Sligo v Mayo in Connacht quarter-final

Costelloe was excellent. He ran the show gave quality ball to the forwards everytime. David Kelly wolud get his place on any team, top quality player. Just goes to show what a ''weaker'' county can do with a gameplan, good attitude and a good manager.

patmcgee (Longford) - Posts: 520 - 05/06/2010 19:51:19    668516

All donations to the 51longago&presentlyHOMELESS fund are welcomed. LOL
Now who has a red face??? Disgraceful Mayo performance - they only played as they were allowed!!
Sligo to win Connaught NAP

ROFPMSL (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 05/06/2010 20:22:23    668532

51longago
Where are you now with your 8 point win, i will say hard luck to every genuine Mayo supporter on this forum but 51longago You have got what you deserved cuz u never gave us de respect we deserve. All your history and all ur league bull counts for nothing in championship and my prediction was spot on

Benbulben (Sligo) - Posts: 298 - 05/06/2010 20:37:53    668542

wel evryone enjoy this silence because the mayo wums are hiding ! genuine mayo supporters hard luck it was a scrappy affair in the first half but when push came to shove sligo wanted it more ! now for the tougher test against galway !SLiGO ABu

bitchesandhoes (Sligo) - Posts: 118 - 05/06/2010 20:45:39    668556

Well done Sligo, by far the better team in every way. Maybe the deluded Mayo posters on this site might wake up now. Best of luck to Sligo in rest rest of the Championship.

ballyvarybhoy (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 05/06/2010 20:59:22    668575

Delighted for sligo! Great win, Im a rossie and I was jumping up and down when they won! Sligo have some class forwards. Whats the odds on a Roscommon V Sligo connacht final? Wouldnt that be a nice change?!

Pathetic.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/06/2010 21:21:56    668597

All donations to the 51longago&presentlyHOMELESS fund are welcomed. LOL
Now who has a red face??? Disgraceful Mayo performance - they only played as they were allowed!!

I hope you enjoyed your moment there.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/06/2010 21:24:31    668599

What a wonderful result for Sligo. Last year they came within one kick of a ball of beating Kerry so that disappointment is now forgotten. As for Mayo players they seem to lack inner belief and heart when the going gets tough.

tcm (None) - Posts: 162 - 05/06/2010 21:32:22    668610

Come on galway! ;)

I_agree (Mayo) - Posts: 58 - 05/06/2010 21:33:06    668612

bitchesandhoes
Cheers hey, its the same old story for us - dissapointment again. Ye were very good today and I'm genuinely delighted for ye :) Would be great to see ye take connacht now but be weary of Galway, they wont lie down!

Hope the WUMs stay away for a long time, its nice and quiet on here without them, but wait till you see IF we win a game in the qualifiers (and its a big IF)which Im not sure we will, they will be back talking the same old manure.

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 05/06/2010 21:33:46    668616

So if you predict a big win for your own county you're a wum? I wrongly predicted a big win for mayo but i sincearly believed in what i was saying, i lost a lot of money on the game surely thats proof i believed in what i was saying. I said i will hold my hands up and rightly take the flak but if you think i'll stop postin on hs over it you'd be wrong and i won't stop supporting my county either. Up Mayo.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/06/2010 21:41:39    668630

Lads I'm sick and tired of being tarred with the same brush as the WUMs. You'd be surprised how many people read this forum... There are loads of people around the country that hate Mayo because of the unsufferable nonsense posted on here.

Well done Sligo, better team won.

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 05/06/2010 21:41:44    668631

Well done Sligo, that's some performance. Who says the Champo is predictable?

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 05/06/2010 21:45:15    668637

FAO Sligonian

Well done on the win today. I humbily accept that my prediction was wrong and under estimated Sligo and most definitely over estimated Mayo. Quite a few of those Sligo players will become household names with the performances that a lot of them put in yesterday. Their defence was exceptional and they had a real good attitude towards their game.
I know teams can always reorganise in the qualifiers but Mayo look in real trouble. Granted Dillon wasn't playing and he is a major player for them, but their performance in the second half was desperate.
Its early days in the championship still but JOM has a big task ahead. Other than Freemans contribution, great debut by the way, there were few other positives to take out of that game for Mayo. Sligo on the other hand look like they could have a great summer ahead.
So again, well done Sligo, looking forward to their next game already.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 06/06/2010 09:50:41    668690

Congratulations to Sligo on a magnificent performance and I must admit I fancy ye to beat Galway in a few weeks time.

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 06/06/2010 10:28:07    668706

Well done Sligo, should keep the Mayo Wums in their box for a while anyway.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 06/06/2010 10:58:51    668723

Well done Sligo. I think they could well be a top 8 team. Winning Connacht this year would be a huge achievement as they are in the strong half of the draw.

Where to now for Mayo though? When JO'M took over they had just been in an All Ireland Final, they had won the U-21 and they've had two good minor teams since. O Mahony has delivered 1 Connacht Title in 4 years and dumped Ciaran McDonald. Yesterday Mayo looked under prepared, they had no gameplan and no idea what they were supposed to do with the ball when they got it. Mayo had injuries yesterday which didn't help but Sligo were far and away the better team. Johnno has to go I think, and take a few players with him when he does.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 06/06/2010 11:33:44    668763

In fairness most people thought Mayo would win so what was wrong with a mayo fan saying they'd win well? Mayo fans must feel really let down by their team surely the axe will fall - CM had a nightmare, wrong options, bad kicking and contibuted greatly to their defeat

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 06/06/2010 12:07:26    668782

Well I said there would be nothing between the teams - I was wrong!

Sligo were far the better team and fully deserved their victory. There a good side and proved to many nationally that last year's performance again Kerry down in Tralee was not some sort of anomaly. They possess a jewel of a forward in David Kelly and their sense of togetherness was palpable. They way they drove on in the second half was so impressive- they looked giants before the finish.

What of my own Mayo? Sad, sad, poor Mayo. The predictable attack on the manager is in full swing. But it is not that simple. Yes John O' has made mistakes who hasn't but for me last night ultimately the players must take responsibility. Some Mayo players did not want to know and it was very notable how a few of our fancy haired showboats bottled it when the need was greatest. We put Mayo players on a pedestal they don't deserve and some of them wallow in it and are just happy with the recognition. This is a psychologically damaged Mayo side and further ignominy waits this summer. It is time to immigrate folks.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 06/06/2010 12:12:29    668786

Well firstly fair play to Sligo lads on here, putting there neck on the line all week sticking up for there county. Secondly fair play to gracious messages from some mayolads and dublin lads (navy+blue) and thanks to all other counties aswell for messages. Sligo have better players than Mayo simple as that, we had more quality and skill and more balanced team. We are aware weve won nothing yet so feet are firmly on the grd.

Sligeach abu.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1884 - 06/06/2010 13:54:22    668878