Sligo v Mayo in Connacht quarter-final

Mayo are brutal.. no heart.. no pride in the jersey.. no clue...they been years like this........and the sad supporters think every year will be better........when in fact it just gets worse....

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 05/06/2010 18:39:15    668424

maybe the mayo posters might think twice now about sticking the boot into other counties when they are beat.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 05/06/2010 18:39:27    668425

Totally deserved win for Sligo. Wanted it more. Delighted to see them winning it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 05/06/2010 18:41:58    668430

51longago
Now where ar de red faces, your prediction was out by 12 points. Back to the sheep farming for the summer. UP SLIGO

Benbulben (Sligo) - Posts: 298 - 05/06/2010 18:44:17    668435

harrison and donovan are a great combo at corner back

Mushonk (Wicklow) - Posts: 7 - 05/06/2010 18:44:45    668436

That was easy enough, made in Mayo, bottled in Sligo.

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 05/06/2010 18:44:55    668438

Let's not get carried away hurlingdub with the "best game so far" nonsense. The first 50 mins were brutal and Mayo are an awful side with no heart. Take nothing away from Sligo though, they are a handy enough side.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 05/06/2010 18:46:44    668442

Didn't see that coming. Well done to Sligo. Feel for the mayo lads though. It could happen to any county on any given day. I hope they can bounce back but fair play to the Sligo lads for upping their game.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/06/2010 18:51:57    668449

Great win. out and out workrate. Kevin walsh take a bow. Ohara, donavan, harrison cawley and davey were outstanding. Tommy Breheny gave Keelan man of the match but grit determination and heart by the whole team. Galway next. could be a dinger.Prefer to be us at this stage. I said earlier this week that KW is an outstanding manager. Steel sharpens steel. It's rubbing off. nobody will want to face us.

the circle has 2 sides (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 05/06/2010 18:53:56    668451

Well done Sligo.. Without a doubt the better team won. Hope ye take the Nestor now.

ExilEd1014 (Mayo) - Posts: 280 - 05/06/2010 18:54:13    668452

Don't like putting the boot into any lads when they are down so all I'll say is that I was very impressed by Sligo. They are a very genuine team and nobody will get it easy against them. They were the better team on the day and well deserved their win. Well done lads.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 05/06/2010 19:00:00    668462

David Kelly is a great talent and took plenty of satisfaction from seeing them get beat

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 05/06/2010 19:08:10    668475

It looks like Sligo will be a hard team to beat if they can keep this form. Good midfield, very good corner backs and Eamon O'Hara all combine to make a solid outfit. The amount of ball that the Sligo keeper had to simply catch at chest height was ridiculous but maybe that can be put down to the great pressure put on the Mayo forwards by the Sligo backs. Not to be too harsh on Mayo here but it does look like the team simply is not as good as their supporters seem to think.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 05/06/2010 19:13:49    668478

jono

It won'tbe easy but lets call a spade a spade here, mayo are a better team with better individual footballers than sligo and class always wins out in the end. and before you start lambasting my previous statement i'll give you one example,to be fair the only concrete example i can give. Alan costelloe (a mayo man) has been in terrific form for ye this year and was last year also.I can't imagine sligo taking to the field without his services and i think he is instrumental to alot of what sligo do. on the other hand he wouldn't be within an asses roar of the mayo team.He never cut it at senior level in mayoand wouldnt currently either.

Would you like any cream with your humble pie.

neverafree (Down) - Posts: 456 - 05/06/2010 19:22:30    668486

well done sligo good performance...finally mayo people might stop overhyping their team who were shown up for what they truly are today

lazyfootballer (Wexford) - Posts: 70 - 05/06/2010 19:29:07    668490

Why did Aidan O shea not start the game? It was too late by the time he was introduced. Why did the O Mahoney not substitute Conor Mortimer?. I still think Mayo will make the last 8 through the qualifiers. Despite the loss today, they have some quality players.

As for Sligo, thought they played brilliantly. I was very impressed with their league final appearance and felt that they were the dark horses to look out for this year. Eamon O Hara what a player!

neverafree (Down) - Posts: 456 - 05/06/2010 19:34:02    668494

Get the boot in i have no bother with that at all. I was terribly wrong, my prediction was as far off as you possibly can get so i will eat humble pie for a while.

Mayo were woeful, no appetite being the most notable negative along with a lot more. Congratulations to Sligo on a great display especially in the second half, there was only one team in it after the interval.

My heart goes out to Johno tonight,i have just listened to his interview with midwest, he is very downbeat. He taught me in school many years ago and is a staunch Mayo man, he has really tried his best with this team, he made a big decision in 08 in dropping Mac, personally i think it was a massive mistake but tht does not hide the fact he done what he thought was for the good of Mayo football. Trevor Mort days are over, he has not got the footballing ability for todays game. The majority of this team are from 06 u-21 side, there are some nice footballers in it nd i will never lose faith in the county i adore and believe in. Players will regroup tuesday week and have a lash at the qualifiers.

I have heard many times, Mayo football is dead and gone over the years only for us to bounce back, remember the hammering we got off Cork in the 90s only to bouce back and contest two all Ireland finals. There is no hiding i am a disappointed man tonight i will not tell lies and hide my saddness as pathetic as it sounds it does hurt but i have no doubt our green and red flags will wave in the croke park sun many times again in the future.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/06/2010 19:41:16    668503

It's only football Ulsterman so it's all relative! Maybe enjoyable is a better word.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/06/2010 19:41:30    668505

Delighted for sligo! Great win, Im a rossie and I was jumping up and down when they won! Sligo have some class forwards. Whats the odds on a Roscommon V Sligo connacht final? Wouldnt that be a nice change?!

Rossies4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 178 - 05/06/2010 19:44:33    668508

definitely the best game of football so far this year, lots of real football played and sligo showed alot of heart and passion

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4656 - 05/06/2010 19:51:05    668513