Fair play to yee lads, the best team by far won on the day, good luck against galway.
mayo.mick (Mayo) - Posts: 585 - 06/06/2010 15:03:23
just back from sligo and i would first like to say well done to sligo and i wish ye all the best v galway.
i said a few days ago that this would be a tight game and in the first half both teams were awful. in the second half sligo were the only team in it. quite simply it was a disgraceful performance by our lads and what gets me is how disinterested the players looked. look lads we can run rings around kerry,tyrone,galway etc every year in the league but come the big day we alwys fall flat on our faces. another things is POOR SHOT SELECTION. players like mort seem clueless at times, taking on shots from angles which even gooch wuddnt score from. will we ever have a day when all of our team can play well and for each other. id be very worried for our future to be honest.
no leaders, no passion, no heart!
dejected mayo fan yet again
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 06/06/2010 15:56:26
Sligonian - ye won yesterday, but to say Sligo have better players end of... I'm sorry, I'm not having that. I disagree completely. Player for player I think we are better. But we have a serious mental or attitude problem. That needs to be sorted. Sligo wanted it way more yesterday - end of. And that saddens me as a Mayo man. Really disappointed at how we approached the game. Sligo were better on the day, more organised, more determination and passion and more importantly took their chances brilliantly.
I do think we still have better players.
MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 06/06/2010 18:33:32
The bottlers never fail to deliver
Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 06/06/2010 18:37:39
I am after listening to Brolly and Flynn on the radio there and i got a reality check on Mayo, of course my heart will rule my head and i will live in hope but them boys nearly drew a tear from my eye as pathetic as that sounds it is the truth, maybe i take it to heart too much but it really looks like the end of our 20 year era for Mayo without sam. It brought us some great memories down through the years, five finals, some great victories against Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin 06 was unbelievable, we have seen some great players like, Willie joe, TJ, Mchale, Casey, Horan, Mort and the great Ciaran Mac,their likes will not see for a while again. I thought the 06 u-21 side would bring some more success to senior level but this is not looking likely at this stage. Everything comes to an end i suppose, it's a shame we couldnt have got one Sam out of all that period as one i think we deserved, but it wasn't to be.
To the boys mocking my very wrong prediction on yesterdays game, have your fun, it doesn't make any difference what some unknowns say about what i said under a username. I am upset about Mayo football in a way that i think only true Mayo men can understand but i will always be green and red till the day i die.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 06/06/2010 19:08:50
Well done to Sligo a well deserved victory with plenty of passion and determination on show, I do agree though with mayomark I think Mayo have some serious mental issues which if not sorted out will send them further down footballs pecking order.
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 06/06/2010 20:10:36
51longagoandBUSTO: Just to be clear here. Yes, you were mocked and Yes, a few of us may have had a good chuckle at your expense. BUT, you wouldn't have received the dressing down you deserved were it not for your ridiculous attitude and incredible misplaced confidence in a Mayo team, that are at best mediocre.
I genuinely thought from your posts that you were some early teen wind up merchant. Because that's what your posts led me to believe. I can now see that you are a passionate Mayo man. If that were the case then how on earth could you not see that the present Mayo team is a tiny shadow of the team that the players you mentioned (Ciaran Mac, MacHale, TJ, Willie Joe, Horan, Mort (Kenneth, i hope you mean) etc) were involved with? I wouldn't have a single one of the present Mayo set on the same pitch as those players. Sorry maybe a couple (2 and that's it, tbh)
I listened to all of the commentary on many of the games this weekend and the phrase "commeth the hour, commeth the man" was thrown out with almost flippant regularity by one pundit or another. Here's the thing - there isn't one MAN on the Mayo team right now. Mayo play with little or no purpose. They lack leadership and pride in the green and red jersey.
If ever there was a team needed taking down a peg it's Mayo. Then they may have some chance of progressing successfully in the near future. This could be the best result Mayo will ever suffer. A reality check of gargantuan proportion, to force them to have a long hard look at themselves. What Mayo need is disection from top to bottom. I'm not going to name individuals, but there are longstanding members on the team that are nothing more than devisive on any team set up. A blind man knows this. Dead wood that needs to be thrown out before the remainder of the team rots with them.
51's overconfidence typifies everything that is wrong with the Mayo attitude right now.
You mention the 06 U-21 team and future hopes for Mayo on the back of that. FFS the best Mayo player on the pitch was Alan Cos! Why was he alienated by the present Mayo structure after players like he and Andy Moran won an All Ireland for Mayo at that level? They were the two stand out players for that Mayo U-21 team. I'm sorry, but he aint never goin back either. He has black and white blood in the veins now!
Most importantly, in this Sligo team: They play like brothers. They play honestly and like men for each other. They have leadership right through the pitch, from the goals through every line of defence, midfield and attack. They may not have the best players in the country, but by God on their day, they can beat THE best teams in the country. Any team this C'ship will not be relishing having to face up to the minnows of Sligo.
As an aside Good Luck to Mayo in the qualifiers. It'll be an interesting learning curve for them.
As a further aside to 51LAGO Sligo are still a nice price for Connaught. It might help to get some money back in the kitty to have a punt on them. Hope this helps ;)
ROFPMSL (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 07/06/2010 11:12:44
Great post ROFPMSL
Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1884 - 07/06/2010 11:48:58
Mayo are a poor team and thats the sad reality of it for many Mayo supporters. Like a couple of other teams in recent seasons, league form give the county a lot of mis-placed optimism and that led to people like 51Longago getting far two ahead of themselves.
Mayo have never been further from an All-Ireland. The backs are all lovely footballers, comfortable on the ball and that, but they haven't actually got one decent defender. Quite simply none of the Mayo backs know how to defend. Ross Donavan and Charlie Harrison gave an exhibition in this department down the other end of the field. The Mayo midfield is non-existent and anyone who seen the Meath game last year would surely have realised this. Parsons has never played well when Mayo needed him and McGarritty has never been the same since his unfortunate illness. The forwards are a desperate bunch too and I feel that the Mort's lunge of desperation in the dying stages could be the final nail in his coffin as an intercounty footballer.
I don't agree with the obituary stuff that 51Longago writes either. Its common for posters to come on here and fill these pages with end of an era type comments in the aftermath of a heavy defeat, clearly getting carried away with themselves. But Mayo have been a poor enough outfit for near four years now, unless they turn it around and win Sam at the end of the year, I think they'll still be in the same "era" next year as they are now.
Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 07/06/2010 12:55:02
Loyal2TheRoyal County: Meath Posts: 3473
669520 Mayo are a poor team and thats the sad reality of it for many Mayo supporters. Like a couple of other teams in recent seasons, league form give the county a lot of mis-placed optimism and that led to people like 51Longago getting far two ahead of themselves.
Mayo have never been further from an All-Ireland. The backs are all lovely footballers, comfortable on the ball and that, but they haven't actually got one decent defender. Quite simply none of the Mayo backs know how to defend. Ross Donavan and Charlie Harrison gave an exhibition in this department down the other end of the field. The Mayo midfield is non-existent and anyone who seen the Meath game last year would surely have realised this. Parsons has never played well when Mayo needed him and McGarritty has never been the same since his unfortunate illness. The forwards are a desperate bunch too and I feel that the Mort's lunge of desperation in the dying stages could be the final nail in his coffin as an intercounty footballer.
I don't agree with the obituary stuff that 51Longago writes either. Its common for posters to come on here and fill these pages with end of an era type comments in the aftermath of a heavy defeat, clearly getting carried away with themselves. But Mayo have been a poor enough outfit for near four years now, unless they turn it around and win Sam at the end of the year, I think they'll still be in the same "era" next year as they are now.
I agree with a lot of this Loyal. The only points I'd disagree on are that Cafferky and Higgins aren't bad defenders and the root of McGarrity's poor form. I don't think the future for Mayo is bleak, but 1 Connacht Title in 4 years is a very poor return for J'OM. Unless he does the impossible and gets Mayo back to Croke Park he'll have to go at the end of the year.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 07/06/2010 13:08:20
Roundball, I'll have to agree with you. Unless Johnno pulls something miraculous out of the bag and wins Sam then surely he has to pack his bag at the end of the season.
One wonders how he can balance a busy public representative life with that of an inter county manager? Is he stretching himself too far?
I have huge admiration for him as a manager. What he did for Galway and Leitrim was incredible. Unfortunately the present Mayo team lack the moral fibre of either of those two teams, to deliver as they did.
I think the problem does not lie solely with the Manager. I won't name names, but there are players who should now step aside to let new blood come through.
ROFPMSL (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 07/06/2010 13:37:43
51longago County: Mayo Posts: 659
666131 fredrickwood So a venue, a neutral one at that would make for such a difference, a landslide victory for Sligo in croker and only because its in Sligo, Mayo you predict to win by 3/4 points.
I don't know, must of been something in the London air last weekend, me thinks.
You just walk into it everytime.Your not even a challenge.I expect you wont even know what I'm talkin about so I mite let some of my colleagues enlighten you.
fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 07/06/2010 15:55:19
well done sligo ye played with great passion and played better football, ye will put it up to galway and win connacht.
as for mayo what the descended into in the final minutes was a farce. mayos season will most likely end at the next match the buck stops a johno and his selectors. a good football team needs good footballers but also men of strong wills and mayo have been lacking that for the last decade!
Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 07/06/2010 20:48:48
ROFPMSL County: Sligo Posts: 19
669574 Roundball, I'll have to agree with you. Unless Johnno pulls something miraculous out of the bag and wins Sam then surely he has to pack his bag at the end of the season.
One wonders how he can balance a busy public representative life with that of an inter county manager? Is he stretching himself too far?
I have huge admiration for him as a manager. What he did for Galway and Leitrim was incredible. Unfortunately the present Mayo team lack the moral fibre of either of those two teams, to deliver as they did.
I think the problem does not lie solely with the Manager. I won't name names, but there are players who should now step aside to let new blood come through.
I think you might be right about his role as a public representative. How could he have the time and energy? I've held back on saying it because I don't want to sound like a bitter Fianna Failer (I am anything but). John O Mahony TD has actually been reasonably impressive, John O Mahony football manager has not.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 07/06/2010 20:56:10
Roundball, I can't comment on Johnno TD as I haven't followed his career politically, but sadly Johnno Mayo manager speaks for itself. I find it difficult to comprehend how anyone could happily marry such a demanding porfolio of responsibilty with equal success. Unfortunately one will inevitably suffer. I think we all know which one has...
ROFPMSL (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 07/06/2010 21:04:37
i thought the mayo ladies pulled out of the championship,how come they were aloud play last saturday?
galwayfootball1 (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 07/06/2010 21:33:14
Fair play to sligo, they beat us well and done so playing football. Hopefully they can push on now and win connacht. On a side note, all I can see is posts about mayo wums, so can someone please name these posters? Can anyone find a single mayo post begrudging sligo the win?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/06/2010 21:40:50
06/06/2010 18:33:32 MayoMark County: Mayo Posts: 133
669064 Sligonian - ye won yesterday, but to say Sligo have better players end of... I'm sorry, I'm not having that. I disagree completely. Player for player I think we are better. But we have a serious mental or attitude problem. That needs to be sorted. Sligo wanted it way more yesterday - end of. And that saddens me as a Mayo man. Really disappointed at how we approached the game. Sligo were better on the day, more organised, more determination and passion and more importantly took their chances brilliantly.
I do think we still have better players.
-------------------------------------------------
MayoMark,
You are making a fundamental mistake here. Mayo do not have better players than Sligo - if you were to go through any proper analysis you'd find that a combined Mayo-Sligo Best XV would probably fall somewhere around the 10-5, 9-6 mark for Sligo.
I've seen this before fans look at their own county see how talented their players are and think "we have a great team here". Its all relative and they forget how talented the opposition players are. In my own county, Leitrim, there are 4 players who would play on nearly any county team (Cork, Kerry, Tyrone perhaps, perhaps not) - Emlyn Mulligan, Declan Maxwell, John McKeon, Michael McGuinness, we have some really excellent players to boot, Dermot Reynolds, Colin Regan, Thomas Beirne, others who can be outstanding one day, poor the next, other younger players with the potential to be fine inter-county footballers. So people in Leitrim ask why aren't we doing better (notwithstanding that 4 of these named 6 are out fot the year!).
The answer is that EVERY other county has practically 3-4 top-class players and another 3-4 of excellent standard. Its relative. Its not enough for Leitrim to have good footballers if every one else has them too - we need another edge.
Back to the main point, I'd suggest that you are looking at the Mayo team and thinking they are fine footballers - not taking in account your opposition have talent also. Who do you think on the Sligo team, would definately not make the Mayo team? Answer might surprise you. Looking at Saturday's game, from a neutral point of view, the more skilful and athletic players were definitley on the Sligo team. I'd also suggest as to player for player quality Mayo are not as strong as they were.
Its very lazy analysis to say Sligo won because they were hungrier, more determined, more dogged etc. From where I was looking, a neutral, who were faster on the ball, better solos, better pick-ups, better point-taking, better fielding, physically more imposing ? Sligo. Just better players generally. Mayo's current players just don't look that good in comparison to other teams on show to date. Alright, but nothing special.
Solo Run (None) - Posts: 316 - 08/06/2010 09:43:54
I was on a plane when this match was being played and it seems some of our players were somewhere else as well. I didn't indulge in any pre-match wummery because I was worried that JOM had picked a very one-dimensional team, and fair dues to Kevin Walsh, it didn't take him too long to solve the puzzle. Besides, Sligo are a good side who'll make more than Galway nervous before the summer is out. Mayo are still what they've been for a while now... plenty of football in the side, but completely lacking physicality in defence, form in midfield, they have no able deputy for Dillon in the half-forwards, and they lack any nous whatsoever on the sideline. I can't remember the last time Mayo set out to exploit a tactical advantage or managed to put the wheels back on when they started to come loose in the last 15 or 20 minutes. Odds are, they'll get a tough draw in the qualifiers, and if some road-to-Damascus-type transformation hasn't happened after Saturday, they'll be enjoying watching Sligo's progress with the rest of us. Best of luck to Sligo... though to be fair ye look good enough that with just an even share of breaks ye'll go far!
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/06/2010 10:58:45
Well done Sligo, Ye were ruthless on Saturday, Better in every area of the pitch, and some sweet points. Ye will no doubt ruffle a few more feathers along the way. Good luck against Galway.
liathroid_gasur (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 08/06/2010 11:28:45