Cavan V Dublin

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "The only solution is to create 4 new counties.
Dublin north, south east and west.
Splitting them in two isn't going far enough, you'll just end up with Dublin north vs Dublin south in the final every year.

I honestly don't know why any Dub would object to being split either. I lived there for many years and there's no community spirit whatsoever. So much of the capital is transient labour because of the tech firms. So it's different from the 31 other counties in that sense.
For example, if you were from Swadlinbar, and you were out trekking in the mountains of Peru, and you met a lad from Cornafean, you'd have a natural affinity with him, because you're both Cavan men.
But if you were from Ballymun and you met a lad from Ranelagh, you just wouldn't have the same bond, because like I said, a city doesn't have a sense of community.

So split them up and let them whinge if they like, they've had their time in the sun and it's time for change."
Seriously ,Put the white flag to the Dubs or anyone else, no chance, Ok ,the Dubs have one 5 in a row and looking like6, is that a reason for the rest of us to come out with our hands up, A couple of those were very lucky 1 or two point wins,Mayo scored 2 own goals to gift them 1, Its up to the rest of us to get up to that level and stop making excuses about all this coaching Dublin under age is getting, the last minor title they won was 2012, I diddent hear anyone yapping when Kerry minors won 5 in a row, are we going to split them up , Crossmaglen won 12 or 14 ina row are we going to split them up , Kilcoo have won 6 in a row, Corofin , the list goes on, All these great teams have their day , in a couple of years it will be someone else, like we cant even win an Ulster at the minute, but we will keep going, no excuses,its only a matter of time before te door opens again

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 06/12/2020 22:16:20    2319539

Mayo v Tipp that's how to referee a game David Gough missed nothing and tried to let the game flow not giving dubious black cards like his inferior colleagues. Well done Mr Gough.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 06/12/2020 22:27:20    2319545

Thought galligan and mcKiernan could have been swapped. McKiernan's lack of pace left cavan exposed down the middle and he could have been a greater threat standing on cluxtons toes. Thought faulkner was exposed for pace too. And the difference in physicality between the 2 teams was astromonical. But fair play to the cavan team for giving us an enjoyable winter, Ulster titles are hard won and you'd imagine they are still a bit off the likes of Donegal and Tyrone on a consistent basis but hopefully we'll all get the chance to beg, borrow and plead for tickets to big games involving cavan on a regular basis in the future

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 07/12/2020 00:06:27    2319582

Well Saturday brought an end to an extraordinary six week period. Unfortunately, Saturday night was not our best performance of the season and to be fair after the effort put in to win the Ulster final 13 days earlier that was on balance to be expected.

The task now is to build on the last 6 weeks and to start wining our fair share of Ulster Titles. Mickey Graham has improved the team no end and hopefully he and his management team will stay around for years to come.

The team of 97 failed to retain the Ulster Title and also applied to all the teams in the 1960's. It would be a major statement if we could retain the Ulster Title in 2021 and that should be or short term objective. Hopefully, over the winter it will be a case of players trying to get on the panel and not get off it.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 07/12/2020 09:30:16    2319631

Replying To germac:  "Seriously ,Put the white flag to the Dubs or anyone else, no chance, Ok ,the Dubs have one 5 in a row and looking like6, is that a reason for the rest of us to come out with our hands up, A couple of those were very lucky 1 or two point wins,Mayo scored 2 own goals to gift them 1, Its up to the rest of us to get up to that level and stop making excuses about all this coaching Dublin under age is getting, the last minor title they won was 2012, I diddent hear anyone yapping when Kerry minors won 5 in a row, are we going to split them up , Crossmaglen won 12 or 14 ina row are we going to split them up , Kilcoo have won 6 in a row, Corofin , the list goes on, All these great teams have their day , in a couple of years it will be someone else, like we cant even win an Ulster at the minute, but we will keep going, no excuses,its only a matter of time before te door opens again"
Dont know why you cant see that this is so different. Only 4 of the dublin team that started sathurday were there for the first of what will be ten in a row unless kerry can stop them. If they do it will be a one season wonder imagine the amount of analysis and money Dublin will use to insure they win sam back.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 07/12/2020 11:05:50    2319682

Replying To germac:  "Seriously ,Put the white flag to the Dubs or anyone else, no chance, Ok ,the Dubs have one 5 in a row and looking like6, is that a reason for the rest of us to come out with our hands up, A couple of those were very lucky 1 or two point wins,Mayo scored 2 own goals to gift them 1, Its up to the rest of us to get up to that level and stop making excuses about all this coaching Dublin under age is getting, the last minor title they won was 2012, I diddent hear anyone yapping when Kerry minors won 5 in a row, are we going to split them up , Crossmaglen won 12 or 14 ina row are we going to split them up , Kilcoo have won 6 in a row, Corofin , the list goes on, All these great teams have their day , in a couple of years it will be someone else, like we cant even win an Ulster at the minute, but we will keep going, no excuses,its only a matter of time before te door opens again"
You're completely missing the point.

Even if Dublin didn't win a single game for ten years, I'd still be calling for their advantages to be taken away.

16.8 million from the GAA since 2003.
But sure carry on defending the indefensible, and watch as rugby overtakes the GAA.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 07/12/2020 11:35:54    2319689

Kudos to Mickey & the lads once again. As a Dublin fan has remarked in a good post on some of the these threads, it was probably the most competitive a team has been over 70 minutes against Dublin all year, even one of the few in the last few years, and we did so without fully parking the bus either (like Westmeath for instance who were beaten by less but accepted defeat before a ball was kicked).

A few constructive points were that I thought we didn't lamp it in on the square early enough, enough times, and even the quality of the long kicks in were also below the standard of the other games. A few of our scoring forwards also underperformed in either the ball winning or ball finishing aspects of the game in spite of good effort from them I felt. Probably one of the areas where Dublin are not way better than other counties is that their backs are not much/any better markers when being attacked 1 on 1 than your sticky Tyrone defenders, and we probably take enough advantage of our 1 on 1's and shots we got away.

The biggest work on was being caught in possesion for turnovers alot more than I expected too. I would have assumed that would have been a do not do at all costs and kicking it in early could have been done more to prevent those types of turnovers, but it is likely that there is no preparing a team for their first go at Dublin's c'ship intensity.

I would imagine Ray Galligan, Tom Galligan & Faulkner all currently sit in the All Star 15. We will get at least 1 with Tomas the guarentee and the other two will probably depend on how the Mayo & Dublin players in the same positions get on in the Final. I know I have been critical of him in the past but I would like to see Faulkner get his All Star.

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 07/12/2020 17:25:06    2319876

Just dropping by to wish my neighbours well after a great championship. The Cavan story really brought some colour to a very grey, dour year. A great story of how the underdog can surpass the odds. On the Dublin game, the Cavan team did as well as any team could, and they retained their pride. All the best going forward and good luck lads.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 07/12/2020 17:42:28    2319883

Replying To Young_gael:  "Just dropping by to wish my neighbours well after a great championship. The Cavan story really brought some colour to a very grey, dour year. A great story of how the underdog can surpass the odds. On the Dublin game, the Cavan team did as well as any team could, and they retained their pride. All the best going forward and good luck lads."
Thank you for your message, and best wishes to ye going forward also.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 07/12/2020 18:14:45    2319900

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Kudos to Mickey & the lads once again. As a Dublin fan has remarked in a good post on some of the these threads, it was probably the most competitive a team has been over 70 minutes against Dublin all year, even one of the few in the last few years, and we did so without fully parking the bus either (like Westmeath for instance who were beaten by less but accepted defeat before a ball was kicked).

A few constructive points were that I thought we didn't lamp it in on the square early enough, enough times, and even the quality of the long kicks in were also below the standard of the other games. A few of our scoring forwards also underperformed in either the ball winning or ball finishing aspects of the game in spite of good effort from them I felt. Probably one of the areas where Dublin are not way better than other counties is that their backs are not much/any better markers when being attacked 1 on 1 than your sticky Tyrone defenders, and we probably take enough advantage of our 1 on 1's and shots we got away.

The biggest work on was being caught in possesion for turnovers alot more than I expected too. I would have assumed that would have been a do not do at all costs and kicking it in early could have been done more to prevent those types of turnovers, but it is likely that there is no preparing a team for their first go at Dublin's c'ship intensity.

I would imagine Ray Galligan, Tom Galligan & Faulkner all currently sit in the All Star 15. We will get at least 1 with Tomas the guarentee and the other two will probably depend on how the Mayo & Dublin players in the same positions get on in the Final. I know I have been critical of him in the past but I would like to see Faulkner get his All Star."
A spot on post.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/12/2020 19:32:28    2319940

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "You're completely missing the point.

Even if Dublin didn't win a single game for ten years, I'd still be calling for their advantages to be taken away.

16.8 million from the GAA since 2003.
But sure carry on defending the indefensible, and watch as rugby overtakes the GAA."
Sorry , i think its you who is missing the point, if we start this nonsense ,were does it end,for example a Meath school with 500 pupils crys foul if their playing against a Dublin school with 1500 pupils, A rural club crys foul if their playing a city club , And to hear Thomas Ose ,a man from the mighty kingdom,throwing the toys out,just because the Dubs are going well , The same goes for Colm ORourke, I mentioned Cross and Kilcoo, Cross has a population of about 1500 ,Kilcoo has a population of 350 ,yes your reading it right 350, and they have totaly dominated Down football for ten years now , compare that to the population of Newry im guessing , 35 to 40 000 ,their three Gaa clubs are in div 3, explain that if you can, i could no bother, Yes numbers should be an advantage ,but not always the case, As for rugby overtaking Gaa ,not up here , i could only name 3 Rugby clubs from Down, and know no one involved

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 07/12/2020 21:22:49    2320007

Tomsmith here

Well done to Mickie and the boys....... On that performance we should be in line for afew all star nominations

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3856 - 12/12/2020 10:14:39    2321528