Soccer supporters at GAA games

First of all let me stress this isnt a wind-up but a genuine attempt to start a discussion...

I was at the Monaghan Antrim game in Clones yesterday and was stood under the commentary box. In front of me to the left was a group of 10-12 Antrim supporters who were very vocal throughout. Fine and dandy you might say. However I have no issue with fans being vocal, its to be applauded.

My chagrin is with their choice of songs. Soccer type chants, all of which are associated with Celtic games. These are annoying, irritating and should be resigned to those matches. Plus there was one attempt to start up "take it down from the mast...". This led to a few disgruntled Monaghan supporters asking them to hush up...and thankfully there wasnt anything nasty to follow which could easily have happened... indeed two gardai placed themselves beside them for the duration of the game I expect to 'police the matter'...

Now I know that these fans dont get to games that often, but could they not respect the game and other teams fans a bit more and they would be more welcome at games...

Did anyone else at the game take notice of this....?

ballyoisin_bomb (Monaghan) - Posts: 183 - 28/05/2012 11:08:33    1181689

These clowns are at every game, was the same in Thurles yesterday with the chant who are ya who are ya when an easy free was missed. It really annoys me because it is only a small group of fools who carry on like this but hey they are in every county.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 28/05/2012 12:04:33    1181748

The amount of Ulster supporters who seem to think that Celtic has something to do with GAA is wierd. You would never see a soccer jersey on the Hill. Then again I suppose, we have a much longer tradition.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/05/2012 12:09:27    1181754

i must stress that this behaviour was at stark contrast to the antrim fans i spoke to who were very knowledgeable an had harsh words for these "fans"!

the booing of freetakers was seriously embarassing and should be consigned to the aforementioned foreign sports...

but i suppose this is a problem which is only going to continue...

ballyoisin_bomb (Monaghan) - Posts: 183 - 28/05/2012 12:13:25    1181764

hurlingdub

Was'nt micheal davitt patron off the gaa and glasgow celtic ???

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 28/05/2012 12:20:52    1181773

Gaa supporters should go to the game and be very quiet and clap when a score goes over.

walkinglunchbox (Longford) - Posts: 334 - 28/05/2012 12:24:09    1181776

Yeah, Antim do seem to have a few supporters who have a few pints and start singing Celtic songs. Was the same in Newbridge a couple of years back. I don't like Nacho Novo either but don't feel the need to sing songs about him when at another sport.

As for never seeing a soccer jersey on the Hill, that's a fairly silly comment. I've seen plenty of Celtic jerseys on the Hill down through the years without a doubt.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/05/2012 12:26:31    1181779

Is there a more annoying and less knowledgeable set of fans than Celtic? They see themselves as more Irish than most by virtue of supporting a British football club and are quick to let you know about it with their soccer chanting and loutish behaviour. They really do give the GAA a bad name

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 28/05/2012 12:26:37    1181781

No idea Tom. Have no interest in British soccer teams. Ask Ulsterman :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/05/2012 12:29:57    1181786

Where were all the Monaghan and Antrim "fíor-Ghaeil" then?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 28/05/2012 12:31:04    1181788

Here we go.. here we go... here we go....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/05/2012 12:31:12    1181789

noticed it on the sunday game alright last night ...

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/05/2012 12:31:24    1181790

Was sitting in the stand on the far side off the field have to say they were quite vocal but couldn't here what they were singing as i was to far away, i taught they only added to the atmosphere.
Meet a few off them when i was walking up the street after with my wee man they were heading back to there bus with a few beers singing about Paddy McCourt and Derry City which I taught was very funny, the wee fella was asking me when they went past were they Antrim players they were singing about.
Have to say Antrim support at the game yesterday was great and any i got talking to were very sound.

Pukefootball (Monaghan) - Posts: 377 - 28/05/2012 12:37:49    1181800

the monaghan support was as vocal as could be expected when the standard of the match wasnt great... howvere when the team got on top late on it invariably increased in volume...

i have no problem with vocality as i have stressed... these fans seem to come from areas where soccer dominates not surpisingly...

at least they have only one more game to go 2...if they go at all

ballyoisin_bomb (Monaghan) - Posts: 183 - 28/05/2012 12:42:45    1181804

Thats what happens lads when you sign part of your country away to a soccer loving nation. Don't be complaining about it now..... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/05/2012 12:45:22    1181806

It was noticeable on the Sunday game last night and every time they zoomed to the crowd they went to the same Antrim supporters who were inevitably swinging a shirt around topless and repeatedly you could hear soccer-style chants.
The same was evident with Limerick supporters where they jeered Eoin Kelly with "who are ya" and were always cheering wides and trying to put free takers off. This is completely uncalled for behaviour and county chairmen for example should come out and ask their supporters to respect the opposition supporters and players. OK I believe it is always a minority but it was more than a minority from Limerick yesterday and such behaviour is not acceptable.
I am all for supporting Wexford in a positive manner and that does not include cheering wides etc as I dont think that is necessary.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 28/05/2012 12:45:40    1181807

Sorry, but why are "soccer songs" a bad thing?? Is this the 40's again lads?
So long as they are about their GAA team then whats the problem!
I would much rather hear 2000 lads singing funny catchy "soccer themed songs" once they insert county name in relevant place, as opposed to 2000 grown men and women going " Laois Laois Laois" or "Tipp Tipp Tipp" ..........or christ save us from "Uibh Fhaile Uibh Fhaile"

Lads, they are only songs, they add atmosphere....its a bit of craic, get over it!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 28/05/2012 12:46:46    1181808

I'd be so bold to say that at least 80%+ of any given GAA crowd... would also be soccer supporters.

Going by this site alone.. many if not all posters are also soccer fans in one way or another.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/05/2012 12:51:56    1181813

Ah lads would yous give it a rest, there was about ten lads singing a few songs would you all get over it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2012 12:59:29    1181817

i know every county has them but i thought the antrim supporters (i mean a group of about 15) in newbridge in 2010 when dermot earley buried his father that morning was rude they were drunk but bit of respect stand in silence when dermot jr is on the pitch for a minute silence for his father!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 28/05/2012 13:17:34    1181838