X-factor ruining music

Tongo
County: UK

1077637 Well X-Factor definitely ruined 'Run' by Snow Patrol.

In fairness Snow Patrol are not above doing what will make them a few quid and appeal to the mass market themselves.
Fair play to them but their not exactly starving in the garret in defence of their "art".
They would openly admit that themselves as they have done in interviews in the past.
Also - dont forget SP would be creaming the songwriter royalties there...

Music died the day Johny Robinson got sent home.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 30/11/2011 09:51:28    1077664

Its only a spa would watch it!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 30/11/2011 11:23:15    1077727

Music is supposed to have a meaning and a sentiment most of the time, which sometimes you only get from the person that writes the song, I hear that young derry one sang "under the bridge" on the show because it had meaning to her??...... things must be rough up there what would she know about class A drug addiction with is what the song is about.

This show use's people use's the music industry and makes sure even more of the money goes to the same people rather than struggling artists and snog writers trying to make their way in the world.... it's nothing more than a karokr show where it gives contestants 15 minutes of fame and casts them off as quick.

It like making a deal with the Devil (a.k.a. Simon Cowell)

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 30/11/2011 12:04:01    1077760

X Factor is for Losers.
The people that appear on it, the people that want to appear on it, and the people that watch it.- Losers.

Snuff - touch of class there - NOT. Ignorant.

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 30/11/2011 13:49:35    1077843

32_4_1

i acknowledge no ones forced me to listen to it and it dont. but its impossible to aviod. chilling out flicking through music channels its there, flick on the radio and every channel is playing that rubbish, open the paper its there, turn on a chat show they're being interviewed. ffs, turn up at croke park for a match and you'll probably have to sit through jedward. wheather i do or dont listen to it isnt the point.

yes the charts always have been full of alot of rubbish but there was still always quality bands in there getting radio play and exposure. flick through the charts now and its ALL x-factor contestants and that manufactured r&b rubbish from america. its got to a point where its just taking the piss. so ye, go to the internet. dig out a few modern day bands with good music that they've wrote themselves. only problem is, two weeks later they've probably packed it in because they're getting nowhere and no ones listening to them. xfactor, american idol, britain got talent etc ARE ruining music wheather you want to continue to make excuses for it or not

What excuse have I made for it?

I must admit that I don't notice Xfactor, American Idol etc as much as you seem to. It doesn't impinge on me in any way. Herself watches it alright but that's about it.

Its a TV show. People will get bored of it eventually. Their music won't live on. To use someone's example of Snow Patrol's 'Run'. In 30 years time which version will be remembered?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 30/11/2011 17:38:44    1078043

What excuse have I made for it?

I must admit that I don't notice Xfactor, American Idol etc as much as you seem to. It doesn't impinge on me in any way. Herself watches it alright but that's about it.

Its a TV show. People will get bored of it eventually. Their music won't live on. To use someone's example of Snow Patrol's 'Run'. In 30 years time which version will be remembered?

well your defending it.

yes ill remember snow patrols version of run for years as its a great song by a good song. but most will only remember the cover

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 30/11/2011 19:41:01    1078143

Just after seeing that cannonball is favourite to be recorded by the winner. This is not on. Great song and I for one do not want to see it be ruined by those on the show. In all honesty the only one i think who could have done that song justice is the chick from omagh. I could not imagine the black doll singing it or the girl band.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/11/2011 19:57:00    1078157

Definetly a very poor show at the moment,and rather like BIG BROTHER has probably run its course. It has combined banal artists with over the top presenters ,histrionic audiences with histrionic friends and family, and smugly arrogant judges with their money well made,who consistetly over rate the shows format and importance and under rate many performers. As someone long connected to the promotions /entertainment business I turned the show off long ago,and have spotted some much better talent on the pub/college scene,people I could recommend to any promoter/record company.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 30/11/2011 20:21:34    1078174

Seriously man I'm not defending it.

Snow Patrol's version will be remembered ahead of whatever Xfactor cover was done.

Who's version of Wonderwall is remembered today, Oasis or Mike Flowers and the Pops?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 30/11/2011 20:34:02    1078187

MesAmis

1078187 32

Seriously man I'm not defending it.

Snow Patrol's version will be remembered ahead of whatever Xfactor cover was done.

Who's version of Wonderwall is remembered today, Oasis or Mike Flowers and the Pops?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/11/2011 20:43:41    1078198

Never watched it, never will. Don't see how its ruining music though, just don't listen to absolute shite that they produce and you're sorted.

My only concern about it though is that it swallows people up and spits them out a complete mess, I mean the X-factor mainly targets a young audience because they're notoriously prone to phases. So this means that they'll do most of the voting, meaning that some useless wally will win the competition, release one diabolical album by which stage the phase will already be over, the album will bomb and the rest is history, on to next years clown competition.

To be honest I think you have a far better chance of making it if you don't win the competition but find a steady audience like Mary Byrne did, of course this isn't always the case but generally this is what seems to happen.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2011 20:51:33    1078206

Old flames can't hold a candle to you!!! sing along everyone .........

no one can light up the night like you do..............

topofthetown (Carlow) - Posts: 64 - 01/12/2011 21:28:14    1078831

X factor does not hold a light against real musicians who write and sing their own music. You then have a stream of x factor so called celebraties paraded all over the papaers who will be bought by young teens - the producers of these shows know exactly what they are doing.

Id rather go for a pint on a sat night then sit in and listen to that tripe.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 02/12/2011 10:50:05    1078911

Well said yew_tree,

Its an absolute numpty gets pleasure from a show designed to massage the egos of the judges while simultaneously ruining the lives of vulnerable and stupid people who think they can get 'famous' quick!

A disgrace of a programme and shame on all those who watch it!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 02/12/2011 14:28:53    1079061

I wouldnt say that its ruined music, good music and musicians will always rise above the dross, always has done. What it has ruined is the Saturday nite family TV viewing, I wont stay in the room whilst its on because I simply can't stand it, the 'singers', the judges, especially Louis Walsh, jeez. Saturday nite was for all the family and now my TV has been taken over, could signal the break down of the family unit, watch this space!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/12/2011 12:48:36    1079386

X Factor is anti music !! Only for people who have had their brains removed !!
Never watched it but read some articles and it seems to be more to do with "spacers" looking for notice than talented people !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/12/2011 14:49:46    1079416

Yaawn!!!

If genuine artists like Florence and Damien Rice want to go on X-Factro and expose their music to the mindless drones that watch it, so be it. Let them, good music get's massive exposure.

I would imagine the using Snow Patrol's Run and Biffy's Many of Horror were record company decisions and yes the XFactor versions were crap.

As for those of you declaring the death of music I'm going to guess that you're just not bothered enough to go out beyond the mainstream chart stuff on radio and find it. At least bands like Arctic Monkeys are still getting to the top of the album charts.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 03/12/2011 21:06:45    1079570

not only ruining music it also seems to be destroying dreams

http://celebrity.aol.co.uk/2011/12/09/x-factor-us-teen-breaks-down/?ncid=webmail2

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 09/12/2011 20:06:12    1082515

yew_tree

X factor does not hold a light against real musicians who write and sing their own music. You then have a stream of x factor so called celebraties paraded all over the papaers who will be bought by young teens - the producers of these shows know exactly what they are doing.

Id rather go for a pint on a sat night then sit in and listen to that tripe.

S'up yew_tree !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/12/2011 20:41:27    1082526

Its a pile of rubbish. It gets so many TV slots, magazine articles, column inches, millions of people watch it and yet the winner will more than likely get dropped by their record label 18-24months down the road. The biggest problem the x factor has is that the people who watch it, dont actually then buy the music that comes from the show, especially the albums.

You're much better off finsihing 2nd. You can release material much quicker. The winner, to my knowledge, releases a Christmas single ( no one gives a toss about Xmas No1 anymore) and then have to wait a year to release their album around the sme time as the following years live show.

It also bugs the hell out me all the fuss their is when some eejit is voted off who apparently shouldn't have got let go, finsihes 5th or 6th overall and its a travesty blah blah, does anyone remember who finsihed 5th 6th or 3rd last year or the year before??? Nope.

Give me some Megadeth or Pantera anyday :-)

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 10/12/2011 12:53:21    1082600