Donegal fans

I think perhaps peole might take Devenney and Cassidy's commnets with a pinch of salt. Especially the latter's for obvious reasons. He must be kicking himself :-) And I doubt that Devenney would be McGuinnesses cup of tea given some of what happened in the past.

As for the supporters, they are same as any others. Of course you are going to get band wagoners. We had them for years when every Dublin match filled the Park in Summer. Most of them have gone thankfully. Let Donegal people enjoy their day int he sun. Just once it's not at our expense again :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/08/2012 12:22:03    1253858

Note as well Liam the choice of language used by Cassidy....they and them....in reference to Donegal....not we or us.....says it all... Cassidy is no longer part of the set up...great servant in his time but couldn't keep himself out of the spotlight.... Devenney and Cassidy are two peas in a pod....unfortunately the media will always play to this fatal flaw in their characters (its all about me) and get silly sound bites and interviews from them when others with an inkling of cop on would know to shut up.... Please note, Devenney and Cassidy do not represent the people of Donegal when they come out with his kind of tosh! Its disturbing to keep reading their offerings day in and day out in the local and national media when in all reality their utterances are of no relevance whatsoever...!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/08/2012 12:30:23    1253863

Lifford Gael

Read my post above Liam.... For Devenney and Cassidy it always has been and still is all about them....pay no heed....there must be a name for the kind of guy that can't keep himself out of the spotlight....!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/08/2012 12:43:01    1253874

Liamwalkinstown

1253847 It just gets better and better!!
Direct tweet from Kevin Cassidy!

Tweets
26 Aug Kevin Cassidy ‏@KCASS7
Great result for Donegal today was the day they won the 2nd All Ireland Dublin or Mayo won't stop them well done

What can u say!!!!

LOL I actually saw that yesterday and replied to him (@bennysweens). Strange thing to say

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 28/08/2012 12:50:29    1253883

brendtheredhand

1253874 Lifford Gael

Read my post above Liam.... For Devenney and Cassidy it always has been and still is all about them....pay no heed....there must be a name for the kind of guy that can't keep himself out of the spotlight....!

Probably a bit harsh on Beckham! While he loves the spotlight he always kept personal and professional life separate and kept performances to a high standard.

Maybe Gavin Henson would be a good comparison though....he wrote a book that irked a few people while he was still playing!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 28/08/2012 12:55:25    1253889

what he say back to u benjy? what a thing to say!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2012 13:00:29    1253896

benjyyy

brendtheredhand

1253874 Lifford Gael

Probably a bit harsh on Beckham! While he loves the spotlight he always kept personal and professional life separate and kept performances to a high standard.

Maybe Gavin Henson would be a good comparison though....he wrote a book that irked a few people while he was still playing!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/08/2012 13:01:16    1253899

To spend time debating on Cassidy & Devenny has to be the definition of time put to loss.
I don't think the Dublin team will be motivated by any words either of them say. If they are then they are in real trouble

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/08/2012 13:31:37    1253931

Liamwalkinstown

1253896 what he say back to u benjy? what a thing to say!!

No reply...

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 28/08/2012 14:18:56    1253985

Dublin 4 sam 2012. I am grabbing 2/1 before the weekend. They will not let up for 2 in a row. Write them off at your peril.
Dublin will beat mayo sunday and donegal on the 23rd. I would like donegal to win. But its not going to happen

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 28/08/2012 14:26:12    1253995

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

swinginbeauts
Tyrone
28/08/2012
14:12

Jimmys Winning Matches

Cracking song that epitomizes the buzz before the all ireland final! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lj3_CoznGc Wonder will 'Jimmy from Senegal' make an appearnace at the All Ireland final or even better will Jim McGuiness pull a masterstroke and through him in at full forward?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 28/08/2012 14:51:23    1254022

ta32, I think there is a 50/50 chance that you are right. Dublin may well win the all ireland. That is the reality of it.

I am sorry i missed the devenney interview. I heard him at half time v kerry, and he wouldnt be the most diplomatic of speakers.

I think that his attitude sums up why the donegal team of his generation under achieved somewhat.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 28/08/2012 16:17:06    1254112

If you want a general consensus of what Genuine Donegal Fans think of Devenney take a wee look at our own page on Hogan Stand.

Cork, Dublin, Kerry & Tyrone have all competed in All Ireland Finals in the last number of years but didn't win them all. It's tough to win an All Ireland and just because we are in one won't guarantee anything. If you talk to any genuine Donegal fan you will find that we are confident that this team will give everything in the final, we have improved from last year and we definately won't be taking Mayo or Dublin for granted. Dublin know what it's like to win and AI and Mayo have the experience of being there on the big day.

Some other items have been raised about our fans in relation to booing and verbals to other fans. I hate to see booing of any player and some of our fans were at it, as some from other counties are too, but you'll find that 99% of these people never heard of The Mc Kenna Cup or how to get to county grounds other than Clones or Croke Park. These are the same people that give the foul and abusive language to other fans and players. If you put on the Donegal Jersey as a fan you represent your county, the support is welcome, shout as much in support of the team as you want but if you are shouting abuse then please just stay at home as your don't represent the majority of true fans in our county.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 28/08/2012 16:41:43    1254139

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

xxx
Mayo
28/08/2012
17:13

Jimmy's Winning Matches

Cant do links but check out Jimmy's Winning Matches on youtube.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 28/08/2012 17:18:23    1254184

xxx
Mayo
28/08/2012
17:13

Jimmy's Winning Matches

Cant do links but check out Jimmy's Winning Matches on youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lj3_CoznGc

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 28/08/2012 17:22:31    1254194

Cut the **** lads, yes Donegal fans were fantastic on Sunday, they do travel in numbers fair play to them and yes, they had some small number of fans who were booing the free-taker or the ref. ALL counties have that!!!!!! For christ's sake, how many matches and how many teams do people have to watch before they know this to be true? It may be in varying degree from county to county but there's no county I've ever seen who don't do it all and that includes my own

I'd give hats off to Donegal fans on sunday, the good far outweighted the bad

And as for BV, you know what they say about opinions, they're like..... and everyone's got one....

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 28/08/2012 17:55:55    1254232

Could someone please tell Snufalufagus that we don't do A levels in Donegal.
Donegal is in the republic.
Had to tell a Kildare fan in Quinns that we don't use Sterling a few weeks back.
Poor bugger looked confused.

Donegal_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 28/08/2012 19:28:42    1254357

The forgotten county of the republic it seems! surprised ulsterman hasn't set up a thread on that yet!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 28/08/2012 19:55:55    1254378