Sin an fhirinne. Bhí an meid sin ráite aige in agallamh a rinne sé le Peadar O'Brien ón Irish Press.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3528 - 06/08/2021 18:12:58 2368287 Link 2 |
I was just reading an article by Vincent Hogan on 83 final. Think he wrote in in 2018 before Galway Dublin semi final. I never realised there was a 15 year old boy stabbed in Hill 16 that day. I was actually at that match but never heard that till now.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3918 - 06/08/2021 19:12:02 2368301 Link 0 |
Níl sé fīor. Is laoch é go deimhin. Cad faoi Bhrian O Tailtigh??
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 06/08/2021 20:05:28 2368307 Link 8 |
but more to get the player away from him Really :-) ;-) So you are going with "Well .. twas .....whatever you call it" As opposed to "Tis on the camera ye cant miss it" Carry on. timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 06/08/2021 20:15:23 2368310 Link 2 |
I was on the Hill for all games that year and in Cork for replay. There was a lot of scum around in those days, Dublin was in middle of heroin hitting the place and very violent, Nearly all the trouble was between rival gangs who would meet up at games. Thankfully creatures like that no longer have any attachment to any sport or bands as they did then, It was a miracle there was no-one killed on Hill that day after the gates were broken down. GAA in fairness reacted far quicker to the impending danger than other sports around the world. !983 was last final you didnt need a terrace ticket. Fiver in on the day! BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3528 - 06/08/2021 20:21:11 2368311 Link 0 |
It was a filthy game, on both sides, he got the line despite the bare minimum contact. It was one of many unsavoury incidents that day, once again, on both sides. But the fact remains. realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 06/08/2021 20:23:45 2368312 Link 4 |
Ní hiad muintir na Gailliimhe a thug drochíde dó ach na Laighnigh, go mórmór peileadóirí na Mí. Deir sé féin gur tháinig iománaithe na Gaillimhe i gcabhair air i San Francisco. B'in é an cluiche ceannais ba mheasa dá bhfaca mé riamh i bPáirc an Chrócaigh. Bhí milleán ar an dá fhoireann, ar na bainisteoirí agus ar na méain roimhré. https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/it-hurts-to-be-called-a-thug-dubs-legend-duff-on-journey-from-public-enemy-number-one-to-devoted-family-man-37908223.html baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 06/08/2021 20:43:43 2368322 Link 1 |
Hi there tommy! I wasn't there live and have heard about this a lot so I've tried to educate myself on it. This is the only footage I can find. Now yes he struck out with the boot. Sending off offence yes. However! I have viewed this many times and it looks like to me, he doesn't make contact with the galway player. If he were to make contact would he not have not caught him on the chin? And this boot to the head accusation stuff to me is someone who is making contact in the skull area which is both horrific and unforgivable and not what happened in this instance. It's quite evident on the final slow mo in this clip. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iSOkdH7WPIk Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 299 - 06/08/2021 21:45:48 2368336 Link 1 |
I agree, it was an awful game on an awful wet and windy day, both teams culpable and neither manager being able to diffuse the situation. The ref lost control of the game, he mistakenly sent off our best player, it should have been someone else. Don't talk to me about facts, the camera tells its story and supporters will interpret it the way that suits them. I have looked at it a good few times and it looks awful. More facts: seemingly there were sandwiches thrown from the Galway train onto Hill 16 that day! I have often taken the Galway train, it comes into Heuston Station and goes no further! LOL Another interesting fact, told by Duff himself, is that it was the Galway hurlers who came to his rescue during a fracas at the All Stars in San Francisco. That tells its own story too. baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 06/08/2021 21:46:39 2368338 Link 1 |
God you're right, we queued to pay at the gate. It was mayhem, and like you said how no one was killed on the hill that day I'll never know. When Rock lobbed the keeper the Hill exploded. I started out right beside the Cusack and by fulltime I was over at the Nally side, without walking an inch. Scary.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 06/08/2021 21:49:26 2368339 Link 7 |
Oh I remember the Hill used be rough those times. Remember dozens of Gardai in between the old Nally stand and the Hill. I just never recall hearing about a boy being stabbed that day. I was in the safety of upper hogan.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3918 - 06/08/2021 21:59:55 2368349 Link 0 |
I've seen it Timmy and for me no contact. Look ill admit Duff was wrong but it was nt as bad as was made out.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3918 - 06/08/2021 22:02:12 2368353 Link 1 |
Yeh the train thing is odd, maybe a feeder I don't know, but I was there and it definitely happened. There was a few stories going around for years after that game. Talty took abuse off local yobbos for a while. Mullins and himself made up after a few years of growling at each other across the pitch if they're respective school teams were playing each other. The tunnel incident was shrouded in mystery, no iPhones around thankfully! realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 06/08/2021 23:09:42 2368379 Link 6 |
Amazing Mick. I was at that game, too (and the year before...not that I want to be reminding Kerry people of that one). I don't ever remember paying the fiver. I must have been one of the benefactors of the broken down gate. Anyway, I ended up in the Cusack Stand, sitting on the steps somewhere in it. The place was packed, but stewards were way more relaxed back then than nowadays. Same as yourself. Your post is the first I've ever heard of a lad being stabbed that day. The day was mad enough without hearing that. I went in hoping that Galway would win it, but left glad that Dublin did. The Galway display disgusted me that same day. They'd two extra men for a lot of that game. They lacked leadership all over the field. If I ever saw men put their bodies on the line, I saw the Dublin players do it that day. Brian Mullins, Anton O'Toole (RIP), and Tommy Drumm (never expected when he lifted the cup that day that it'd be his last game in a Dublin jersey...retired at 28) were all great players; heroes of mine. The ineptitude of Galway's display that day was reflected in the All-Stars later that year. They got one: Stephen Kinneavy at full-back. And lucky to get it. Arguably, Gerry Hargan had a better year that year. Dublin's haul of four was the lowest ever for a winning team. Not that it bothered them I'm sure. They have their AI medals. I must look back on the Duff/O'Neill incident. I didn't catch it in the day, and haven't really ever seen it since. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2225 - 07/08/2021 03:48:20 2368404 Link 1 |
Funny all the people having a pop at Duff. He was, and still is, one of Dublin's top scorers and so got fierce abuse during games. witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 07/08/2021 08:00:56 2368406 Link 3 |
Spot on. Was that the flying karate kick delivered after a 30 yard run in! He got fierce abuse indeed, Remember seeing him for Fingallians against Isles and the Isles players were pumped up for him. Reputation preceded him. Swinging the boot was a deserved sending off, but there was no contact and it didn't sum up the way he played. Both teams were well up for it in 1983. Con Houlihan probably hit the nail on the head when he said that Galway had been psyched out by claims that Dublin had bullied Cork in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, which wasn't actually the case, No Heffernan team ever jibbed a fight, and with the weather thrown in, and a truly terrible ref in Gough, all the ingredients were there! BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3528 - 07/08/2021 10:35:59 2368423 Link 0 |
Just to lighten the subject, there was a well known Galway fiddle player who took the train from Heuston to Ballinasloe years ago and when he arrived at a friend's house, she asked him, "did you have something to eat, Máirtín"? "I came down on the train", he said, "I had a bottle of stout and a cheese sandwich. Well now, I tell you, I often saw more cheese in a mouse trap!"
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 07/08/2021 10:46:34 2368426 Link 2 |
The Duff kick in 83 looks bad but that's the way football was and is. Everything looks worse on camera including the Michael Murphy sending off. As for Duff himself, he might have had a bad reputation but from reading articles it seems he could have played another 5or 6 years but walked because he wasn't getting a fair chance on the Dublin team. Maybe another couple of All-Irelands if he had have been there. More important he's a great family man.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2295 - 07/08/2021 11:09:26 2368431 Link 5 |
:-D. Jesus, the catering. on the trains used to be awful. The sandwiches were limp and wet; the tea used to be piping hot.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 07/08/2021 11:22:32 2368440 Link 8 |
Not all the time. Remember there used to be a dining car where you'd get a fine full Irish breakfast. I remember going on The football specials as a young lad. Full bar and everyone drinking and singing, aul bucks smoking out windows. Some laugh. Looking back on it health and safety would have a heart attack now.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11565 - 07/08/2021 11:47:05 2368447 Link 8 |