Sligo v Mayo in Connacht quarter-final

Well here we go for another year for the green and red. mayo have had some soul searching to do since the league final collapse, while sligo fresh off the back of their brilliant performance in the division 3 final are full of confidence. sligo are at home which is worth a few pionts to them. mayo have a few injury concerns with kilcoyne and cafferty out and dillion, varley,gardiner etc expected to come into the frame. i can see this being a tight game, with mayo to sneak it by 3 - 4 points. how do ye see it going?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 31/05/2010 13:06:15    662937

Too close to call. Both teams will have a long summer either way.

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 31/05/2010 16:41:31    663257

mayo will win by about 5 points and sligo will get to the last round of qualifiers before being knocked out to one of the provincial runners up ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 31/05/2010 16:52:33    663279

sorry thats howley thats out not cafferty

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 31/05/2010 17:10:45    663331

Handy win for Mayo

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 31/05/2010 17:19:07    663345

sorry thats howley thats out not cafferty

_______

Oh well in that case Sligo by a cricket score ... nah i joke Yew_Tree

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 31/05/2010 17:32:11    663368

The Sligo boys are getting very excited down on their own county page.

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 31/05/2010 18:21:36    663456

im not even sure who this cafferty buck is but anyway. Mayo will win this by 10+. We're in a different league to sligo and will make quick work of them on saturday

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 31/05/2010 18:34:30    663476

Can't see Sligo winning, despite them being on the up. Will be a tough proposition in the qualifiers. Mayo to win by 5.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 31/05/2010 21:41:22    663755

Mayo by 4-5points...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 31/05/2010 21:51:52    663771

Sligo will make a good start and take an early 2-3 point lead. We will then sit back for the next 40 minutes allowing Mayo to build up a 6-8 point advantage. With 10 minutes to go we suddenly realise that we've somehow fallen behind, and mount a late charge, pulling to within 2 points with 5 min remaining. We then drop waste 5/6 point-scoring opportunities by trying to force a goal, and spend the next month talking about how unlucky we were.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 01/06/2010 09:59:17    663848

black&white
County: Sligo

663848 Sligo will make a good start and take an early 2-3 point lead. We will then sit back for the next 40 minutes allowing Mayo to build up a 6-8 point advantage. With 10 minutes to go we suddenly realise that we've somehow fallen behind, and mount a late charge, pulling to within 2 points with 5 min remaining. We then drop waste 5/6 point-scoring opportunities by trying to force a goal, and spend the next month talking about how unlucky we were.

Don't mean to be critical black&white but if you are going to pull a 6-8 point lead back to 2 points in the space of 5 mins that means that you will roughly be scoring a point a minute, that would be some going against any team never mind a division 1 team.

I_agree (Mayo) - Posts: 58 - 01/06/2010 11:20:11    663914

I would be very surprised if Mayo don't win this comfortably. I haven't been paying too much attention to Sligo's league form or if they have unearthed any new talent but Mayo should be looking to be pushing for Sam this year. O'Mahony has been in charge for 3 years now, if he doesn't make some significant progress this year you'd be wondering if he'll still be there next year.
Mayo have a midfield as good as anyones, as long as they win enough ball they should stay on top of Sligo. Sligo's best chance would be to employ the same tactics as they did against Kerry last year. Their corner forwards had a lot of joy that day and only for a fine save from Diarmaid Murphy, they would have produced the shock of the decade. Mayo have always had a suspect FB line so quick ball in to the corners is essential if they want to have any chance of winning.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 01/06/2010 11:35:56    663939

Sligo are a fine team and I really enjoy watching them, they're brave and plucky and play nice football. However Mayo will be stinging from the League Final and the flak they took in the media and there is no better man to convert media flak in to motivation than John O Mahony... "Fancy Dans? There's only one ******* answer to that!"

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 01/06/2010 11:54:20    663979

I_agree

Don't mean to be critical black&white but if you are going to pull a 6-8 point lead back to 2 points in the space of 5 mins that means that you will roughly be scoring a point a minute, that would be some going against any team never mind a division 1 team.

Two goals in five minutes would do it.

But on the post, read it in the context of most of Sligo's recent Championship defeats and it might make a bit more sense to you. The whole point was that Sligo have a tendancy to start and finish strongly, but will often do enough to lose the game in the middle part, and then claim to have been "unlucky."
People on this site really need to take a second to think about what they're reading sometimes.........

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 01/06/2010 11:55:44    663984

Harsh view there Black&white, for a Sligoman you post very little on the Sligo forum? We are alot better than last yr even, our improvement from league to championship was huge, hopefully the same will happen, we really have no weak links in the team like last yr with ewing, mcnamara....

I see the Dubs and few others a predicting an easy win for Mayo, can i ask the dubs, do ye actually know any of the Sligo players besides Eamonn O Hara?

Thankfully no one knows the future, I am confident of Sligo win. Its our strongest team since 02, plenty of scoring threat in the forwards, and creators, Midfield is in good shape with Gilmartin stepping up to the plate. Wing backs are attack minded and showed well in league, and FB is settled and experienced.

Mayo people thinking its going to be easy is music to my ears and hopefully more have the same opinion.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1884 - 01/06/2010 12:44:01    664089

This will probably the best Champo (football) match to date. Kevin Walsh has done so much with the Sligo lads and deseves an awful lot of credit. I can see a similar situation happening to that of the Connacht final last year, Mayo going up by about 10 points but Sligo to stage a steady come-back from about the 50th minute on and lose by 2-3. And I'm hopeful that we'll see an appearance from Ciaran McDonald :p

throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 01/06/2010 13:02:43    664117

Sligonian i think your letting your heart rule your head on this one. Don't get me wrong, sligo have a decent team with plenty good footballers that would stake a claim in many a county team. However we have to put this whole thing in context. yes sligo won the division 3 title and won it in good fashion i may add and yes sligo are at home which down in Markevic pk must be worth a few scores to ye.

mayo are coming into this game on the back of an excellent league campaign even if it did culminate in a trouncing at the hands of cork in the final. If anything that beating can only serve as motivation for a mayo team that has to start stepping up to the plate. Sligos optimism in this game stems from their league run but are we really going to comparedivision 3 to division 1. to be honest their is no comparison. If mayo were to play sligo in the league i would expect them to win comfortably. However championship is a different animal but i still expect mayo to win this game by about 3-4 points.

It won'tbe easy but lets call a spade a spade here, mayo are a better team with better individual footballers than sligo and class always wins out in the end. and before you start lambasting my previous statement i'll give you one example,to be fair the only concrete example i can give. Alan costelloe (a mayo man) has been in terrific form for ye this year and was last year also.I can't imagine sligo taking to the field without his services and i think he is instrumental to alot of what sligo do. on the other hand he wouldn't be within an asses roar of the mayo team.He never cut it at senior level in mayoand wouldnt currently either.

jono (Mayo) - Posts: 350 - 01/06/2010 13:12:31    664145

tight enough game id imagine. I would say both teams will be a little nervous so I doubt it will be a game of any great quality. Mayo by 3

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/06/2010 13:42:56    664210

Wouldn't be in the least bit suprised if Sligo won this one, their a fine team and always hard to beat at home irregardless of form. Mayo should be out to prove a point after that awful league final but they won't get anything easy in Sligo. What price the draw?

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 01/06/2010 13:43:39    664211