Thanks For The Memories Biggy

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Another big player goes today.. Seamie O Shea
Numerous provincial medals.. A biggie indeed"
Yeah and he wouldn't lace the boots of Reilly. Actually none of them would. House Pauric keeping he's not breaking anything now is he ?? Galway =the new Kildare :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/01/2021 16:18:37    2326322

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah and he wouldn't lace the boots of Reilly. Actually none of them would. House Pauric keeping he's not breaking anything now is he ?? Galway =the new Kildare :)"
You mean Padraig Joyce... He is breaking all right.. breaking out his All Ireland medals to have a look at them , the second one when he singlehandedly destroyed the career of Darren Fay and the other Meath backs.. BTW Graham Reilly wasn't a patch of a player that Vaughan Parsons etc were in their prime in All Ireland finals..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 390 - 06/01/2021 19:46:43    2326366

RD and Galwaymaster ye would want to chill a bit. Biggy was a good baller and obviously haa given great service. RD has a history of bigging things up (often citing Meath's ability as greater than reality) but is a passionate fan and fair play to him. Have no issue with that. Some fans are not as 'out there' like him but the forum is a better place with the likes of RD even if we disagree on some things. Probably for the other related thread but very little noted on the 14 year intercounty service given by our own Gareth Bradshaw. A great servant and roving half back. These guys a credit to their counties. Enjoy retirement Biggy and Brads.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 09/01/2021 08:54:25    2326760

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anybody else wonder what got under the skins of these galway yokes ? Very bitter. Perhaps they should stick to the stick."
RD that was the one comment I was surprised at 'stick to the stick'. As you know there is a very strong football tradition in Galway that will never die. Going back 100 yrs we have produced electrifying ballers right up to recent and modern day in the form of the likes of Michael Donnellan and Shane Walsh. I can only presume you were tongue in cheek with that comment. Your great colleague Furlong would know our history well.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 09/01/2021 09:07:01    2326763

Replying To kiloughter:  "RD and Galwaymaster ye would want to chill a bit. Biggy was a good baller and obviously haa given great service. RD has a history of bigging things up (often citing Meath's ability as greater than reality) but is a passionate fan and fair play to him. Have no issue with that. Some fans are not as 'out there' like him but the forum is a better place with the likes of RD even if we disagree on some things. Probably for the other related thread but very little noted on the 14 year intercounty service given by our own Gareth Bradshaw. A great servant and roving half back. These guys a credit to their counties. Enjoy retirement Biggy and Brads."
Indeed. Happy new year to you and yours.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2021 21:07:40    2326829

Replying To kiloughter:  "RD that was the one comment I was surprised at 'stick to the stick'. As you know there is a very strong football tradition in Galway that will never die. Going back 100 yrs we have produced electrifying ballers right up to recent and modern day in the form of the likes of Michael Donnellan and Shane Walsh. I can only presume you were tongue in cheek with that comment. Your great colleague Furlong would know our history well."
Ahh sure have to be saying something:)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2021 21:08:21    2326831

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh sure have to be saying something:)"
A wise man has something to say, a fool has to say something

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 10/01/2021 11:46:54    2326863

Well great to see biggy back in football as a selector with Bernard Flynn and god himself the other Graham'. Best wishes to all.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/01/2021 21:24:02    2327046

Graham has the respect of many. In his earlier career, surrounded by physically dominant and space-creating forwards, he was very good. His confidence was high. In his later career he was surrounded by younger and lighter players and the enphasis on attack was based often on intricate loop plays which Graham was often at the end of as a shooter. He was heavily relied upon as a leader, which he wasn't. He was heavily relied upon as a scorer, which he was more often than not. When he was good - he was good. When he wasn't - he wasn't. A good solid county player, nothing more. He cut the figure of a frustrated and stressed player in his final year or two. In saying that I physically attended games; preseason, league and championship in the bad years among constant panel changes, issues with competency in the stand, dissapointing results and such, where he almost singlehandedly won Meath close games. He'll be remembered in years to come for sticking at it.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 12/01/2021 10:34:13    2327078

Enjoy your retirement Biggy. I might have a pint with you in the Bull when all this madness ends.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 18/01/2021 21:54:22    2328003

Replying To Ollie2:  "Enjoy your retirement Biggy. I might have a pint with you in the Bull when all this madness ends."
I'll join ya Ollie in my old haunt.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/01/2021 18:09:47    2328122

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll join ya Ollie in my old haunt."
The more the merrier Royaldunne. Just don't mention the war.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 19/01/2021 19:16:56    2328127

Replying To Ollie2:  "The more the merrier Royaldunne. Just don't mention the war."
Yeah best keep that one quite, and tell biggy not to mention that it was his long ball in that started the whole thing :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2021 14:27:23    2328215

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah best keep that one quite, and tell biggy not to mention that it was his long ball in that started the whole thing :)"
He had some match that day and he scored 4 points.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 21/01/2021 12:44:00    2328305

Replying To Ollie2:  "He had some match that day and he scored 4 points."
Yeah he had some game. think what happened afterwards robbed him of a all star that year unfortunately.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2021 18:12:13    2328365

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah he had some game. think what happened afterwards robbed him of a all star that year unfortunately."
Reilly was decent and put in some excellent showings but at no point in his career did he deserve an all star, never at that level

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 28/01/2021 21:24:42    2329465