Cork Seniors 2022

Ciaran Joyce has a good chance of being our next center back. Tommy O'Connell has been very impressive though. It will be no harm to have some competition in our half-back line. Cadogan is nearing the end and Coleman, O'Mahony are a bit too secure in their positions. Perhaps a spell on the bench would do both a bit of good. It can only work if O'Connell, Joyce, Kevin Moynihan step up. Let's hope.

Don't see an immediate candidate for full back. Damien Cahalane is much maligned. I think we are lucky to have him. Competition would be nice though. Adam Lynch looks good from the club championship to fill a corner back slot. Another area where we need a bit of pressure applied on incumbents- though Niall O'Leary is one of our star players and nearly best back we have.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 12/11/2021 09:00:04    2389168

Replying To Sugary_tae:  "One of the more interesting things in hurling will be to see if cork can capitalise on all the talent coming through. As a Limerick man with memories of our own u21 three in a row team propping up the bar at Nancy's and the icon it's not a given that they can translate to success. Currently they seem a lot closer to Limerick in 2013 with a good crop at minor and perhaps a few of current team will still be there.

Cork seem to be slower than others in learning the lessons of championship. Several Management teams seem welded to the idea that you can just put as many small gifted hurlers into the team and assume they will out score the opposition. There seems to be little continuity in selection. I live in cork and certainly don't begrudge them any success but you rarely see them embark on a project player. Dan morrissey and Gearoid hegarty and will o donoghue have all steadily improved in hurling from 2018. Lynch Finn Casey look in much better physical condition. Can the same be said for Coleman titzgibbon or Kingston. They all still look so slight. Surely if you have a weapon like hoggie you try to put as many facilitators around him. Give him ball. Do the heavy lifting for him. Instead cork seem to think that another 4 gifted light lads is the answer. When Waterford outworked them in last November did they reassess??

Not every county has a 6'5 " monster who can hurl like Hayes but surely when cork have 4/5 hurlers for every 1 in Limerick they can find a few lads. The balance of workers or brilliance is all off."
Cork have purposefully stayed with the small gifted hurlers for a long time now. They are continually looking for the next Joe Deane or Tony Sullivan. The game has moved on and they have not moved with the times. There are hurlers in Cork who have come through the development squads serious hurlers and who have never been given chances because they don't fit the mould. The guys are there trust me, given the playing population they have to be there stastically. Most armchair warriors in any county will tell you they could pick a team to compete with the county side. In Cork you could probably pick two sides. The mindset is diluted and there is no clear vision of where they are going. Unluckily I fear Pat Horgan will be rememberd as the best hurler never to win an all Ireland.

churchill (Cork) - Posts: 6 - 12/11/2021 14:28:04    2389204

Replying To churchill:  "Cork have purposefully stayed with the small gifted hurlers for a long time now. They are continually looking for the next Joe Deane or Tony Sullivan. The game has moved on and they have not moved with the times. There are hurlers in Cork who have come through the development squads serious hurlers and who have never been given chances because they don't fit the mould. The guys are there trust me, given the playing population they have to be there stastically. Most armchair warriors in any county will tell you they could pick a team to compete with the county side. In Cork you could probably pick two sides. The mindset is diluted and there is no clear vision of where they are going. Unluckily I fear Pat Horgan will be rememberd as the best hurler never to win an all Ireland."
Ah here..." the guys are there trust me.....". To be fair to Kieran Kingston, if the supposed talent was there they would playing. Why put all that effort in and not purposely select your strongest team with the result that you get absolutely walloped in the All Ireland final. Too easy for keyboard warriors to make completely idiotic comments.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 15/11/2021 21:37:00    2389586

Replying To Shocs07:  "Ah here..." the guys are there trust me.....". To be fair to Kieran Kingston, if the supposed talent was there they would playing. Why put all that effort in and not purposely select your strongest team with the result that you get absolutely walloped in the All Ireland final. Too easy for keyboard warriors to make completely idiotic comments."
In response having been involved with underage and senior club teams in Cork for over a decade I feel I am qualified to make completely idiotic comments. Cork hurling is a closed shop and has been for many years now hence the very evident lack of all Ireland success. Kieran Kingston is only as good as the information he is fed. Lads are earmarked for county teams from a very young age and come hell or high water they will play. Clubs lobbying for players and pressure applied to selectors to have Jimmy pull on the jersey has been the norm for years. There is no direction in Cork no blueprint like there is in Limerick. Limerick have direction and a purpose and Kiely has proven himself to be an astute and adaptable manager.

churchill (Cork) - Posts: 6 - 19/11/2021 09:50:37    2389945

Cork v Clare under Saturday night lights on 5th February it appears .....

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 19/11/2021 12:10:33    2389969

Replying To churchill:  "In response having been involved with underage and senior club teams in Cork for over a decade I feel I am qualified to make completely idiotic comments. Cork hurling is a closed shop and has been for many years now hence the very evident lack of all Ireland success. Kieran Kingston is only as good as the information he is fed. Lads are earmarked for county teams from a very young age and come hell or high water they will play. Clubs lobbying for players and pressure applied to selectors to have Jimmy pull on the jersey has been the norm for years. There is no direction in Cork no blueprint like there is in Limerick. Limerick have direction and a purpose and Kiely has proven himself to be an astute and adaptable manager."
Fitness is paramount! Cork players have to hit the gym, and bulk up. Gaelic football and rugby have been through this, and now Limerick have been the trendsetters for hurling. If Cork are serious about winning anything, the winter should be used for this training. Not sure if they will... they are amateurs... but hurling alone will not take them anywhere!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 22/11/2021 14:09:17    2390325