stones, glass houses and all that.

Cullen's foul was dangerous and it was wrong. He was lucky not to be sent off for it. I wouldn't call it synical however. He didn't foul to keep a player out or to stop Mayo tactics or teams on the break. You say you are 'Getting a bit sick of reading some of the nonsense on here' yet you obviously are not reading it properly. I am talking about Mayo's diving, fouling the Dubs breaking out off the ball to stop options, diving, time wasting, using extra subs etc. etc. As has been pointed out repeatedly but to deaf ears from Mayo folk is that Mayo, this year, brought this to a whole new level - way way above anyone else.

Now as someone said a wee bit above this post I think it is time for all to move on. There is an old saying as Gaeilge. Filleann an feall ar an bhfeallaire. Beware muintir Mhaigh Eo.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 01/10/2012 21:48:50    1276129

Culann, since you are incapable of scrolling back a single page, here you are:

clondalkindub, explain to me how dublin stopping laois scoring goals when they needed them is any less cynical than mayo stopping dublin scoring goals when they needed them.

How will you dodge it this time?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/10/2012 10:06:19    1276190

1276190 Culann, since you are incapable of scrolling back a single page, here you are:

clondalkindub, explain to me how dublin stopping laois scoring goals when they needed them is any less cynical than mayo stopping dublin scoring goals when they needed them.

Its just as synical and I am totally against this as I have stated time and time again on this site. The difference between Mayo and Dublin however is that Dublin did this once or twice at the end of the game against Laois. Mayo did from the word go against Dublin. Not only did they deploy diliberate off the ball fouling as a tactic to stop Dublin breaking out, they also, feigned injury, rugby tackled Dublin players as they headed for goal as well as finishing the game with eight players that did not start the game.

May I pose a question to you. Do you think any other county in Ireland could compare with Mayo regarding levels of synisism?

By the way, on a different matter, what do you make of Mayo pulling out of the game against New York?

By the way unless I am given a challenging response I will be bidding farewell to this thread.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/10/2012 10:32:53    1276218

Culann

Don't waste your breath on them. They fouled and rolled around the ground for all to see the attempt of a certain individual to ignore the facts and argument posed by several posters from several different counties is a case of denial and utter ignorance.

Comparing Dublin v Laois to the antics Mayo produced is like comparing a gun shot to a atomic bomb, funny they don't compare their time wasting to any other game as there is nothing to compare it to, no one has ever wasted time and faked injury on a par with Mayo unless they are Italian playing in Serie A. The Roc pulled that Mayo fella off the ground when he was legitimately injured cause he thought like everyone else that he was cheating and wasting time like the rest of his team mates in the Red and Green.

Isn't it remarkable that none of the Mayo lads had cramp or serious injury when they were several points down to Donegal.
Mayo's physio should be nominated for a All Star she played a vital part in the semi running round the pitch and running down the clock and a dozen of them I'm sure will be nominated for Oscars that's probably why they ain't too bothered about going to New York sure they'l have to go to the states later in the year to pick up there Oscars.

They'l get a nice welcome to the capital in the league hope they leave their fog machine at home :)

UP TA DUBS !

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 02/10/2012 10:55:09    1276237

When were Laois once in for goal against Dublin? The ref gave Laois some of the softest frees I've ever seen. The only cynical foul a Dublin player did this year was Rory O Carroll on a Meath player in the Leinster final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/10/2012 11:01:04    1276243

Its just as synical and I am totally against this as I have stated time and time again on this site. The difference between Mayo and Dublin however is that Dublin did this once or twice at the end of the game against Laois. Mayo did from the word go against Dublin. Not only did they deploy diliberate off the ball fouling as a tactic to stop Dublin breaking out, they also, feigned injury, rugby tackled Dublin players as they headed for goal as well as finishing the game with eight players that did not start the game.

So if it is just as cynical then why are the dubs on this thread saying mayo didnt deserve to go through/deserved to lose the final. Surely if that is the case then the dubs didnt deserve to be in the semi either, so they cant be complaining? The point is it is a double standard, dublin posters are in no position to be so critical of mayo, when their own team were doing the same thing in the previous round.
As for it being at the end of the game, surely that is down to the fact that laois started going for goals at the end of the game, while dublin needed them with 20 minutes to go. The idea is exactly the same is it not? The fact that laois needed goals later in the game has no relevance on the level of cynicism involved. The cynical act was to stop them scoring the goals, the timing is irrelevant, stopping a goal with 20 minutes to go is no more cynical than stopping one with 5 to go.
The feigning injury I have repeatedly addressed, and every time it is ignored, left to one side, and then reproduced a few posts later. Every single player who 'feigned injury' was substituted either instantly or within 15 minutes. So mayo weakened their side, why exactly, to keep up the charade of being injured? Why would they do that? Not to mention the automatic extra time each sub incurs. could you explain that please?

May I pose a question to you. Do you think any other county in Ireland could compare with Mayo regarding levels of synisism?

I would say mayo are now on a par with the likes of kerry, dublin, meath, cork. I would say they are behind donegal.

By the way, on a different matter, what do you make of Mayo pulling out of the game against New York?

It is disappointing, but on the other side, too often does the club championship get pushed back far too late in the year. The weather deteriorates, pitches become poor and guys get injured. There are no winners. Either way, it is irrelevant to the point, there is enough being talked about on this thread.

By the way unless I am given a challenging response I will be bidding farewell to this thread.

I have given the above response several times on this thread, as well as other threads. You have never addressed it. If that is your attitude again on this occasion then bid farewll all you like.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/10/2012 14:00:06    1276414

Átha Cliath Cúilleain, your dislike for Mayo is amusing.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/10/2012 14:50:14    1282845